We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good”
Review of The Little Donkey

The Little Donkey
Ranked #51 of 296 Restaurants in Kampala
Price range: $4 - $7
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The little Donkey is an Authentic Mexican Restaurant. We serve burritos, tacos, enchiladas and more. We have margaritas, Coronas, our famous Blue Agave,a traditional drink with Tequila,tropical lime juice,triple sec on rocks and more. When you visit Kampala,Uganda don't forget to stop by you won't regret it.
Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

food is great and prices are quite affordable. It's location is a little weird but once you get in, you'll b really impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm still full”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Fabulous place in Kampala for those times you are really craving Mexican! Over ordered as usual but it was worth it. Street looks a little dodgy as you arrive but when we were there it was filled with muzungus and had a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Surprisingly AMAZING Mexican Food.....in Uganda!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

So I've been commuting from New York to Africa for the past 5 years for business, and only recently in Jan 2013, physically moved to Mauritius, Africa (where there is NO Mexican food!)

So my wife and i constantly crave a great (even a OK!) Mexican meal!

So in June while on a business trip, me and my Colombian colleague were looking for a place to eat.

I came across (randomly) "Mexican" food here on Tripadvisor, and went to The Little Donkey's Facebook page....and it LOOKED "OK"

So i told my Colombian colleague that i was going to surprise him and we jumped in to taxi and off we went to The Little Donkey.

So once we got to Namuwongo, the street was very dark, and my colleague was a little skeptical to where i brought him!

We got out the cab, walked across the cab, and saw a group of US NGO people eating, and another Canadian group, so decided to try it.

We order a few pitchers of the Strawberry Margaritas, Nachos, Salsa and spent a few hours there.

The food was GREAT! Even it you were to compare it to US standards, it was GOOD.

The owner i was told was a ex-Cali guy....so he knew what he was doing.

AWESOME PLACE!

Will be back there next time im in Kampala for biz.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Uganda”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good food, good prices, best margaritas that could reasonably be expected in Uganda, good atmosphere, usually good service but can sometimes take long (especially for Mexican food).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, very foreign..”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The little donkey is a nice place, a little out of the city but worth it. The food is great, service is good. The only thing I wasn't expecting was the fact that it is full of foreigners. I have seen only 3 Ugandan's except the employees of course. However, this is probably me as I prefer going to local places while living abroad. Nonetheless the Mexican food here is great! So definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MvanArendonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Donkey also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to The Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing