We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, must have been Grand sometime” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Imperial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Imperial to your Saves list
Grand Imperial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plot 6 / 6A , Nile Avenue | P.O. Box 7195, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Kampala
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Average hotel, must have been Grand sometime”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had mixed feelings. It was an old hotel must have seen great days and may be was sought after. But it felt very run down. It has overly art deco stair case and feeling but the overall feeling was of an average hotel. We had to stay as we had a conference in the same place. The breakfast was average though the staff was helpful. I would stay at other hotels which are walking distance such as the Sheraton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mittal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This "vintage" hotel has beautiful architectural details which take you back to a simpler time of "dumb waiters" and carved wood. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast buffet was very good. The pool is nice, but water can be chilly sometimes. The staff were helpful and my stay was fine and also a good value. I did have trouble accessing the WIFI so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I was booked in this hotel because the conference I was attending was here.

It is not a "business hotel", and some of my co-travelers were not happy with that.

However, the place has charme - lots of heavy wood, pretty spacious rooms with leather furniture, a nice terrace for breakfast or afternoon Tuskers. The rate was very competitive (probably a third or half of the Sheraton next door), and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would come back, in particular if it were for a leisure trip.

Room Tip: I had a corner room - 212 - which was quite big, with a separate seating area etc. The aircondition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear Okaapi,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the meals, Tusker's and the environment.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The terrace is a nice venue in the evening with live music, but the rooms are looking tired.
Queen size bed - but you can sleep diagonally if you're tall ;-)
Service's good and the location is central.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have been staying at the Grand Imperial since 2006 and it’s a nice, calm and value for money hotel in the heart of Kampala. All staff members including the manager are very friendly and always there to assist you. Cabs and the currency exchange shops are just outside the reception. I always stay in room No: 312 a very large comfortable room with all the amenities that a busy businessman needs at the end of the day and that too at an affordable price. Complimentary breakfast is excellent and food well priced and the main attraction is the live Congolese band that plays during the evenings – Overall a good experience and will always stay at the Grand Imperial whenever I am in Kampala.

Room Tip: I always stay in Room No: 312 which is calm and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singh1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

been to the sheraton - its expensive and crap
the imperial is better cos its cheaper but when the power cuts our and they dont have generators worry - the taps and stuff are rubbish in the bathroom
the place has had its day
the staff are lazy as well - the room was not made until 4 the next day - had to find towels from the staff
went to the triangle and will go again
i dont expect to be treated as special person but when you pay your money I dont expect to be ripped off

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmclester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Would recommend that someone stays here. The rooms are fine, food perfect, and staff very friendly + good service. However the price is on the high side. This need to be reviewed downwards. Good location - centrally located and so shopping malls, clubs and restaurants are very local to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 81 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#23 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Global Hotel
Grand Global Hotel
#45 of 81 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Imperial

Address: Plot 6 / 6A , Nile Avenue | P.O. Box 7195, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Grand Imperial Hotel Kampala
Grand Imperial Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#