We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Imperial Hotel
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Quality”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Would recommend that someone stays here. The rooms are fine, food perfect, and staff very friendly + good service. However the price is on the high side. This need to be reviewed downwards. Good location - centrally located and so shopping malls, clubs and restaurants are very local to you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
4
6
3
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The location is a great plus and that is about it. The Grand Imperial hasn't got much that stands out. The rooms are ok, except for a musty smell from the carpets. The wifi didn't work when I checked in. The food is average. For the price that you pay, I would have expected something better...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagertraveller h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Grand Imperial is well located for people on business or anyone who doesn't want to be far away from the action. Fortunately, despite being in the middle of the bustle of the city, the room was rather quiet.
Parking is secure, food is ok.
The only strange thing is that we heard rats in the ceiling, and actually saw one!
We notified them... I hope they took care of that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have been to Grand Imperial twice,and it has not changed.The Grand Hotel at the heart of Kampala is not the type you would put in any specific category. It has what an ordinary traveller needs- currency exchange and shops just outside the reception, simple but clean rooms, spaciousness associated with many hotels in Kampala. I think the only thing that stands out for Grand Imperial is that it is clean and low priced.And it is a stone's throw from all the official places you would like to visit-Golf Club, State House Hill and major shopping malls. And as others have pointed out, the Manager is easy to reach and very friendly. Only challenge is that nearby hotels can be noisy,and this makes sleeping a nightmare before 11pm on some days. And the frequent music at the main bar can mean you are better off on the Western wing. The terrace is a great place for breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you confirm with the Hotel the Disco days at both the Hotel and at least one neighbouring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God's Right Hand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I love the sun terrace at this lovely old colonial hortel in the middle of the hussle and bussle of Kampala. The staff are friendly, and attentive. The manager is easy to approach. The rooms are large. Security is excellent. The food is good value and a varied menu. I much prefer this place to the plastic of the Sheraton. Rooms at the Grand Imperial cost $170 but are reduced to $150 by booking online with their excellent booking system. I heard a rumour that the Indian owners plan to demolish the hotel in 5 years and rebuild it as something new :-D shame shame!!! I say.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and they try and fit muzungu's into the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhistleBlower2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imperialhotelsUG, Public Relations Manager at Grand Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Dear WhistleBlower,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the meals and environment.
Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Grand Imperial in Kampala, Uganda, looks like a nice old building from the outside, that promises palacial comfort. The inside, however, is quite disappointing. The service is friendly, though not very efficient. The rooms are large and quite clean. The room service, again, is friendly but slow and not very efficient. The place has a coffee shop that is open on 3 sides. The food is good. The coffee shop has live music almost every evening and the band plays popular numbers, more from the 70s, 80s and 90s. Overall, affordable at $100 a night inclusive of breakfast, but certainly not the best. Would not suggest this for families and single women.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inner side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahesh_Ayyagari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a pretty old hotel which was once pretty, but fallen into harder times of late. The location is unbeatable.

Checkin - very quick. no problems here.

Rooms - massive / huge. Almost bigger than some apartments I have lived in. The decor is aging and the atmosphere seems musty. The air conditioner in my room was functional. Despite being on a main road, the thick ancient walls provide good insulation from noise.
There is a safe deposit locker in the room, flat screen tv and a couple of large sofas.

Bathrooms - functional. Hot water was working when I tried. Pressure in the shower was excellent.

Internet access - Wireless, free and reasonably fast.

Breakfast - acceptable spread of breads, made to order eggs, fruits, cereals etc.

Other foibles - there seemed to be an electricity problem on the first day -- but I read later there was a serious problem across Uganda. The whole country was out of power for almost 24 hours.

Taxi - Beware of using the hotel's own transport to the airport ! They are unreasonably overpriced compared to using one of the taxis outside the hotel ($90 bargained down to $60 -- in reality its $30 using one of the taxis outside )

There are many restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanasaheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Royale Hotel
Imperial Royale Hotel
#62 of 100 in Kampala
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 100 in Kampala
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HBT Russel Hotel
HBT Russel Hotel
#64 of 100 in Kampala
14 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#28 of 100 in Kampala
191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Uganda Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Imperial Hotel

Property: Grand Imperial Hotel
Address: Nile Avenue and Speke Road, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Imperial Hotel Kampala
Grand Imperial Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing