We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exelent Pizzas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant

Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 280 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exelent Pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place serve some of Kampalas best Pizzas.
I once tried their beef filet and was not so impressed with that, but they have very good carpaccio. The restaurant is in a peaceful courtyard in the same building as the Mayfair casino (not as tacky as it may sounds), it offers a peaceful classy atmosphere away from Kampala's horrible traffic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 7maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Simply the best Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My 4th visit to this beautiful restaurant. From the warm greeting on arrival to the excellent environment and food, this place is the best Italian restaurant by far in Kampala.
The food is always well cooked and the steaks large and melt in the mouth beef.
I have tried a variety on the menu and yet to have anything other than excellent food.
It is a beautiful setting and the decor top class. For a business meeeting or a romantic dinner, this is the place.
The top quality service supports the excellent food

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place, amazing food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Loved the food. We all ordered different meals and we all loved our meals..from starters to desserts! Well cooked steak (medium well), just enough per serving, good service...and I was in good company. Definitely going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best in the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Have had many meals here - from just a normal lunch to celebrations of birthdays etc. Never been dissappointed and love going back. Lovely setting and great atmosphere. Never been let down by the food, service, drinks or ambiance

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TracyH630909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My favourite restaurant in Kampala. The classy décor with high ceilings makes for a really nice tranquil setting. So nice to see that staff have been given correct training. This is often so lacking here in Africa.
You are made to feel very welcome as soon as you walk in.
I had tomato and basil soup to start which came with a variety of bread sticks and fresh bread. It was delicious.
For main I had the pepper steak. I asked for medium, pink but no blood and it came perfectly cooked. It melted in the mouth. Served with Al dente vegetables and nice crisp french fries.
A delightful evening
Will visit again before I leave for sure

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Il Patio - The Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing