We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urgent Renovation needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Urgent Renovation needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Old world Charm...but showing signs of aging. Property needs to be renovated.

Check in a VERY slow process....took over 15 minutes and as warned by fellow trip advisors, staff seemed least interested in attending to the guests.

Rooms large and decent but crying for refurbishment. In fact that goes for the entire property. Trust the hotel across the Road - Kampala Serena Hotel a newer property and much better facilities and at same rates. Would prefer staying there than at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjeevbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    241
    183
    73
    34
See reviews for
18
35
39
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My recent two day stay at the Sheraton hotel in Kapala was very enjoyable. It has all the facilities required for a business trip including PCs for use on the hotel lobby with printing facilities and free wifi in the bedrooms. We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and th food was delicious, excellent service and we were entertained both nights by live music. There was a huge buffet on the Friday night which looked excellent but we stuck to the a la carte menu. The breakfast served on the first floor was very nice with plenty of choice from the buffet. The only downside was the excessive noise from the bar area until gone 2am on the Friday night which would have been fine if I'd been on holiday. I would suggest business travellers avoid rooms overlooking or near the bar area if they need a good night's sleep. I will definitely do so if I'm lucky enough to have the opportunity to return to this lovely city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar area to avoid the late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJones267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback & positive comments - We are indeed very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as having enjoyed our city (Kampala). Your positive comments shall indeed be passed on to the relevant Heads of Departments.
As a business traveler yourself, it is unfortunate that you were unaware, at check in, of the entertainment/noise from the bar. We do apologize for not having made you aware of this. However, now that you know, we shall indeed be only too pleased to warmly welcome you back in the possible future with a quiet room for a good night's sleep.
Thank you once again for your favorable comments - The Sheraton Kampala is proud!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good sized and very well equipped rooms. Although the bathrooms might benefit from an update the bed linen was crisp and white and the bed very comfy. Great to have a robe provided, and an iron and ironing board. As other guests have noted, do make sure you ask for a quiet room. Breakfast is good and dinner in the Grill was fine. Free wifi in the room is a bonus! The let-down - a surprising one - was how disinterested the reception staff were. They really didn't act as if they wanted to be there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback & positive comments - we are indeed happy to know that you were satisfied in the areas you commented on.
We are in the process of major refurbishments in many areas of the the Hotel which started beginning of last year & are still ongoing.
However, we are sorry to note your observation on our reception / front desk staff. Please be assured that your observation shall certainly be taken up with the relevant Head of Department to ensure that all our guests are met, greeted & treated with a warm welcome, enthusiasm & a smile on their faces, as it what our guests expect & is what we are known for.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Kampala in the possible future, with a great smile on our faces!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Sheraton Hotel with my group of 6 clients for a fishing trip and the hotel has very good entertainment, excellent food, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff is very friendly and the Manager Mr Chris Pollard helped us a lot with getting arround in the area, and gave us advise about fishing on the Nile river and Murchison falls (how to catch and release the Nile Perch) thank you Chris. On our way back from our fishing trip we spent one more night at Sheraton, the hotel arranged transport at 04:00am to take us to Entebbe to catch our flight to South Africa. A big thank you to the Manager and the staff of Sheraton for the professional hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor to avoid the noise of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback & your positive comments & compliments. We are indeed happy to know that you & your clients enjoyed your stay with the Sheraton Kampala Hotel & that you found all round satisfaction with us, as well as an enjoyable fishing trip on our Nile River at Uganda's popular tourist attraction, Murchison Falls. We are only too pleased that our General Manager, Chris Pollard, was able to guide & assist you & your group with some knowledge on our area & advice on your fishing trip - thank you for your appreciation :-)

We would like to warmly welcome you back in the possible near future & offer you the same satisfaction, quality service & memorable experiences that you left with.

Kind regards - Public Relations (Sheraton Kampala Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I remember the Sheraton being a Kampala fixture during my childhood, so I was glad to stay here and find it had been renovated. The room was clean and the room service and housekeeping service was good.

My only complaint would be the slow service at the restaurant, but this is something I've become accustomed to in Uganda so I don't stress out too much about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keishamaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good day to you!
Thank you very much for your positive compliments & constructive comments.
We are always happy to receive feedback, whether positive or negative, as it assists us in improving areas/services where necessary.
We are delighted that the Sheraton Kampala Hotel brings back some nostalgic & good memories during your childhood, what a connection! :-)
Yes, indeed we have made a major revamp/refurbishment of our classic rooms, but much more refurb & improvement planned in the very near future to.

Thank you for your positive feedback on our Room Service & Housekeeping - your comments shall be passed on to the relevant departments.

We do apologize for the slow service at the restaurant that you experienced. Although you say you are "accustomed" to 'Uganda time', this should not be accepted as the 'standard of norm' at the Sheraton Kampala just because we are in Uganda - we aim & strive to exceed expectations, not put ourselves on a 'level' - But, thank you all the same for your generous & kind sentiments. This shall be taken up with the department concerned.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you back at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went there for lunch and the food was really good, but the service very slow. Than we had a meeting in the business center and this was a disaster: there is no seclusion for the meting table that is more or less surrounded by pc internet stalls. So a bit caotic especially if some customers are loud on their phones...impossible to connect with your laptop to the wi-fi (in the hall it's feasible). The internet connection of the desktop available is extremely slow to a point that is hard to check the webmail!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review & comments - All of which are appreciated as they assist us in improving areas where necessary.
We are happy that you enjoyed your lunch, but do apologize for the slow service - This issue shall be passed on to the relevant department.
We apologize that your meeting in our Business Center was a disappointment to you & your colleagues. However, may I suggest that although the Business Center is not ideally intended for 'business meetings', we do have many other function/meeting rooms that are tailored specifically for such meetings - The function rooms come in a variety of capacity sizes where privacy, quiet & all necessary meeting amenities are available.
With regards to the Wi-Fi & internet speed, we have been having a few problems with our service providers, but I shall certainly pass on your comments to our IT Department.
Sheraton Kampala Hotel would like to thank you once again for your constructive comments & feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back in the possible near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is easy to see why this hotel has slipped down the ratings. It is a handsome building set in splendid gardens but inside it is a muddle. A gentle piano bar competes with a live band in a terrace nearby. The shops in the arcade are tatty and overpriced. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are more three star than top end four. The gym is grubby and the equipment old and broken. The changing rooms are dirty. Used towels lie on the floor. The tiling is cracked. The soap dispensers in the showers are empty. The main bar is like a pub in a provincial UK city centre.
But there are pluses. The staff are friendly, polite and professional. The management deal with (the frequent) complaints quickly and efficiently. The gardens are beautiful. The gym – grubby as it is – is open 24 hours a day. The pool is splendid.
As other guests have noted one side of the hotel overlooks a terrace, where live music is played nightly so that diners don’t have to speak to each other. There’s also a bar, where more loud music is played. In fact, there is a great deal of noise on the ground and first floors because the management wants to attract the city’s well off, party-loving set.
This is a mistake because this is a hotel, not a night club, and its business clientele come to work; they don’t want to join in, or listen to, these late night celebrations.
But the major nuisance comes from a hotel across the road, which runs an open air night club that pumps out deafening music until 4 am or later.
The staff at the Sheraton will always move guests from this side of the hotel if they have room.
However, if you plan to stay on Friday or Saturday and they cannot put you on the quieter side then I would urge out find another hotel - at least until this problem has been solved.
One final warning: The streets around the Sheraton are patrolled by tens of dozens of aggressive prostitutes and hustling taxi drivers so it is best not to go for a stroll after dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

we appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you value our location, the buidling, our professinal staff and our excellent pool.

We also noted your comments regarding the live music at our terrace and the noise at night. We receive very good feedback on our live music from both our inhouse and outside guests, however the responsible department head will discuss your remarks with the bands involved.

With regards to the noise at night; we are in discussions with the local authorities to stop this and we hope that soon this issue will be resolved.

As you mentioned yourself, Management is very much involved in guest complaints and we are always looking for a solution to solva any issue that may occur.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Starwood EMEA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing