We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was second to none.”
Review of Tamarai

Tamarai
Ranked #14 of 304 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Email for this restaurant is tamaraithai@gmail.com
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having gone to Tamarai on numerous occasions this last summer, each and every time was a delight. The food was second to none, with the service being first class. The atmosphere is unlike any other in Kampala as well as offering the only speciality tea and coffee bar in the country. When I am next in Kampala I will be sure to go back.

Well done to all those involved.

J

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank James0012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi,

Thanks, we appreciate the positive feedback. In this buisness its important to get both positive and negative feedback.

Ankush

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 192 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

The first thing I thought when I walked into Tamarai was, 'Couples would love it in here.' An elegant, vast bamboo-house with wooden shades strung across the ceiling, the whole place alive with greenery and exoticism,
Aroma of tea with a soothing music invited me into their lounge with smile on my face. As i said appearances are sometimes deceptive, Restaurant staff and management are very rude, each and every step inside lounge includes some sort of unacceptable restrictions, Food is way beyond expensive for the quantity and quality served.

I suggest you visit Tamarai once , EnjoyTea and the ambiance, Never look back :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PummyBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi,

Im sorry to hear about your experience at Tamarai. We have been open little more than a month now so i can assure you we are working on these issues. Regarding the seating, we are making changes so as to incorporate top seating with bottom seating so there will be no restrictions as to where and what you can order. I woud request you give us one more try but please ask for me when you come, my name is Ankush Agarwal. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our weaknesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Went to Tamarai thrice - the decor & ambience of the place is, without a doubt, very aesthetically done. The first time I went there on a weekend night for dinner with a friend and quite enjoyed the experience - it seemed like a wonderful change. The range of aromatic teas available are great for the senses. The appetizers we ordered were also nice - tasted well though the portions did not justify the prices. The dinner of thai noodles and chicken dish were adequately spiced and were good to taste.

As the first experience was definitely a 'thumbs-up', I vowed to visit Tamarai again. This is when I realized the first visit was more of a beginners' luck! :( The staff and management seemed a lot snooty [almost bordering on being rude], about the place, probably because as I have already said that the restaurant is definitely a beauty. Tamarai instead of providing the relaxed lounge feel is very restrictive in its service to guests - where you can sit and what you can order at what time is very strictly governed making one feel as if by letting you step into the restaurant, the managers/management have done you a huge favour. Not one of the nicest experiences in hospitality, I would say! Coming to the food, I found with consecutive visits that only is the menu very limited, the food definitely does not match up to the exorbitant prices or the claim of it being genuinely thai!! So the second & third visit led to a clear 'thumbs-down'!

Recommend only a one time visit on account of the decor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AlpsOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for your response and im sorry to hear of your further visits not being up to the mark. We understand that a few dishes are pricey and some quantities do not match up to the prices and we are working on it. We have been open a little more than a month so its only with feedback such as yours that we can learn and fix what needs to be changed. I would request you give us another try and when you come please do ask for me, Ankush Agarwal and i can give you recomendations. It will also allow me to see up close any other issues that come up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went here for a family meal, and from the entrance it was like wow, the decor was awesome...i can see a trend in Kampala with the decor of restaurants and this one definitely follows.
now lets get to the food, i must say it is by far the most authentic offering in Uganda as far as Thai cuisine is concerned however, the portion sizes of some of the expensive starters is questionable though!, the noodles were great but some of the curries and vegetables were not up to scratch....i would recommend a visit there at your wallets peril! plus if your seasoned in Thai cuisine then you might be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank peterpeter420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ace222, Owner at Tamarai, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hi,

First off, thanks for appreciating the decor, we put alot of effort into it. We also have tried to make it as authentic as possible. Let me address your issues, the reason the curries were not up to scratch is due to shifting suppliers as we were in an issue of good quality coconut milk. However, no excuses, i do apologise for the issues you faced. We've also changed our menu as of last week with a few modifications and tweaks so i would request you to come once more and give it a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank To71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarai also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Tamarai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing