We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull hide-out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Ranked #17 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderfull hide-out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Great rooms, comfy beds, nice shower, wonderful swimming pool, good food. But most of all: nice, spontaneous staff, very helpful people with a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanneRoemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
11
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed here for two weeks on business in Kampala. Perfect choice. Great place to stay. Pool a welcome relief from the lovely sunshine. Rooms are comfortable, well appointed although a little small. It's also not particularly cheap, but well worth it. Small gym is lovely although the running machine was a little faulty. Restaurant next door has friendly staff and good food. Definitely staying here again when I return to Kampala.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krh_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stayed here for only one night on a trip to Uganda, having ealrier stayed at the Sheraton and the Protea. This was much nicer, low key but high standard, with a great pool. It was a bit more like a villa and although it wasn't particularly cheap ( about $100 us for a night). It is getting 4 stars because there was a delay on getting the room cleaned ( it was late in the afternoon when I arrived) and it was sunday and the restaurant was closed ( which I didn't know about).

Room Tip: there are very few rooms, all similar
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank timmydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

I don't know how I found this wonderful mid-town retreat, but around 90% of these reviews give it 5 stars, and I'm about to do the same. This is just the perfect place to stay in Kampala, quite handy to most of the places you will want to go to. But there is somewhat of a temptation to go absolutely nowhere and to enjoy Mamba Point itself!

The overall impression here is that you are a house guest in someone's private -- and very well appointed -- home. And that's exactly what it was until quite recently; Guido and Fiona, mentioned in earlier reviews, have apparently sold the business and the associated restaurant and pizza joint. However, it doesn't seem to have changed the personality of the property.

There are only nine rooms here. Six in a lovely detached building at the back of the beautiful pool, and another three which are converted bedrooms of what was indeed Guido's own house. (Wisdom from guests who have stayed here regularly is that it's best to stay in the separate building.) The rooms are not large, but very comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and well appointed. The attention to detail is what you'd find in the guest room of a nice private home. Each room has a nice balcony/porch, a nice place to relax in the very comfortable weather of Kampala (it's about 3,900 ft above sea level, never too hot or cold).

I guess that's it's really the ambiance of the property that makes is so compelling though. Your fellow guests (a much higher proportion than normal have returned more than once) are generally a well-travelled and interesting lot, the people I met during my short stay all had some kind of business in Africa, and all that I met had stayed at Mamba Point before. The breakfast table is communal, your breakfast is cooked to order by the friendly staff. You'll pick up some very useful tips around the table for your stay in Kampala, and I picked up a traveling companion for a day trip down to some of the more remote villages and beaches on Lake Victoria.

The pool is just beautiful, and there's a small gym and a proper sauna in an adjacent building. There's a pleasant indoor lounge room and a formal dining setting, but it's pretty unlikely that you'll want to move indoors. The well-appointed outdoor bar area by the pool can spontaneously become a fun evening if your fellow guests are so inclined. Everything about this place is just as you would do it if you were building yourself the ultimate private courtyard playground -- not flashy like commercial bars and hotels, just well designed and built, with quality fittings.

Likewise the staff have all been trained to provide friendly, competent and discrete service. They are all very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, but they don't have the fake airline-stewardess smiles and over-the-top gestures that you'd find in a big hotel. Just genuine, warm people trying to do their best for their small number of guests. The only downside I can see of this approach is that the service tends to end pretty early, there's no staff apart from the security guards past about 11:00 pm. After that, if you're staying in for the night, it's up to you and the other guests to create your own fun. Or kick back and watch the big flat screen TV in your room. (Mind you, there's plenty to do in Kampala in the evenings.)

The Italian restaurant on the other side of the car park (and totally separate from the guesthouse, you won't even notice it's there unless you're in it) provides similar excellent service with very tasty food. In addition there is a Mamba Point pizza place away from the property -- I didn't have a chance to try it, but you can order pizza to be delivered to the guest house.

Most reviewers have noted the tranquility of this property ... yes, it's a cliche, but it really is an oasis not far from the centre of a busy and bustling town. I should add that's it's not outrageously expensive for what it is, something like US$120 per night in August, well worth it. Try it, if you want somewhere different and personal you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Only nine rooms -- book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

This guesthouse is a wonderful place to stay, and it's a treat to relax by the pool after work. The guesthouse is in Nakasero, so easy to get to wherever you need to go, and the rooms are good value. There are only a few rooms, which makes the place very friendly. Lots of the people I met here kept on coming back here each time they are in town, and when I'm next in Kampala, I will definitely stay here again, as long as there is room!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiee_overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Mamba Point for 9 nights over Christmas. Our experience was as good as has been written in other reviews. The rooms were large, clean and the service was great. We ate at the restaurant most days as the food was delicious and it was much easier with tired offspring to go next door to eat than battle the Kampala traffic. There were many healthy choices on the menu and the food was fresh and inventive. One point to note about Kampala is that it is quite tricky to get around so the phone list of taxi drivers provided was a godsend - copy and take it out with you so that you can get back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princessgrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

What a delightful little place this is! The rooms are very nice, well-maintained, spacious and very clean. The bathroom is well equipped with a good water pressure and a great "rain shower" shower head (and the towels are not worn-out).

Kampala is a chaotic city and it was such a pleasure to come to the Mamba after a day of work. The little courtyard is very relaxing and provide a nice feeling of isolation. There are very few rooms so it's quiet. The internet connection was very good the entire time we were there. We saw very few mosquitoes which is also a plus.

The mamba has a great Italian restaurant right next to the hotel. Another food option within walking distance is the restaurant at the Emin Pasha hotel. The food was good there too and they have live music some nights which is fun.

For breakfast the Mamba offers cereal, fresh fruits and a hot English breakfast (your choice of sausage, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans). While it was good, I wish the hot portion was more varied. We were there only for four nights but I think if we had stayed more days I would have probably gotten breakfast someplace else for a change.

There are two small bottles of water left in your room daily but you will be billed for it. This was a bit surprising to me because if water if left out, it usually means it's complimentary (and what's in the mini-bar you pay for) but maybe this is something they do in Uganda and I should have known, I'm not sure.

I highly recommend the Mamba Point as it offers great accommodations at a great price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoplocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda

Property: Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Address: 22 Akii Bua Road, Kampala, Uganda (Formerly Mamba Point Guesthouse)
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamba Point Guesthouse Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing