We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room was fine however the tv did not work properly. I booked in at 5am however they charged me for the previous night and when I checked out at 3am when breakfast was not available or room service they charged me another full night. The service was not very good from the front of house team who all in all were a bit clueless. On xmas day I booked the quite expensive xmas lunch 2 drinks inclusive. The food was ok with a good selection. However when I ordered a glass of wine with my lunch the staff said the complimentary drinks were beer only? You would have thought I was Scrooge himself when I politely asked for the manager to ask for wine instead of beer???? OMG i was so glad to check out. On my return to Kampala 2 weeks later I cancelled my booking and stayed on the lake Chimpanzee Island which was great. However in the Sheraton the breakfast and breakfast team were very good!

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit tired. Test the TV etc before you unpack. Garden View is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDolphinGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    233
    181
    73
    32
See reviews for
16
35
39
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cehegin, Spain
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a four day business trip. Staff are really friendly,service is a little slow. You. Need to ask a couple of times for anything. Breakfast on the terrace at the back of the restaurant is great, location in town is really. Handy for most business clients. Rooms were ok,as previous comments bathrooms. Are a bit on the small side and. Need modernisation. F&B team worked hard and I noted both new menu and new FishRestaurant being introduced during my stay. Make sure you ask for a room that is not facing. Into the rear gardens or above. The restaurant if you do not like listening to the band playing. Not sure about the Chilean Wine evening on Mondays in Par Square, choice was one red and one white??

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

For the most part, the hotel was great. it offered all of the amenities: pool, sauna, nice gym, restaurants; it was clean, staff was great. There were two negatives: the internet connection was terrible, and there was no internet for an entire day. I would sometimes be able to get a weak connection in my room, but usually I had to go to the lobby and use one of their computers if I needed to get anything done. And, on the day when there was no connection, even the lobby computers didn't work. The other thing that I didn't like about the hotel was the water. My shower water came out brown every time I turned it on. After I let it run for a while it was fine. Additionally, the bathrooms were a little outdated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Fantastic Mediterranean food experiance on friday night at Sheraton's Paradise Grill. I brought a frew friends over for dinner a few fridays ago, and they where all amazed over the authentisity and fantastic taste of the great foods for all around the Mediterranean. Everyone wants to do it again; but now they are also opening a new restaurant next to the Paradise Grill; a seafood reatsurant. The prospects look fantastic... I cant waith to try it out...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

It may be slightly overpriced, but the location and breakfast buffet are worth it. Standard rooms are very average, just like any business hotel. Bathrooms are very small, but clean.

One drawback is the scarce power outlets in standard rooms. My room had one outlet that was easy to reach. When you have a laptop, phone, and a hair dryer, you prefer to have more than one outlet. Minor inconvenience, but totally manageable.

Overall, the delicious breakfast buffet balanced out all the drawbacks. Made to order eggs, a variety of breakfast pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, meats, and a barista service make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Old world Charm...but showing signs of aging. Property needs to be renovated.

Check in a VERY slow process....took over 15 minutes and as warned by fellow trip advisors, staff seemed least interested in attending to the guests.

Rooms large and decent but crying for refurbishment. In fact that goes for the entire property. Trust the hotel across the Road - Kampala Serena Hotel a newer property and much better facilities and at same rates. Would prefer staying there than at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjeevbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My recent two day stay at the Sheraton hotel in Kapala was very enjoyable. It has all the facilities required for a business trip including PCs for use on the hotel lobby with printing facilities and free wifi in the bedrooms. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and th food was delicious, excellent service and we were entertained both nights by live music. There was a huge buffet on the Friday night which looked excellent but we stuck to the a la carte menu. The breakfast served on the first floor was very nice with plenty of choice from the buffet. The only downside was the excessive noise from the bar area until gone 2am on the Friday night which would have been fine if I'd been on holiday. I would suggest business travellers avoid rooms overlooking or near the bar area if they need a good night's sleep. I will definitely do so if I'm lucky enough to have the opportunity to return to this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area to avoid the late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJones267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback & positive comments - We are indeed very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as having enjoyed our city (Kampala). Your positive comments shall indeed be passed on to the relevant Heads of Departments.
As a business traveler yourself, it is unfortunate that you were unaware, at check in, of the entertainment/noise from the bar. We do apologize for not having made you aware of this. However, now that you know, we shall indeed be only too pleased to warmly welcome you back in the possible future with a quiet room for a good night's sleep.
Thank you once again for your favorable comments - The Sheraton Kampala is proud!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#17 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Starwood EMEA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing