We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muy bueno Mexican”
Review of The Little Donkey

The Little Donkey
Ranked #53 of 292 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The little Donkey is an Authentic Mexican Restaurant. We serve burritos, tacos, enchiladas and more. We have margaritas, Coronas, our famous Blue Agave,a traditional drink with Tequila,tropical lime juice,triple sec on rocks and more. When you visit Kampala,Uganda don't forget to stop by you won't regret it.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Muy bueno Mexican”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

I never imagined that the best burrito I've ever had would be in Uganda, but Little Donkey provided me with the most delicious burrito ever!

We frequented Little Donkey when I lived in Uganda because all of the food was so great! Also couldn't pass up their awesome churros on each visit. Cute little place has excellent Mexican food not just by Uganda standards but by any standard.

Helpful?
Thank NatalieT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Little Donkey, responded to this review, October 4, 2016
We love you so much and hope to see you again at the restaurant when you come back to Uganda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best Mexican in Africa”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Okay, that's not saying too much because I'm not sure I've ever been to another Mexican restaurant in Africa, but this food is great and even beats the Mexican restaurants I've been to back in the States. The food is fresh and well-made, with excellent portions. Some, menu items are often unavailable though. Service could be a tad more attentive. Love the salsa-pop they always play. FYI: They just moved to a new location in Kibuli-Kampala. I haven't been to the new location yet but will soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Little Donkey, responded to this review, October 4, 2016
Thank you very much! Service is much more better now than when we first opened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroto, Uganda
2 reviews
“Best Mexican Food in Uganda”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I had some friends tell me about Little Donkey. They were wise with their review and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I have traveled through many countries and had many culinary experiences. Despite a few forced substitutions because of what is available here in Uganda.... this meal was amazing and definitely satisfies my craving for Mexican food!! I have their number saved in my phone for any time I come to Kampala. They also deliver if you are staying close by!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesusdied4you2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Little Donkey, responded to this review, October 4, 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mubende
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small Intimate Mexican Gem”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great mexican fare at reasonable rates. Can get very busy so go early as the kitchen closes at 10:30pm. Atmosphere is good for this small intimate little place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElandreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Little Donkey, responded to this review, October 4, 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't kid yourself, you'll want a large chips & salsa”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

-the homemade chips are addictive
-quesadilla is made with Gouda cheese which is DELICIOUS!
-tacos have queso fresca
-shredded chicken is juicy and tender.. Like it should be.
-the Mexican flag is painted on the patio deck
-a social business

This Ohioan has a new favorite Mexican restaurant!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kdbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Little Donkey, responded to this review, October 4, 2016
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Donkey also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing