We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my first visit to the hotel. Stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. I got the executive room which was large. The bed was comfortable and the room had all the accessories you have in a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was with a good variety of plates, which you can choose from. The service was good. I also had an access to the club lounge which I think was a good value for the money. Didn't use the gym or pool but they look very nice and tempting.
The internet connection was very good which was a must for me and had a good connection all over the hotel.
The hotel is centered in Kampala, which gives you good access to everything. I certainly will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your positive review of the Sheraton Kampala. We are glad you appreciated all we had to offer and perhaps next time you will get a chance to take a dip on the pool.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    208
    166
    71
    31
See reviews for
14
33
37
426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sao paolo
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I actually like this hotel.

It has its flaws but I think it's good. The staff are nice, the food is fine and the pool and views and garden are pleasant. Plus, you can meet the boss at one of his weekly cocktails which is nice. He's from England and he looks like Max Clifford! You can't miss him.....

What are the flaws? Well it's probably very expensive and it takes an age to get through security. The bathrooms could be a bit flasher but the water is hot and good pressure too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the side of the nearby nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rexlombardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Kampala and that yours was a generally positive one. As you noted there are several security measures but these are in place to ensure the safety of all our guests given the current security related issues in the region.

Thank you for your review and we hope you will be returning soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Hotel is well located in the city center. Has an excellent fitness center, decent internet and television service. The food service is very good in the outside patio. The breakfast is only average. Very comfortable, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

As I get ready to end my stay here, it's a pity that I did not have more time during my stay to experience some of the other services that the hotel offers. The room was comfortable and clean. The airport shuttle service was efficient and we did not have to wait around the airport. Even through we arrived in the middle of the night check in was swift and welcoming. When I got sick, the hotel nurse Liz was prompt to respond, and I was treated and provided with appropriate drugs and she followed up on my progress for the rest of my stay. The staff in General, from the handy man I bumped into to the housekeeping staff and the staff in the restaurant are generally friendly and helpful. The team at reception especially Richard, Anthony and Alex, as well as. Brain on the switch board, we friendly helpful and promptly responded to any requests that I had. If there is one recommendation I would give the hotel is at some point to upgrade the bathrooms on the Superior floor, otherwise they were clean with enough hot water.

I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsitsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon so you may enjoy everything the Hotel and Kampala City has to offer.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

One stays here because most everything works most all of the time. If you are not fortunate enough to be upgraded the rooms are pretty dated. The wifi and breakfast buffet may be the best thing this Sheraton has to offer. Check-in is ridiculously slow. Considering they know you are coming, and that all the incoming flights arrive late evening one would think they would be prepared. Long wait at check-in: after long flights and long drive from Entebbe the last thing I need was a long wait and laborious check-in. For the price there are other options in Kampala.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, no, beg for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odawara, Japan
Level Contributor
164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for business after having to abandon the Speke resort (due to no Internet), since my colleages had stayed here before and said "things basically work".

That was ultimately my impression - on the whole, this hotel was adequate for what we needed: decent breakfast buffet; hot water and functional though very old and small bathrooms; functional wifi Internet.

Meals in the outside restaurant felt safe but boring. Swimming pool was refreshing but very busy on the weekend (mainly with young families). Very cheap drinks by the pool though.

Security was quite variable, I think there must have been some VIP in residence when we first arrived as security was super tight. On later days though, security was noticeably less strict, to the point of feeling a bit sloppy at least compared to Serena where we had stayed before Hilton.

Strange arrangement with paying for the room too. When checking in, they could only tell us the weekend price, and couldn't say how much it would cost to stay from the following Monday, so we paid in advance for the weekend, and had to come back and pay again on Monday, and once more mid-week after that.

Front desk staff sometimes very slow, and while normally I would only have to deal with front-desk for check-in and perhaps check-out, here there were at least 6 interactions due to the strange need to pay every few days, and card keys failing to work several times.

There's a reasonable chance we will stay here again, simply because there isn't much to choose from in the middle ground of reasonably safe, functional hotels in Kampala. Overall, not impressive for a Sheraton or SPG property and Serena Hotel is miles ahead for me in every area except price. But if you're looking for a business hotel and can't justify the cost of Serena, Sheraton does "basically work".

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterPugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short.

Some of the bathrooms have not been completely renovated though this is currently one of the key development projects being undertaken by the Management.

Regarding the menu options we have brought in a new Executive Chef whose key responsibilities will include revamping some of the current menus, we also opened a new Seafood & Steak Restaurant with different variety to the Paradise Menu.

Sheraton Kampala is among the top Hotels in Uganda and we will continuously work to achieve our mission of being the most recognised personalized hospitality provider in the region.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spent a few days at the Sheraton recently and although the staff are very friendly and the hotel generally good, I found the room service rather poor. The rooms are made up very late in the day and it takes ages to get what you want.
It's the club room however, that is worth the while...if you have access & make the hotel a unique one in Kampala. I enjoyed the free bites & drinks every evening. A good place to stay when in Kampala & will certainly be coming again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilli-Bite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#4 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#12 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#10 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing