We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at top as should be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not at top as should be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We went there for lunch and the food was really good, but the service very slow. Than we had a meeting in the business center and this was a disaster: there is no seclusion for the meting table that is more or less surrounded by pc internet stalls. So a bit caotic especially if some customers are loud on their phones...impossible to connect with your laptop to the wi-fi (in the hall it's feasible). The internet connection of the desktop available is extremely slow to a point that is hard to check the webmail!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsSKH, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review & comments - All of which are appreciated as they assist us in improving areas where necessary.
We are happy that you enjoyed your lunch, but do apologize for the slow service - This issue shall be passed on to the relevant department.
We apologize that your meeting in our Business Center was a disappointment to you & your colleagues. However, may I suggest that although the Business Center is not ideally intended for 'business meetings', we do have many other function/meeting rooms that are tailored specifically for such meetings - The function rooms come in a variety of capacity sizes where privacy, quiet & all necessary meeting amenities are available.
With regards to the Wi-Fi & internet speed, we have been having a few problems with our service providers, but I shall certainly pass on your comments to our IT Department.
Sheraton Kampala Hotel would like to thank you once again for your constructive comments & feedback & we look forward to welcoming you back in the possible near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    241
    182
    73
    33
See reviews for
18
35
39
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

It is easy to see why this hotel has slipped down the ratings. It is a handsome building set in splendid gardens but inside it is a muddle. A gentle piano bar competes with a live band in a terrace nearby. The shops in the arcade are tatty and overpriced. The rooms are tiny and the bathrooms are more three star than top end four. The gym is grubby and the equipment old and broken. The changing rooms are dirty. Used towels lie on the floor. The tiling is cracked. The soap dispensers in the showers are empty. The main bar is like a pub in a provincial UK city centre.
But there are pluses. The staff are friendly, polite and professional. The management deal with (the frequent) complaints quickly and efficiently. The gardens are beautiful. The gym – grubby as it is – is open 24 hours a day. The pool is splendid.
As other guests have noted one side of the hotel overlooks a terrace, where live music is played nightly so that diners don’t have to speak to each other. There’s also a bar, where more loud music is played. In fact, there is a great deal of noise on the ground and first floors because the management wants to attract the city’s well off, party-loving set.
This is a mistake because this is a hotel, not a night club, and its business clientele come to work; they don’t want to join in, or listen to, these late night celebrations.
But the major nuisance comes from a hotel across the road, which runs an open air night club that pumps out deafening music until 4 am or later.
The staff at the Sheraton will always move guests from this side of the hotel if they have room.
However, if you plan to stay on Friday or Saturday and they cannot put you on the quieter side then I would urge out find another hotel - at least until this problem has been solved.
One final warning: The streets around the Sheraton are patrolled by tens of dozens of aggressive prostitutes and hustling taxi drivers so it is best not to go for a stroll after dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Afternoon,

we appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you value our location, the buidling, our professinal staff and our excellent pool.

We also noted your comments regarding the live music at our terrace and the noise at night. We receive very good feedback on our live music from both our inhouse and outside guests, however the responsible department head will discuss your remarks with the bands involved.

With regards to the noise at night; we are in discussions with the local authorities to stop this and we hope that soon this issue will be resolved.

As you mentioned yourself, Management is very much involved in guest complaints and we are always looking for a solution to solva any issue that may occur.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Unfortunately Kampala lacks of business hotels. Serena hotel opened some 6 years ago is really the best hotel in the city. However, Serena management are very aware of the lack of competition, and decided to charge ridiculous amount of money for what I call nice but not exceptional rooms.

So unless you are ready to pay 350 USD+ for a room, then you are left with the second acceptable option in Kampala .." The Sheraton".

The rooms at the Sheraton are okay, fairly clean , but to be honest a bit depressing. The bathrooms need work, and the fixtures and fittings are really worn down.

Breakfast is okay, you have various options but again keep your expectations low and you will be fine.

A new Hilton was suppose to open its doors last December, then announced its opening in March 2013. Was in kampala last week and the hotel is still not ready. I guess we all have to wait a bit longer.

Room Tip: Negotiate your rate .. you should not pay more than 230 USD a night including breakfast for a
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstravelerdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your feedback and your kind words.

Indeed, Sheraton is not overpriced as are other hotels in the city. Please be advised that the earlier you book, the lower your rate will be.

We are constantly upgrading our product and this includes the bathrooms on specific floors.
You may notice the difference during your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in the Sheraton while on business trip in Kampala in March 2013. Overall a pleasant experience. Hotel is well located within walking distance to two malls for instance.The hotel offers the amenities you would expect from a Sheraton: good bed with nice linens, clean bathroom, robe and slippers, hairdryer and good wi-fi for free. Service was ok. I first had a room on top of the bar/restaurant overlooking the garden and had to change to the other side and higher floor due to noise from the live band. Room service menu is limited. Breakfast buffet is ok, but pales in comparison with Serena hotel! Hotel has a shuttle service to airport, expensive but reliable. Pool area is not so inviting and very small and there is nowhere to sit in the garden! Room could use a bit more light at night time, particularly the desk area is a bit dark. This is not a luxurious experience but a dependable standard and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher level and on the other side from the garden; the live band can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icefloat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your feedback and are happy you were happy with us!

Your comment regarding the noise from accross the road is discussed with the local authorities and we will find a solution very soon.

The remark with regards to more light in the room is a valid one; we are ordering additional standing lamps to be placed in all rooms.

Best regards and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hote is an Oasis at Kampala.
Although I have not tested any other hotels in Uganda from my experience from many hotels in East Africa, I must say the this Sheraton stands out in a positive way.

Although the main building is a bit old, spending time at all commona areas (reception, cafes, restaurants, gym) is very relaxing and enjoying. The outer areas of the hotel are also loveable and the rooms are well spaced.

If I need to complaint about something that would be the bathrooms which are not well renewed or decorated.
Breakfast is ok and food just ok - it could be better to tell you the truth.

In general I was very satisifed, staying there three days in a business trip.
Naturally this hotel is very expensive for what they offer as all similar hotels in Africa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtsint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments; it boosts our morale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

First time I stayed at the Sheraton was in 1996, had Tripadvisor existed then I would have given the hotel an overall 'good'.
Since then I made several trips to the country, my most recent one just before Easter.
The hotel certainly isn't the most modern or luxurious but in my opinion it has kept its original identity while at the same time keeping it in tune with developments of the country and the city. The overall impression is one of a well maintained building, beautiful grounds, great pool and a pleasant outside terrace to have a meal and/or a drink. The room comfortable and clean as ever. Room service fast and pleasant, breakfast served in a pleasant environment with all a person needs in the morning.
Most of all though, I love the attitude of the staff in every department of the hotel. A warm greeting, wonderful smile, great conversation and service to match.
Over time some keeping up will certainly be needed, keeping up with the country's pace. As long as the warm welcoming atmosphere is maintained I will be a happy returning guest. By the way, wifi and Internet speed better than in a lot of places on the continent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janaalt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

for someone to say "like coming home" it means you really enjoyed all of it and we were able to provide a warm and cosy atmosphere, like home.

Thanks for the comments and se you again soon in Sheraton Kampala HOME.

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very good hotel for business visits. Not a hotel for visitors looking value for money. Located in centre place with easy approach to business centre. Excellent facilities to conduct business meeting / seminars. Selection of Indian dish particulary vegetarian is limited

Room Tip: Higher floors with room opening towards the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks so much for your positive comments.
Also, we just hired a Indian Chef; he will definately boost our Indian Offerings very soon.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing