We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian food, REAL Indian food!”
Review of Biryani House

Biryani House
Ranked #31 of 291 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: "Biryani House" specializes in elevating the dining experience of customers by tantalizing their taste buds with mouth watering cuisines such as "DUM BIRYANI" which is century old recipe, taking more than two hours to prepare along with grilled Tandoor chicken offered with Asian fusion curries and evergreen Garlic Naan served with seasons best starters. All these healthy cuisines coupled with our new Bar , sheesha and Happy hour makes it a great place for Singles, Couples, Group , family as well as Corporates.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Indian food, REAL Indian food!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

LOVED this place. After spending some time in India eating the best Indian food, coming back to Kampala and eating the ''Indian'' food here was disappointing, until I visited this place. As soon as you come in, you know it must be good (packed with Indian families). Lovely staff, they are very able to advice you what to order. Atmosphere is lovely, definitely a place I want to come back to!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MelissaGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flavourful experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This place really does have it all. Not only is the food delectable, but the service was top-notch, the decor was beautiful, and the ambiance just overall lovely. Probably the most authentic tasting Biryani you'll find outside of India! BH is definitely a stop you have to make at least once if ever in the city. BH qualifies as one of those restaurants that you leave already planning your next visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harjot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indian in k'la”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This place is still to catch on but the food is definitely the best Indian I've had in Kampala, better than haandi or kaza khazana. Friendly staff and good layout. Get in quick before it explodees

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Coldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home is where the stomach is.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

You either live to eat or eat to live. I, fortunately, belong to the former category and hence Biryani House was Paradise for me. The food is absolutely delectable - lip smacking amazing - authentic - flavorsome and cooked with so much love. What made me exceptionally happy was their Live Kitchen where one could watch the chef rolling that Rumali Roti and buttering up that kebab. The service is impeccable - the servers are prompt and are well trained too. For such a commendable set up, they are very reasonably priced. Biryani House is definitely a winner for me!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AratiKrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food okay, service not.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went to Biryani House with a big group of girlfriends for lunch. We were literally the only table occupied in the entire restaurant yet it took about an hour and a half to get our food. And even then they forgot a few dishes. Maybe they've improved recently though....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biryani House also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Biryani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing