We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Always a lovely welcome here.
Drinks given out at check in - nice touch!
Rooms easy to locate were basic but comfortable. And quit too which is important.
Room service menu could do with an overhaul, as it hasn't changed in a long time.
The wailing women on the microphone with a keyboard need to be seen off the premises in disgrace.....it's far from entertaining.
Service in the evenings at bar outside was slow slow slow in fact six months on I'm still waiting for Emmanuel to deliver the goods!
Food good. Hotel facilities good.
I'll be back this week arriving Thursday! And quite looking fwd to it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Helly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Sheraton Kampala and we are glad you had a 'pleasant stay'.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    241
    182
    73
    33
See reviews for
18
35
39
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed here on two occasions for business, a few days at each time. The hotel itself is not bad, but not on par with other Sheraton hotels in other countries.

Let me start with good news: the hotel has a fantastic gym, spa, and pool. It's also got a nice garden and is close to downtown where you can do shopping for economical prices. There is also an ATM just down the street (ask the receptionist), so you don't have to worry about risking a long trip to withdraw money. I thought that the restaurant was expensive for Uganda standards, but there was quite a selection. If you stay on the club floor, there are tasty snacks throughout the day, and I loved their tea (i.e., sweet peppermint). The rooms were pretty comfortable BUT make sure you ask for a room that is not on the same side as the disco or whatever night club. I also liked the fact that there is a tennis court. If you're an advanced player, however, I caution you that the tennis court is very slippery (the paint is not compatible with the cement surface), and it's hard to change directions quickly without worrying about getting injured from slipping. I also liked the passion fruit juice. Free bottles of water was available in guest rooms.

The problem I had was mainly with internet connection. I don't know why, but I had to look for a signal every 15 minutes or so. It was very frustrating, actually. Also, during my first stay, there was some leak from the windows, and the carpet in that area was wet. During the second stay, the room had trouble with lighting -- the lights kept going off, so I had to be moved to another room.

As for the transportation to/from the airport, make sure you get someone at the hotel to negotiate the fare on your behalf!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cbcwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments and we greatly appreciate the feedback.

Regarding your concerns, the respective heads of department have been informed and measures will be taken to try and resolve the issues most especially the internet connectivity.

We are glad you had a generally pleasant experience and hope you will come back again.

Best regards,

Tendo Lukwago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I visit Kampala every quarter and must admit that the Sheraton religiously lives up to expectations. The music at the bar downstairs is fabulous. The food simple fresh and tasty. Its definitely one of my favorite places to stay when in Kampala.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samwats2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

The next time you are staying with us I hope you will be able to attend our weekly Social Cocktail and share with us more about your experiences.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Keep an eye on your possessions in the bar. Someone walked off with a handbag and was trying to use the credit car within 45 mins of the theft. These thieves are professionals. The security camera does not work in the bar so it is impossible to identify thieves.

Room Tip: Do not leave your possessions unattended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

The theft of your handbag was truly unfortunate and something we would not wish to happen again, indeed there were some suspicious individuals observed on the surveillance cameras however identification of these suspects remains a challenge.

To prevent such occurrences it is essential that we all remain vigilant at all times. We will continue to look into this issue and hopefully identify the people responsible.

Our Chief of Security is aware of the incident and will take proactive measure to ensure the safety of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

As a regular guest at this hotel, I am Extremely disappointed at the poor level this hotel has reached. Wash basin jammed- water does not flow out, shower does not work properly, and the pizza I ordered was half done... The karaoke evenings had previously somehow compensated for the poor levels, but this has also been removed. Room air-conditioner also did not cool the room.

Has service been neglected because they are too busy?

At standard pricing of over USD 220 per night, one needs to re-think their options!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maistryj2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we value your input.

Your concerns have been forwarded to the respective department heads and we will collectively work to improve the overall guest experience.

The Bands that used to play on theme nights were shuffled around but we do have live band performances at the the Mediterranean Night dinner every Friday evening as well as at the weekly Sheraton Sunday Brunch.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to improve your experience at the Sheraton Kampala.

Kind regards,

Tendo Lukwago - P.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Kampala Sheraton Hotel. Felt like "Home away from home". Staff were very professional, hospitable and friendly. Room was on old side but still comfortable and meals I had were good........ Gardens are amazingly beautiful. Good atmosphere all round.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hettie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Hettie,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we are glad you had a pleasurable experience. We hope you chose to stay with us on your next travels to Kampala and look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night in May, water was brown, staff are rude and unhelpful. Rooms were basic and poorly cleaned. Facilities are ok and they do make a fine curry and pizza. Really disappointed by the diabolical customer service especially from the front desk

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thompa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your overall experience at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel. Indeed there were some issues with the water due to the heavy rains however our maintenance team did respond to this situation.

Staff training is one of the major focal point for Management and is something we consider to be paramount to the guest experience that is why we have embarked on an extensive training schedule for staff at all levels.

We are, and will continue to take action based on customer feedback so as to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay in Kampala's first and only International Brand Hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and we would appreciate the opportunity to provide a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing