We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Humura Resorts(Kampala)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$714
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
$85
$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
176
356
221
86
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
356
221
86
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeequator baran upgradebit datedbusiness tripexecutive roomnice poolenjoyed my staygymsecurityafricatrainersweekends
Filter
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 890 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an awful advertisement for Sheraton. On arrival room was not ready till 5.15 pm. So waited in the lobby for over an hour. Got upgraded to a Club room. If I had to pay Club room prices I would be very upset.

The room is small, the bathroom tiny. The shower is narrow with little pressure. The room is not sound proofed, and lighting is very inadequate. The room was dark, with all lights switched on. My safe did not work, the TV was very grainy and picture of poor quality. The bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Roadwarrior.

Thanks for giving us your feedback.

We do apologize again for the late check-in. On the days you stayed, the hotel was running a occupancy of 100% and we had challenges in availing the rooms on time.

We are working on a new lightning plan for our Club Rooms to make sure they provide adequate lightning at all times.

Our engineering department will recheck all safes and TV's to make sure we fix the ones which have a problem.

Kindly request that on your next visit, you contact me directly so we make sure you get the best room in the hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback!

regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Away from the chaos of Kampala is the Sheraton; a haven of Ugandan hospitality. This hotel is a bit dated and though I had a very nice room (a bit tired perhaps) the bathroom was really below par - shower head was drunk, the sink tap was broken and the air con was very emotional. That said I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton, the staff were delightful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great with a couple of options on the venue and nightly entertainment also. There is a very good gym but you will struggle with the heat since there is no air con and personally it was tough going on some of the cardio equipment. The pool was fine too though "refreshing" it served me well plus also a great steam and sauna room too. It's easy to be critical of any hotel but five minutes from the front door you can get a real appreciation of how lucky you are to be staying in the Sheraton. The security is reassuring and I can't imagine why you would not enjoy your stay here. It does seem that it is a popular hotel for the international companies plus also the Internet works quite well, which helps on the Skype etc. You will be absolutely fine here, it’s a good hotel and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

"A haven of Ugandan Hospitality" That's a description we quite like and are proud of. Thanks!

Also nice to hear that you enjoyed all the areas of the hotel and yes: all international companies in Kampala and Uganda nowadays prefer Sheraton because it's lively but at the same time offers clean, quiet rooms with good Internet Access.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff are friendly, the place is clean what more can you ask for?

The food on the terrace was great where in the first floor restaurant was only OK. The breakfast catered for everyone having a large selection of dishes. I found it strange the waitress in the piano bar only had a limited knowledge if drinks. Ordering anything like a Tequila Sunrise or Manhattan and she was completely lost. Visiting one of the other bars and this was not an issue.

The grounds were first class and great for an afternoon or early evening walk. The hotel location was within a few minutes walk of the centre of Kampala so again good for a walk. One down point was it was very expense for Kampala but what do you expect for a western hotel in East Africa?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Rob,

thanks so much for your many compliments. We will make sure that the waitresses in Park Square receive some training on cocktails.

With regards to the pricing: it may surprise you but as a matter of fact many expenses are very high in Kampala (think utilities and fuel) and as quite a few items are not available, we import many items, which brings up the price (import taxes, transport) etc. hence we are forced to charge Western Prices.

Hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Thanks,
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great staff, professional and friendly without being intrusive.
Fresh local food - good breakfast, average dinner.
Ambience - average, slightly faded decor, great gardens, good music, reasonable business facilities
Internet access pretty reliable, though a little slow,
Rooms clean, reasonably spacious, good shower, noisy aircon though no worse than other chain hotels, although poor temperature / speed controls.

Room Tip: Business levels 9 & 10 are pretty good, I hear from colleagues that 11th is better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Donal,

we appreciate your feedback and your positive comments about our professional staff, excellent local food, nice gardens, clean rooms and interesting entertainment.

Just to advise you that we just extended our dinner with a new wood fired pizza oven and a Tandoori section. Every Friday nights we do a Mediterranean Evening which is very popular.

Please visit any of these on your next trip.

Thanks,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A Kampala landmark, this venerable and convenient hotel is full of very warm, helpful, experienced staff. Service is however slow, and the old elevators are frequently breaking down. Rooms are well appointed, but cheap plastic toilet seats and sub-standard tiling and fixtures really detract from the bathrooms. Weekend nights can be VERY noisy if you have a room facing the city center (compensated a little by great views on that side of the hotel). Not as flash as some of its more glamorous, newer rivals, but it gets high marks for authenticity and staying power. Now - if only they'd repair the once beautiful garden fountains (instead of filling them with dirt), the place might approach its faded elegance again...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Chloe,

we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We have upgraded all our Classic Rooms in 2012 which included new carpets, ceilings, furniture etc.

In 2013, we will renovate the bathrooms in all these rooms, including new tiling and new fittings.

The fountain was brought back to life earlier this year and I promise it will work on your next visit; it truly is a landmark for our hotel and the whole of Kampala.

Thanks for your feedback,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews