We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makerere University Guest House
Ranked #101 of 189 Kampala B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Makerere Guest House periodically since 2008 and while I love certain aspects of the experience, others are really beginning to wear on me. For the positives, I love the campus, a clean and quiet haven adjacent to the bustling Wandegeya neighbourhood of Kampala. I also enjoy the free breakfast buffet, wifi, and the friendly staff.

However, the value for what you are paying for seems to be decreasing over time as I discover other gems around the city. The place is in serious need of a renovation; furniture and bedding seems to have survived Ugandan independence, Amin, and the LRA insurgency. I have not been sleeping well at MUGH due to the lumpy, uneven bed and tiny, claustrophobia-inducing bug-nets - this is very important to me.

Will I go back? I think I am ready to discover alternatives in Kampala.

Room Tip: the 100,000UGX rooms are the newest and most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vienna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

On a business trip at MUK, this is a perfect location. Good clean rooms. Free wifi access was essential. Restaurant was poor in terms of food and very inefficient service! Terrace outside was extremely nice to meet people. Noise from a nearby club till early hours was unbearable - bring ear plugs! Otherwise a good place if you do not have to eat there every day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricodefaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I stayed at the guesthouse twice, once for a week in a single (Room 18) and the second time in a double (Room 1). The former was tiny and airless; demand a fan when you check in. Room 1 was huge but incredibly noisy. Rooms 1-8 are situated adjacent to the bar/restaurant and are in full hearing of every story, chuckle, the TV, etc.
The place is reasonably clean, but is very poor value for money. Stay in the Mulago Guest House if you can, or go to the Fairway Hotel.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 through 8 are very noisy and should be avoided. Demand a fan at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank D0ugP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Mityana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

this is the only Unuversity guest house, it is right in the university and very accessible. i went there for a day arrived in the evening. the place is clean but my problem was with the waiters and waitresses. Either they are trainees or something but they are just not responsive at all. i had to find out if i had to serve my self and they were not appollogetic at all. but other things are fine

Room Tip: If coming to visit the university in uganda its the best place to sleep at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilliandrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I enjoyed my time at Mak GH and overall recommend it as a place to stay but had a couple issues during my time there. The rooms were great and toilets/shower very good. The kitchen was decently priced and breakfast was fantastic everyday (although go right at 7:30 or you will miss out). African tea on the lawn at night was also wonderful.

The housekeeping staff asked for my belongings (jacket, electronics) at the end of my stay. This happens frequently I find but made for an uncomfortable last few days of worrying about my things. Also, I feel the place is overpriced for the value. I would gladly pay 75000 for a double room, not 100 000. Beware of airport pick up - charges $50 USD and should only be $20.

Room Tip: Single rooms have improved - doubles do not offer anything better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kumbi_Sahel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I stayed at the Mak Univ guest house in June and July of 08 with a large group (classmates).

Given what the guest house is dealing with (intermittent power being the biggest one) I feel like they're doing a pretty good job. However, that being said, Americans heading there will do a good job if they adjust their expectations of the experience before they arrive.

I stayed in several rooms during my stay at the guest house - two different tripples and three different old-wing singles. All the rooms I stayed in were roughly equivalent overall ("pretty good"). In some the water in the shower was only cold, in another room it was only scalding hot. In one room my sink didn't work and all the rest it worked just fine. Some rooms had fans, others did not (and when I inquired at the desk they didn't have any spares).

The part of the guesthouse I'm less than thrilled with is their kitchen and food area. Breakfast is highly recommended, filling, usually hot, and most things are usually in stock (hot eggs, sometimes toast, always bread, juice, milk, cold cereal, usually sausages, fruit, and hot African tea, hot black tea, and hot black coffee (and hot milk, a novelty I enjoyed).

Lunch and dinner are completely hit or miss (most frequently miss). You'll be lucky if someone comes and takes your order within 30min. Frequently items on the menu aren't available (not a problem, but this isn't well communicated at the time that you place your order). Two nights I waited over two hours (!!) for my meal (which was uncomplicated). Most nights it was an hour or an hour and a half for rice/chips/irish potatoes and fried fish/chicken stew/beef stew/goat stew for dinner and matoke/irish potatoes/rice/chipati and chicken stew/beef stew/"vegetable curry"/gnut sauce for lunch. My food and the food of my classmates frequently came wrong or with substitution of chips for one of the other starches (not sure why).

Rooms were cleaned and they were pretty acceptable. Towels were only sometimes exchanged - someone complained toward the end of our stay and things improved after that - showing that at least hotel staff are willing to make improvements (just not to food service or to kitchen service).

Power was fairly good - it was suggested that they've purchased a generator so the lights are always on (if they're running the generator though you won't have power to the wall outlets in your rooms), which certainly helps.

Overall I'd recommend staying there, however, I'd suggest eating meals besides breakfast elsewhere.

  • Liked — Breakfast, front desk, cleaning and night staff were great
  • Disliked — Service/food for lunch and dinner
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank clstal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Makerere University guest house offers a secure accommodation. It is particularly suitable for first time visitors until you become familiar with the city. There are two wings to the guest house. The single rooms section consist of very old furniture and poorly maintained beddings. The doubles section is new and very clean. I would recommend that anyone who wishes to stay in that guest house opt for the doubles. The difference in rate is about $5 a night. The bathrooms are ensuite in the doubles but shared in the singles. You need to book in advance because they are frequently fully booked.
The guest house is close to taxi parks and it is only about 15 minutes walk to the city center. It is also about 15-20 minutes from the National Museum of Uganda and Mulago Hospital. There are many cyber cafes in the area for about $1 an hour. DON"T USE THE CAFE in the house. It will cost you more than 5 times the cost of accesing internet just about a block away.
The restaurant is just okay for breakfast. Make a left turn at the exit of the campus, and you are only 2 blocks away from excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Global Hotel
Grand Global Hotel
#51 of 101 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.7 mi away
Emin Pasha Hotel
Emin Pasha Hotel
#17 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Humura Resorts
Humura Resorts
#5 of 101 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makerere University Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makerere University Guest House

Property: Makerere University Guest House
Address: Makerere University Campus, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Makerere University Guest House Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing