We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Imperial Hotel
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel brings reminiscence of colonial time Uganda and could be made into something spectacular with all the old details around the house. Sadly, it seems very little has happened in terms of maintenance since those days. The rooms are worn down, beds not very comfy, staff are tired – but mostly friendly - and the food is not very nice. Breakfast is edible. The location, however, is great if you have business in downtown Kampala. The Grand Imperial is acceptable but not really good value since the rooms are quite expensive. I would stay again if the Sheraton is full.

Room Tip: Check your A/C when checking in. If it is not working, it takes forever to get fixed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_VG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Grand Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We haven't stayed here but we ate in the restaurant a few times. On a previous visit, having paid the two separate bills in full, the waitress ran after us demanding payment of one of the bills we had already paid.

This time, my partner ordered the Tilapia Meunière. This was described in the menu as tilapia fillets cooked in butter. What arrived were three fish fillets heavily encased in a coating of hot red spices and heavily salted. My burger arrived and tasted a bit like an inch thick block of corrugated cardboard and about as moist! We complained. The fish was replaced but this time the three fish fillets were coated in what looked like a kind of batter. We complained again. As we were discussing the issue with the manager, the fish meal was removed and replaced with a plate of chicken thighs. What the hell was going on? Staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. Eventually, we were told we wouldn't be charged for any food. I should think not!!

The view from the restaurant balcony is nice and you can watch the hustle bustle o Kampala from on high.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank kenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015

Dear Kenc,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review. The experiences you described are not characteristic of the level of service our colleagues strive to provide, and we apologize your stay was unsatisfactory. Your feedback was shared with our team, and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very friendly people , great experience. Food in the hotel was limited but was good, a range of UGandan beers which were very good. As a base for business good.... Breakfast needs to be developed!
Room was well serviced and a nice touch of turning back the sheets before bed time.
I would recommend for people who do not want frills or a commercial. Chain.

Room Tip: Choose away from the bar area
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Liz,

Thank you very much for sharing your amazing review of our property, your remarks are very valuable. we look forward to welcoming you back soon for it will be a pleasure hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This Hotel is really unique and in the centre of the city of Kampala...it is definately dated but offers a glimpse of what the Old Kampala had to offer decades ago. Lovely old African wooden furnishings and good restraunt and bar with a pretty lively night life. There is a good swimming pool and massage service offered and the costs are low. As typical in Uganda, some things are not in working order but the basics are in tact and it is clean and the staff are obliging. The cost to stay there are much less than some of the more up to date big hotels in Kampala and there are lots of Africans who frequent the building . Would recommend this hotel for a moderate priced and well situated Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2mzungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

It is always a delight to read such amazing reviews but most importantly to hear that that you truly enjoyed your stay.
we look forward to welcoming you back soon for it will be a pleasure hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here recently. The hotel is good. But rooms are bit old. WIFI is provided in rooms free but never works. Location is excellent near the city center and opposite the Independence Square. Breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing square give much better view. Stay on higher floor to get better view but no elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumar56775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Kumar,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We addressed the WIFI issue and apologize for any inconveniences caused.

we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is an old colonial style hotel, the decor matches an older era, the hotel is well furnished and the food is very good , Full bar if you want. There is a pool in the center of the hotel which is outdoor but surrounded by shopping walkways. There is no lifts in the building just wide staircases.
Centrally located in Kampala , shops etc are near at hand as are taxis etc. If you are having a business conference it has lots of function rooms.

The only negative comment i have is that the bathroom suites need up dating as they are 1980s in design and the showers etc are basic, Staff are very helpful and there is a foreign exchange at the front entrance

Room Tip: They are all the same, comfortable and clean, air conditioned and wi fi available
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socoBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2015

Dear Soco,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.
Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We addressed the bathroom issue, they have been greatly improved and we apologize for any inconveniences caused during your stay.

we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in Grand imperial hotel kampala,Uganda October 14th-20th 2012. we were a big group attending a review meeting. we got to lodge and attend the meeting at the same location whihc was an excellent thing if you know what i mean, to be able to get up on time have a decent breakfast and be on time for morning sessions and also being able to go to your room during the breaks is an excellent leisure. the hotel is located right down town Kampala but yet is surprisingly quite in the rooms you don't get to hear anything once your windows are shut.
it's acceptably clean, house keeping takes a bit longer time as you would expect some times they could be cleaning the room till mid day or a bit after. the staff is very cooperative and nice. despite the many conferences taking place at the same time and the big number of guests the staff were very organized and things went well in a very professional way.
the original price for the room might be a bit high but they offered the group a discount offer which was quite affordable.
an additional points to the attached mini shopping mall just out side the parking lot,currency exchange , western union beauty salon and it's a walking distance from business center.
i really enjoyed it :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2015

Dear Kacs,
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, meals, our service and staff.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 103 in Kampala
26 reviews
2.4 mi away
Imperial Royale Hotel
Imperial Royale Hotel
#67 of 103 in Kampala
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#29 of 103 in Kampala
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
1.1 mi away
Metropole Hotel Kampala
Metropole Hotel Kampala
#24 of 103 in Kampala
130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Imperial Hotel

Address: Nile Avenue and Speke Road, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $103 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Jovago.com so you can book your Grand Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Imperial Hotel Kampala
Grand Imperial Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing