We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“execellent”
Review of Tamarai

Tamarai
Ranked #19 of 291 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Email for this restaurant is tamaraithai@gmail.com
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“execellent”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

very amazing and lots of variety in the menu .the lobsters were delicious and very nicely done and variet in curry fantastic nice food i recommend my friends u should go and try it very nice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nknavinkunder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    66
    28
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Character and Flavour”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful venue on Lower Ko Terrace with pretty good and attentive staff. I had chicken Thai green curry and partner had sweet and sour pork - both utterly delicious. House red is very drinkable but as elsewhere in Kampala very over priced (maybe just because I am used to South African prices).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A disappointment to palette and pocket”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although the setting is wonderful and the staff is attentive and speedy the food here is anything but authentic Thai, and if that's what you seek you'll be gravely disappointed. Gone are the rich mixtures af flavoursome herbs and spices with firey chillies. Instead I was offered a rather tasteless curry which looked remarkably like a number of other dishes our table had ordered. As for chilli I trawled the glutinous mix in vain. Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourismplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Dear TourismPlanner,

Thank you for your feedback. As of December 2013 we recruited a new Thai Chef and the reviews have been quite positive. We hope you can come by again and re review our place.

Sincerely,

Akshay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, hit or miss on food”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I love thai food and was very glad that this place opened. The first time I went was massively disappointing - the hand pulled noodles tasted like they came out of a packet. The next time the food was very good, but we found it very expensive by kampala standards.

So good food if you order well - but if you are going to spend this much you could have an always glorious meal at Yujo so you might as well just do that.

Service was nice and the space is pleasant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMayersohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi thanks for your feedback! We are actually working on our Menu and are getting a Thai Chef this week! We will be making a lot of changes so please come by and give us another shot soon. We are also offering our 'Pick & Pair' which gives you the option of rice, your favorite curry, and a side dish and it starts at only 20K!

Ankush
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galle, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was very excited when Tamarai opened. There was scare choice for thai food at the time.

I went with my boyfriend, we both ordered classic dishes:
- green thai curry
- prawn phad thai

The green thai curry was fine, although it tasted a bit grainy, as though they had used too much curry paste? But generally fine, and even 'good' if you haven't had thai in a while.

The phad thai was fairly disappointing. It tasted too sour as if they had used too much lime & tamarind, and no sugar. The noodles were slightly undercooked also.

I think if you stick to the basic curries: red & green the food is fine (they do serve sticky rice which I love). But if you are a phad thai lover, don't be tempted to order one!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TammyAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback at Tamarai. Im glad you decided to give Tamarai a try. Regarding certain items on the menu, we agree with you and they could be improved. Which is why we are getting a chef from Bangkok in this coming week and certain items on our menu will be re-tooled. Please do come again and give us a try as we are making changes in the menu.

Ankush Agarwal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarai also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Tamarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing