We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (914)
Filter reviews
914 results
Traveler rating
185
366
223
88
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
366
223
88
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeequator baran upgradebit datedbusiness tripexecutive roomnice poolenjoyed my staygymsecurityafricatrainersweekends
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 914 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Lobby and grounds were impressive, but my room was a bit dated. Bathroom in particular would get rated a 2 out of 5. Service was extremely good, everyone always very helpful and friendly. Was there for business and in meetings all day. Evenings were nice outside the bar area, but it was a bit loud when the band was playing unless you moved away from the music.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Paul,

we appreciate your feedback. Nice to hear that you rates us "extremely good, everyone always very helpful and friendly" We do spend a lot of time on training hence once in a while it is good to hear that we are doing the right thing.

We have a renovation planned for the bathrooms in our classic rooms. After renovating all the bedrooms, in 2013 the bathrooms will be given a facelift.

Thank You,
Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A hotel which really looks after you as a Guest.
the Breakfast is always a goods sign of a well managed Hotel, and this one certainly has a good one. Always clean and efficient. Book in advance as there is a big demand for this Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorianZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Dorian,

thanks for your compliments. We all work hard every day to make sure all our guests are as happy as you are with us. We know that sometimes we make mistakes and it is particularly nice to read the positive comments.

Thanks again,

Tom van Tuijl
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is coming old.
Service outside is not good as sheraton places.
I was facing many times placing an order and nothing happens. Nobody cames back with my order.
Breakfast is really great. Different juices, cooking egs, fresh fruits, pastery, ...... Everything you need is there.
Rooms are great but are coming old.
I ve been there for the first time in 2006 and nothing has been changed a part the bar downstairs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boulou0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

your comments are appreciated.

I was surprised to hear that you find the hotel "becoming old." Over the past 12 months, we have spend an enormous amount of money on upgrading our facilities, including rooms, restaurants and other public area's. If you would be able to provide me with your roomnumber, that would be appreciated.

Your positive and negative comments regarding the service and food in our restauarnts have been forwarded to the food and beverage manager, who will look into this and make sure on your next stay service will fast.

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an awful advertisement for Sheraton. On arrival room was not ready till 5.15 pm. So waited in the lobby for over an hour. Got upgraded to a Club room. If I had to pay Club room prices I would be very upset.

The room is small, the bathroom tiny. The shower is narrow with little pressure. The room is not sound proofed, and lighting is very inadequate. The room was dark, with all lights switched on. My safe did not work, the TV was very grainy and picture of poor quality. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Roadwarrior.

Thanks for giving us your feedback.

We do apologize again for the late check-in. On the days you stayed, the hotel was running a occupancy of 100% and we had challenges in availing the rooms on time.

We are working on a new lightning plan for our Club Rooms to make sure they provide adequate lightning at all times.

Our engineering department will recheck all safes and TV's to make sure we fix the ones which have a problem.

Kindly request that on your next visit, you contact me directly so we make sure you get the best room in the hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback!

regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Away from the chaos of Kampala is the Sheraton; a haven of Ugandan hospitality. This hotel is a bit dated and though I had a very nice room (a bit tired perhaps) the bathroom was really below par - shower head was drunk, the sink tap was broken and the air con was very emotional. That said I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton, the staff were delightful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great with a couple of options on the venue and nightly entertainment also. There is a very good gym but you will struggle with the heat since there is no air con and personally it was tough going on some of the cardio equipment. The pool was fine too though "refreshing" it served me well plus also a great steam and sauna room too. It's easy to be critical of any hotel but five minutes from the front door you can get a real appreciation of how lucky you are to be staying in the Sheraton. The security is reassuring and I can't imagine why you would not enjoy your stay here. It does seem that it is a popular hotel for the international companies plus also the Internet works quite well, which helps on the Skype etc. You will be absolutely fine here, it’s a good hotel and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

"A haven of Ugandan Hospitality" That's a description we quite like and are proud of. Thanks!

Also nice to hear that you enjoyed all the areas of the hotel and yes: all international companies in Kampala and Uganda nowadays prefer Sheraton because it's lively but at the same time offers clean, quiet rooms with good Internet Access.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews