We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Kampala” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Kampala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sheraton is an ideal place to stay in Kampala if you are on business. The rooms are a little dated, but are clean and provide plenty of space. The bathrooms really need to be updated to modern standards.

The service is very good, and the choice of where to dine is superb. Food is very good and the breakfast offers everything you need to get the work day done. The only issues i have is the noise from the outside area where you hear the music going onto the late night. Having to wake at 3am to get a flight, this can be a little annoying. Also the Safe was not bolted to the wall which means anyone could walk away with your belongings.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not facing the outside area due to the noise that can be heard late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ic005qx00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your positive comments towards our hotel and glad to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage venue's.

As mentioned before, the bathrooms in the classic are planned to be renovated in 2013. We have already finished the mock-up room and our guests are very positive about it. All bedrooms were done in 2012 and we just could not finish the bathrooms as well hence we shall do them in 2013.

Regards,
Tom van Tuijl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    233
    181
    73
    32
See reviews for
16
35
39
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Based on feedback that I got on trip advisor, I actually picked the Sheraton mostly because of the location. I have to admit that all the reviews were correct to say that the location is good for the business person.
I was able to attend most of my business meetings without worrying about traffic.
The hotel os also quite good and meets my needs for a 3 day visit. The service and staff are very good.
I recommend this hotel to other travellers also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth-Borges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Elisabeth,

thanks for your positive feedback and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate your recommendations.

Thank You
Team Sheraton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lobby and grounds were impressive, but my room was a bit dated. Bathroom in particular would get rated a 2 out of 5. Service was extremely good, everyone always very helpful and friendly. Was there for business and in meetings all day. Evenings were nice outside the bar area, but it was a bit loud when the band was playing unless you moved away from the music.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Paul,

we appreciate your feedback. Nice to hear that you rates us "extremely good, everyone always very helpful and friendly" We do spend a lot of time on training hence once in a while it is good to hear that we are doing the right thing.

We have a renovation planned for the bathrooms in our classic rooms. After renovating all the bedrooms, in 2013 the bathrooms will be given a facelift.

Thank You,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

A hotel which really looks after you as a Guest.
the Breakfast is always a goods sign of a well managed Hotel, and this one certainly has a good one. Always clean and efficient. Book in advance as there is a big demand for this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Dorian,

thanks for your compliments. We all work hard every day to make sure all our guests are as happy as you are with us. We know that sometimes we make mistakes and it is particularly nice to read the positive comments.

Thanks again,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liege Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is coming old.
Service outside is not good as sheraton places.
I was facing many times placing an order and nothing happens. Nobody cames back with my order.
Breakfast is really great. Different juices, cooking egs, fresh fruits, pastery, ...... Everything you need is there.
Rooms are great but are coming old.
I ve been there for the first time in 2006 and nothing has been changed a part the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boulou0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

your comments are appreciated.

I was surprised to hear that you find the hotel "becoming old." Over the past 12 months, we have spend an enormous amount of money on upgrading our facilities, including rooms, restaurants and other public area's. If you would be able to provide me with your roomnumber, that would be appreciated.

Your positive and negative comments regarding the service and food in our restauarnts have been forwarded to the food and beverage manager, who will look into this and make sure on your next stay service will fast.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an awful advertisement for Sheraton. On arrival room was not ready till 5.15 pm. So waited in the lobby for over an hour. Got upgraded to a Club room. If I had to pay Club room prices I would be very upset.

The room is small, the bathroom tiny. The shower is narrow with little pressure. The room is not sound proofed, and lighting is very inadequate. The room was dark, with all lights switched on. My safe did not work, the TV was very grainy and picture of poor quality. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Roadwarrior.

Thanks for giving us your feedback.

We do apologize again for the late check-in. On the days you stayed, the hotel was running a occupancy of 100% and we had challenges in availing the rooms on time.

We are working on a new lightning plan for our Club Rooms to make sure they provide adequate lightning at all times.

Our engineering department will recheck all safes and TV's to make sure we fix the ones which have a problem.

Kindly request that on your next visit, you contact me directly so we make sure you get the best room in the hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback!

regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Away from the chaos of Kampala is the Sheraton; a haven of Ugandan hospitality. This hotel is a bit dated and though I had a very nice room (a bit tired perhaps) the bathroom was really below par - shower head was drunk, the sink tap was broken and the air con was very emotional. That said I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton, the staff were delightful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great with a couple of options on the venue and nightly entertainment also. There is a very good gym but you will struggle with the heat since there is no air con and personally it was tough going on some of the cardio equipment. The pool was fine too though "refreshing" it served me well plus also a great steam and sauna room too. It's easy to be critical of any hotel but five minutes from the front door you can get a real appreciation of how lucky you are to be staying in the Sheraton. The security is reassuring and I can't imagine why you would not enjoy your stay here. It does seem that it is a popular hotel for the international companies plus also the Internet works quite well, which helps on the Skype etc. You will be absolutely fine here, it’s a good hotel and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
"A haven of Ugandan Hospitality" That's a description we quite like and are proud of. Thanks!

Also nice to hear that you enjoyed all the areas of the hotel and yes: all international companies in Kampala and Uganda nowadays prefer Sheraton because it's lively but at the same time offers clean, quiet rooms with good Internet Access.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.6 mi away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#17 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Starwood EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing