We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kampala Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kampala Sheraton Hotel to your Saves list
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Kampala
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Kampala Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is fairly big with all the facilities you would expect. Fairly nice place. It needed a little bit of renovation at the time I was there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great.
The other big advantage of the hotel was the location. You could get to the city center or any mall within 10 mins walk.
Good place to stay in but a little bit on the expensive side for what you do get.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thanks for your remarks and good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Yes indeed, our location is the best in town and is highly valued by all our customers.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I think the hotel was overpriced for what was provided. I paid over 200 US a night and the room was old and outdated, it was small, the bathroom was tiny and the detailing of the room wasnt up to scratch. Small details like cracked tiles, crooked handrails, discoloured paint etc made the place feel dingy.

Pool seemed old and a bit unclean and bar staff were slow and service.

Being a well named hotel it has the elusion of being upmarket, and in Kampala it probably is, however if i were to return to the city i would stay at a more African hotel/guest house that might not have a huge pool but is luxury for 80 dollars a night. - I hear the Red Chilli is a good place.

Staff were very friendly and hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Libby,

thanks for your feedback.

For your information: we are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to remove those scratches and patches of old paint you found in your room.

We are happy that the renovation of our pool is complete and is now the best pool in town again.

Feel free to contact me personally on your next vist (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com) and I will make sure you will have an unforgettable stay at a very affordable rate.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Lovely staff, great pizza oven, had a freshly baked pizza every day! That good. Well designed room with plenty of space, comfy bed. Nice seating area,shame about table with a hole designed in the middle! Modern bathroom with plenty of good quality " goodies". Need to keep the singing level down by the outside dining, but great to be able to just get up and dance in between courses.

The only let down is the pool, but it seems to be in the process of modernization. Also a good gym with plenty of modern usable equipment, with open doors for fresh air. Beautiful grounds and gardens. Worth the drive from ebb airport.

Room Tip: We were on the 11 floor Starwood preferred guest floor. Good rooms with balconies. I would imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comments and our Chef is excited to hear that you enjoy the wood-fired oven that makes the best Italian Pizza's in town.

Yes, the pool did get a complete makeover, including new tiling and is now again up to the standard where it belongs.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to Kampala.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As others had said, the ground was beautiful and well maintained.

The staff at the reception was friendly. We had specifically asked for a refurbished room after reading the reviews on here.

The room was nice with comfortable beds and more modern decor. However, the bathroom was still the old style tall bath tub with nylon shower curtain. After couple hours into the stay, we realized that the A/C wasn't working and the room was getting warm. We informed front desk and the maintenance team came later. We asked them to fix the problem while we were out touring the city. We came back in the evening, and the A/C was still the same, and the room was warmer than outside. We complained again as it was not acceptable to leave the problem the way it was without a solution or an explanation. Finally they agreed to let us change room. The AC in the second room was working initially, but that did not last long either. A few hours later in the middle of the night, we were woken up by the airlessness inside the room, and had no choice but to open the balcony doors as the room was getting really stuffy and warm inside.

Shower in bathtub with curtains should be a thing of the past for 5* hotels! At least some hotels which still utilize bathtubs are thoughtful enough to use the U-shaped rod to hang the curtain to give a wider space. For some reason, it was exceptionally narrow inside this bathtub shower and while trying to take a shower, the curtain continued to stick to the body which made washing difficult and feeling gross.

Overall, we didn't get a good night sleep and disappointed with the responses and actions regarding the malfunctioned AC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthworm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Couple,

we appreciate your feedback as it is with this feedback that we can improve on our product and services. Good to read that you enjoyed our grounds and bedroom.

We have noted your comments about the malfunctioning of the AC and the shower curtain in the bathtub.

If an AC malfunctions it should be fixed and we apologise that this was not done instantly. We have a duty technician on duty 24 hours per day for these quick fixes.

With regards to the shower curtain; half of our upgraded rooms are quipped with walk-in showers hence we suggest that on your next visit you ask for one of those rooms. In addition, we are considering curved shower rods that will give a more space when taking a shower.

Again, we appreciate your feedback.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great location, beautiful grounds, nice pool. Nice and clean lobby. Comfortable rooms with decent, albeit generic furniture. Small bathrooms with old, run down fixtures. Good well stocked breakfast, good and professional services. Overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Good Morning,

Good to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! Hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This used to be the only choice in Kampala in the early 90s for a serious business hotel, but no longer. The rooms are a little cramped though now recently refurbished. Breakfast ok, though not special. Still only three lifts (it's a tall building) and slow. You sense the staff know they are in a fading place - they never appear cheerful.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking time to review us and we apologise for not living up to your expectations. Over the past 18 months, we have refubished, revamped and renovated many area's of the hotel and many more are yet to come.

We can see a steady growth in our numbers and our market share is also growing steadily. This tells us we are doing somthing right.

With regards to the elevators, as we speak a team from Otis headoffice in France is carrying out complicated technical repairs. After they have finished next week, all elevators will run without any issues and no more delays will appear.

Kindly visit us during your next stay in Kampala and we are sure you will be impressed on your 2nd visit.

Best regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is the standard chain hotel experience in Africa. The hotel was once the nicest location in Kampala has since deteriorated. The grounds and facilities are quite dated and it's obvious there's been years of wear and tear that hasn't been addressed. The rooms are adequate - clean with new sheets and mattresses and good sound proofing which made for a good nights rest. The real let down was the food. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and well stocked with a range of local ingredients and standard euro-fare breakfast items. Dinner was another matter entirely. Be care what you order on the menu as some items are just not worth it. The tandoori chick was lovely with nice spices but severely undercooked. Pizzas are a good size and quite tasty given the imported cheese. But stay clear of the deserts! Each one is just plain awful. Cakes were too dry and the cheesecake tasted like it was made from a package. Service is okay-sih and during peak hours can be very slow. All of these factors make the stay just an average business trip experience. If come back to Kampala I will certainly look for one of the smaller more personalized hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmadisong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom v, Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

we appreciate your feedback!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our new sheets and mattresses which gave you a good night's sleep.

Breakfast is complimented often and we take great pride in offering the best breakfast buffet in East Africa.

Your issues with regards to your dinner experience have been forwarded to the responsible departments and they are working hard to improve on the mentioned issues.

Kindly stay with us on your next visit and we are sure you will be impressed with our restauarnt offerings.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 81 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#18 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Le Petit Village
Hotel Le Petit Village
#12 of 81 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampala Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kampala Sheraton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities.Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the Central Business District area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort.Our well-equipped Fitness Centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities-including a Grand Ballroom-with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available.Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am.Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kampala Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing