We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Speke Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Speke Hotel
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love the Speke. I have stayed here 4 times.

Pros: It feels African. The hotel restaurant faces the street and it is really fun to people watch while you eat outside or just enjoy a drink. It's a great atmosphere. Additionally, there is a nice reception area and quiet place to sit upstairs. The people are incredibly friendly (as is everyone in Uganda) and they provide exceptional service. Rooms are above average and clean, but not 5 star. They spray for mosquitos in your room every night. Walking distance to the local craft market. Decent wifi.

Cons: There is a bar right next door and they will play music into the wee hours of the night (3/4am in the morning) and there isn't much you can do to drown it out. My only advice to avoid this is to request a room facing the back of the hotel and on the right side away from the bar area. Also, a lot of prostitutes solicit themselves and have even been so bold as to sit down at tables with men who are not even interested. Management won't do anything about it either- we've complained.

TIP: Eat at the Indian restaurant they have there. It is delicious... order the tiki masala!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliviajharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    115
    47
    23
    13
See reviews for
26
23
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

In October 2012, I stayed at Speke Hotel in Kampala with five other friends. We are all expatriate of Uganda as we were born there and expelled in 1972 by Then president Amin. My visit was on 40 th anniversary of us leaving the country, where I was born and can still communicate Sawhili. Speake hotel in is nice area, good value for money and good staff but excellent, customer focused and very helpful staff I met and liked during our stay were Cheten and Prabin . They are real assets of the hotel who are very customer focused and were great , we could not ask for any more . Brilliant , safe place to stay and I plan to revisit it again in 2013 with my family .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 001234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Standards of service were pretty good, breakfast was very good compared to other places I have stayed in East Africa. The room was not very impressive (great view of the neighbouring buildings wall from the window), the shower took forever to warm up.
Food in the Indian restaurant was above average.
The downside is the difficult parking and it does seem to be in the centre of the red light district, having said that there were no problems experienced inside the hotel.
The overall experience was good.

Room Tip: The room I had was in what I presume was a new wing, my collegues stayed in the old wing and their r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Speke is very well located. However the traffic around that area can be a nightmare at times. Two shopping malls are nearby - the Oasis mall and Garden city mall. There are also various other hotels and hang out places along the same street near speke.

The restaurants on the ground floor, specially the Indian resto, serve really great food although it's on the high side. However, a branch did fell of the huge tree into the open seating area while I was there. Fortunately no one got injured!

Lots of storks can be seen on the trees opposite the hotels.

Overall - great hotel, great location and great food!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thai4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Speke Hotel has a certain old colonial charm, with impressive murals depicting the adventures of Victorian explorers in Africa. There are also storks nesting in the tree across the street.
It's well located and reasonably secure, both of which are important factors when choosing a hotel in Kampala. My room was spacious, with reliable electricity and laundry service. Service was pretty good, with airport transfers arranged via the front desk.
The hotel has a good selection of food, with a fantastic Indian curry restaurant and an Italian pizzeria. There's also the Rock Bar in the hotel grounds. But when we went to enjoy a cold beer and live Premiership football we were pestered by hookers so had to make our excuses and leave.
One more thing - if you're paying by credit card, expect a surcharge of 7% or so added to your bill. Ouch.

Room Tip: The music from the Rock Bar can be loud if facing the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I got an opportunity to stay in Kampala for 3 months and I stayed in Speke Hotel. My first day was very normal as it would have happened in any hotel, from second day I started realizing that this hotel is different. I can compare this hotel with other because, my colleagues were staying in other hotels.

This hotel is in very prime area, all important buildings like malls, movie theatres, govt offices, temple, church are walking distance away. You find crowd of people even at mid night and feel very safe.

Another peculiar thing about this hotel is food is very good and you find lots of variety.. In one corner you find Italian Restaurant, In the other corner of the Hotel you find Indian Restaurant, next to it you find Rock bar, which stays open till early morning and will be always crowded in night. Daily morning you will get complementary Breakfast with buffet system for which there is not match when compared to other hotel.

The unique thing about the staffs here is they are very friendly. Naturally during my stay for 3 months I had faced couple of problems with water and interned, but it was solved immeadiatly which impressed me a lot.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be treated with utmost care, compassion and respect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here for business and it was ok, if a little shabby around the edges.

The bedroom was ok, although a twin room, which is a little irritating when you are on your own as you can't stretch out, but the bed was comfortable, if a little hard.

The restaurant in the hotel was good, and the bar was nice.

They arranged a taxi driver to take me round the sights, although he was a little expensive.

The wifi did not work in my room, and the receptionist did not know why, but there was an internet cafe that I could use for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesypOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Speke Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.7 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 93 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#15 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speke Hotel

Property: Speke Hotel
Address: Plot 7/9 Nile Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kampala
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Speke Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major facelift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television and a minibar.Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Speke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speke Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing