We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with superb locational advantage.”
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice property as per Africa standards with excellent staff. Rooms are decent but hotel stands out on its offerings with respect to restaurant choices; Indian, Italian, Continental; you name it and they have it in the same compound. No hesitation in recommending this property if you are on Business trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthDhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night in April 2013. The hotel is a little "oldish". The room had a nice balcony (ask for it, as the back-side is much less appealing) facing a main street and a garden across the street. The street noise in Kampala isn't a big problem at night. Our room was not too big. It did not have a water heater for coffee or coffee bags. The service was very good, the breakfast was excellent. The hotel is centrally located, 3 minutes walk to Kampala's central square and its supreme court building, 10 minutes to the Parliament House, 15 minutes to the Garden City shopping mall with the only Western-style supermarket in Kampala, Nakumat. I recommend for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehren_ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

An excellent resort just outside city center Kampala by the famous lake Victoria. It has every thing you want in a great hotel and resort. A huge property of its own you can spend all your time in side the resort compound even if you don't want to go out. Very green with lush green gardens and walk ways from the guest rooms to the reception, restaurants, stable restaurant, swimming pool and bar. All located over a large area and separated. The breakfast in the Calabash restaurant is classic with wide choice of Indian and African foods.

The guest rooms are very basic compared to the other facilities. No wifi in the room only broadband but the speed is very slow.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This institution in Ugandan colonial history is well located for the business traveller, provided you get a room facing away from the entertainment and restaurants. Be aware the 'escorts' that frequent the Rock Garden. Variety of options as far as meals are concerned, all reasonable quality, Mamma Mia for Italian, hotel's weekly Mongolian fare, as well as a really good Indian option. Good shuttle service to and from Entebbe airport. The staff are friendly and helpful. This hotel,is OK for a short trip, 2 nights max, longer than that the noise will get to you. PS avoid any rooms near the staircase, these are by far the noisiest.

Room Tip: Keep away from staircase and rooms facing Rock Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotiafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Speke Hotel for 8 days in February. The Speke is excellent value -- clean, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, and a superb central location. It is not a luxury hotel, but we wouldn't have wanted luxury in Kampala. It is simple and appealing, and we felt much more connected to the city and the people staying at The Speke. It is an old hotel surrounded by huge trees which muffle any street noise and provide a quiet setting for several restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Indian restaurant -- the food was fabulous. WiFi works well, and there are several open sitting areas in the hotel for relaxing. The shower is excellent and there was always plenty of hot water.
It is worth noting that the hotel adds a 5% service charge for its restaurants, but we learned that this 5% doesn't really go to the staff -- it is just part of the cost of food etc. so if you get good service, be sure to tip a bit extra.

Room Tip: The first room they showed us was small and smelled of smoke. When we said we needed a larger room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Speke Hotel is located near the city center in Kampala. It is within walking distance to downtown, a large shopping all, the golf course, and a longer walk to the Uganda Museum. The reception area is nice with comfortable seating, good wireless Internet and a large painting featuring John Hanning Speke the explorer. The rooms are very nice and are accessed from outside, a short walk from the reception area. My room was located adjacent to one of the restaurants and fairly near the street in front of the hotel. I know other reviewers have noted the noise, but it was not a problem for me. I did not notice much noise at all.

The rooms were wonderful with all of the amenities you would expect. The toilet and shower facilities were excellent. The bed was comfortable and the room had air conditioning. There was wireless Internet in the room and they also provided an Ethernet cable if you had a laptop.

There is a lot happening at the Speke Hotel at night. It is located next to a busy street. There are there restaurants associated with the hotel (Indian, Italian, and Continental). I ate at The Rock Garden and the service and food was very good. There is also an open-air bar and “night club” with a band the night I was there. Yes, as some other reviewers have noted, there are many “ladies of the evening” at the bar and they will approach you when you enter. However, with a firm, polite “No Thanks” they did go away. You can make your own choice. I did not find it intimidating in the hotel and restaurant area, but I got the impression that you would not want to wander too far from the hotel at night. Overall, I would recommend the Speke Hotel for a stay in Kampala.

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper, ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Greeted with very friendly service on arrival and throughout the stay. The wifi worked well in the rooms and the food in the on site Indian restaurant was good - large portions as most places in Kampala. The rooms however were dated, old and uncomfortable. The pillows were very thick and the AC was super cold even when the temp was adjusted. The shower however was very powerful and the best I've had in Uganda so far. Overall ok for 1 night stop but very noisy if you are near the staircase as people are constantly walking past. Ask for a room away from a seating area or main staircase. I found it overpriced when compared to the room and experience at humura which was cheaper and nicer overall for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 107 in Kampala
689 reviews
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 107 in Kampala
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#14 of 107 in Kampala
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 107 in Kampala
786 reviews
1 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Speke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing