We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, beautiful surroundings, great cook.”
other travelers have booked this property
Front and garden view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front and garden view
garden and city view check in desk, self service tea/coffee station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front and garden view
garden and city view
check in desk, self service tea/coffee station
lobby and living area
breakfast table
breakfast at the gazebo
breakfast outdoors
healthy breakfast served untill lunch time
family suite king bedroom
view from the family suite and balcony
family suite bathroom
king bedroom
double bedroom, king bed
double bedroom shower room
standard double room private bathroom
single shower room
single room bathroom
twin bedroom
twin room bathroom
currys on the menu
Tilapia and cassave chips
Book a table for dinner at Papaya Holiday Home
eatwithafrica at Papaya. Book a table for private dining
Panfried Tilapia, Ugandan style
oven roast chicken
directions from Tank hill road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Kampala, Central Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
megaklant
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Quiet, beautiful surroundings, great cook.”
Reviewed December 4, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

It is placed in a very calm part of Kampala so your sleep will not be disturbed by musik or traffic.
Florence, the owner, picks out only the best ingredients for the food so it is always safe to eat.
Do try the mushroom soup it is delicious!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing Papaya Holiday home. We look forward to hosting you again when you next visit Kampal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonmaho...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Best place we have stayed in so far in africa, amazing staff, good sevice, clean and with good views. Rooms are perfect, best sleep we have had so far!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Thanks for taking time to review your stay. The perfect score means a lot to staff and management at Papaya and will contribute to the progress of our business. We will continue to give the best service we can to all guests who chouse to stay at Papaya holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hdogg82
Austin, Texas
1 review
“It was perfect!”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Papaya Holiday Home was perfect for our large group! Florence and her staff were kind and accommodating, and the property was large, clean, and in a great location! It was the best rental home in Uganda we've stayed in! We will definitely be staying there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
What a joy for us to get a review like this one. Many thanks from all the staff of Papaya Holiday Home, not just for these wonderful comments but also for being true ambassadors of your faith during your visit to Uganda as well as during your stay at Papaya Holiday Home..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful guest house with friendly staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed at Papaya for a week in mid July and had a great stay; very peaceful and easygoing. Florence and her staff were very hospitable, and the house also functions as a nice venue for dinners and events. Would definitely recommend to others. Thanks, Florence!

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
We were happy to provide a temporary home away from home and are delighted that you appreciated the relaxed homely atmosphere at Papaya Holiday Home. Please drop by any time for a cup of tea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mounir Z
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2017
We love hosting and take seriously feed back of our guests. Thank you for giving us feed back and we will work hard to make improvements.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing