We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Kampala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Kampala”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very centrally located; sufficient amenities (TV, WiFi, pool, gym) and very quiet for somewhere so central. I would have given it a five star rating but for the building work going on next door. Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The ones overlooking the pool are good particularly on the ground floor as they have a more convenie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great value for money. Clean rooms and friendly staff. It's a bit set off from main part of town, so very quiet with a nice pool and basic gym. There's a restaurant associated with it (Italian) serving pretty good food and the breakfast was big. They have a set of drivers they work with who can pick you up at airport/drop you off at the going rates, or drop you around town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccarito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is an excellent choice in Kampala and great value for money. They have a fantastic swimming pool and an amazing restaurant with a wide variety of meals (though their pizzeria is very popular with guests and Kampala residents). It is also centrally located and you can stroll outside to see life in Kampala.

The rooms are well designed, spacious, with all the services you expect (large flat screen tv, air-conditioning, a safe, a mini-bar, a big veranda, and one of the best showers in Uganda). They also have a gym and a sauna, though we did not use these.

Seemingly they have wifi internet (though this is not something that we ever needed or wanted while on holiday)!

This small hotel only has a few rooms, yet it has the right balance between services and price, while still being small and personal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times - it's cheaper than the big hotels, and much better than them. There's usually a few interesting people to talk to at breakfast, working in Kampala on development or consultancy projects. The wifi is good, and the breakfast really sets you up for the day. I'll be back here next time I'm in Kampala, but still have a way to go to become one of the regulars, who seem to come back again and again and again...

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

An excellent place to stay in Kampala. Rooms superb: good size, very clean, flat-screen TVs with digital satellite, fast reliable wi-fi, huge walk-in showers, some with lovely verandahs overlooking the well-tended garden and pool. Very peaceful and relaxing, yet well located for Makerere and lots of the big NGOs and embassies.

Breakfast is freshly cooked - which means it's delicious, but a bit slow. And the restaurant is a touch on the pricey side with few 'lighter' options (a couple of sandwiches, a couple of salads). Toiletries pretty meagre - best to bring your own.

Overall, though, exactly the type of place I like to stay in. Much nicer, and much cheaper, than the big 'international' hotels, yet with everything needed to be comfortable and productive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a verandah overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IIED-WGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I found the guest house to be very good for a week's business at Mulago/Makerere School of Public Health. I felt safe and secure as a lone female traveller staying there and walking to the hospital (though when it rains the mud makes the paths very difficult). The room was great - double bed, wifi, decent bathroom. I held meetings with colleagues there several times in the garden and the attached restaurant, the latter which was fine. They arranged airport transfers etc. All in all the place is good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

After spending a week at the Mamba Point Guesthouse I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that will visiting Kampala. The MPG is close to most things in the city, the universities, the other larger upscale hotels, downtown, and all the other sites around the city so it lends itself to being a great home base for your adventure. The rooms are clean and have plenty of space for all your needs and the bathrooms are extremely spacious. There are only a handful of rooms so helps with making the rooms pretty quite.The MPG has an Italian Pizzeria that is associated with it that is pretty good, the diavolo pizza is really good. The restaurant defiantly has more to offer than the staple Italian foods and pizza, you have to try the Ugandan Waragi (liquor) sometime during your stay. The MPG also has a very nice courtyard and a great looking pool that I never got a chance to use, but it looked very inviting and clean. One downside I would have to say would be the exercise room, it was basically three machines in the center of what looked to be one half of the lobby, I still liked the fact that the exercise machines were available to me so it wasn't that much of a downside. Overall, I would say that the Mamba Point Guesthouse is a great little place with a really friendly staff that is definitely a place of consideration for your next visit to Kampala.

Room Tip: The rooms attached to the front desk and lobby are closer to the road, and may be louder than the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
314 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 97 in Kampala
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda

Property: Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Address: 22 Akii Bua Road, Kampala, Uganda (Formerly Mamba Point Guesthouse)
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamba Point Guesthouse Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing