We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Hotel(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aponye Hotel(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kolping House(Kampala)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
60
55
16
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
55
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia telephonepool area isnew wingrestaurants within walking distanceexcellent optionmini barinternet connectionpay cashthe hotel's restaurantwater pressure isgreat showerairport pickwould highly recommend this hotelafter midnightcomfortable bedsmall poolair conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 137 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I found the guest house to be very good for a week's business at Mulago/Makerere School of Public Health. I felt safe and secure as a lone female traveller staying there and walking to the hospital (though when it rains the mud makes the paths very difficult). The room was great - double bed, wifi, decent bathroom. I held meetings with colleagues there several times in the garden and the attached restaurant, the latter which was fine. They arranged airport transfers etc. All in all the place is good value for money in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

After spending a week at the Mamba Point Guesthouse I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that will visiting Kampala. The MPG is close to most things in the city, the universities, the other larger upscale hotels, downtown, and all the other sites around the city so it lends itself to being a great home base for your adventure. The rooms are clean and have plenty of space for all your needs and the bathrooms are extremely spacious. There are only a handful of rooms so helps with making the rooms pretty quite.The MPG has an Italian Pizzeria that is associated with it that is pretty good, the diavolo pizza is really good. The restaurant defiantly has more to offer than the staple Italian foods and pizza, you have to try the Ugandan Waragi (liquor) sometime during your stay. The MPG also has a very nice courtyard and a great looking pool that I never got a chance to use, but it looked very inviting and clean. One downside I would have to say would be the exercise room, it was basically three machines in the center of what looked to be one half of the lobby, I still liked the fact that the exercise machines were available to me so it wasn't that much of a downside. Overall, I would say that the Mamba Point Guesthouse is a great little place with a really friendly staff that is definitely a place of consideration for your next visit to Kampala.

Room Tip: The rooms attached to the front desk and lobby are closer to the road, and may be louder than the ones across the courtyard. Rooms above the front desk are still pretty quiet so its something to think about.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have just spent the past week in Kampala and stayed at the Mamba Point Guesthouse and it is a highly professional establishment. Great rooms, great restaurant and excellent service at a very reasonable price. I will definitely stay there the next time I visit Kampala.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SivesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We unexpectedly arrived hours before our check in time. Our bags were tucked away in a safe storage area while we continued with our sight seeing. Although there are ground floor rooms, if you have mobility problems, the reception area is down a couple of steps. But they are so friendly and helpful, I'm sure the staff would do everything possible to accommodate. And the little bathroom off the reception area may be the cleanest public rest room I've ever been in! The buildings and ivy covered wall create a private courtyard for the pool and guest rooms. The uncluttered grounds were well tended and green, with perfect little touches like potted urns, a small herb garden and birdbath with sparkling water and floating petals.Our room was a little lacking in charm, but it was functional with TV, internet, good bed and large bath with shower. The bath was a little "tired", could have used some new grout, but was clean with lovely white towels that had the fleeting scent of sandalwood. The windows had tightly fitting screens and there was a bottle of mosquito spray left on the desk. But thankfully, we never saw a mosquito! As other reviewers have noted, the adjoining Mamba Point Restaurant is a gem. We had a delicious Italian dinner there and returned for breakfast served on the secluded little porch. We were treated to a choice of eggs,omelettes and French toast made to order, brown beans, yoghurt, breads and jams. We helped ourselves to hot beverages and juice from a service table. Service was polite and quick without being hurried. It would be a pleasure to return to this urban escape especially after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneStepCloser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

A wonderful place to stay, and it's a treat to relax by the pool after work. Wonderful food in the morning and in the restaurant .Best food ever.
the rooms are not in fashion but it got really good beds and pillows . The good thing is that there only a few rooms. (which makes the pool a relaxing place for a swim and a drink.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavitacarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews