We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Away from the chaos of Kampala is the Sheraton; a haven of Ugandan hospitality. This hotel is a bit dated and though I had a very nice room (a bit tired perhaps) the bathroom was really below par - shower head was drunk, the sink tap was broken and the air con was very emotional. That said I enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton, the staff were delightful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was great with a couple of options on the venue and nightly entertainment also. There is a very good gym but you will struggle with the heat since there is no air con and personally it was tough going on some of the cardio equipment. The pool was fine too though "refreshing" it served me well plus also a great steam and sauna room too. It's easy to be critical of any hotel but five minutes from the front door you can get a real appreciation of how lucky you are to be staying in the Sheraton. The security is reassuring and I can't imagine why you would not enjoy your stay here. It does seem that it is a popular hotel for the international companies plus also the Internet works quite well, which helps on the Skype etc. You will be absolutely fine here, it’s a good hotel and the staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
"A haven of Ugandan Hospitality" That's a description we quite like and are proud of. Thanks!

Also nice to hear that you enjoyed all the areas of the hotel and yes: all international companies in Kampala and Uganda nowadays prefer Sheraton because it's lively but at the same time offers clean, quiet rooms with good Internet Access.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    270
    192
    76
    36
See reviews for
18
35
43
534
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff are friendly, the place is clean what more can you ask for?

The food on the terrace was great where in the first floor restaurant was only OK. The breakfast catered for everyone having a large selection of dishes. I found it strange the waitress in the piano bar only had a limited knowledge if drinks. Ordering anything like a Tequila Sunrise or Manhattan and she was completely lost. Visiting one of the other bars and this was not an issue.

The grounds were first class and great for an afternoon or early evening walk. The hotel location was within a few minutes walk of the centre of Kampala so again good for a walk. One down point was it was very expense for Kampala but what do you expect for a western hotel in East Africa?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Rob,

thanks so much for your many compliments. We will make sure that the waitresses in Park Square receive some training on cocktails.

With regards to the pricing: it may surprise you but as a matter of fact many expenses are very high in Kampala (think utilities and fuel) and as quite a few items are not available, we import many items, which brings up the price (import taxes, transport) etc. hence we are forced to charge Western Prices.

Hope to see you again soon in our hotel.

Thanks,
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great staff, professional and friendly without being intrusive.
Fresh local food - good breakfast, average dinner.
Ambience - average, slightly faded decor, great gardens, good music, reasonable business facilities
Internet access pretty reliable, though a little slow,
Rooms clean, reasonably spacious, good shower, noisy aircon though no worse than other chain hotels, although poor temperature / speed controls.

Room Tip: Business levels 9 & 10 are pretty good, I hear from colleagues that 11th is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Donal,

we appreciate your feedback and your positive comments about our professional staff, excellent local food, nice gardens, clean rooms and interesting entertainment.

Just to advise you that we just extended our dinner with a new wood fired pizza oven and a Tandoori section. Every Friday nights we do a Mediterranean Evening which is very popular.

Please visit any of these on your next trip.

Thanks,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

A Kampala landmark, this venerable and convenient hotel is full of very warm, helpful, experienced staff. Service is however slow, and the old elevators are frequently breaking down. Rooms are well appointed, but cheap plastic toilet seats and sub-standard tiling and fixtures really detract from the bathrooms. Weekend nights can be VERY noisy if you have a room facing the city center (compensated a little by great views on that side of the hotel). Not as flash as some of its more glamorous, newer rivals, but it gets high marks for authenticity and staying power. Now - if only they'd repair the once beautiful garden fountains (instead of filling them with dirt), the place might approach its faded elegance again...

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Chloe,

we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We have upgraded all our Classic Rooms in 2012 which included new carpets, ceilings, furniture etc.

In 2013, we will renovate the bathrooms in all these rooms, including new tiling and new fittings.

The fountain was brought back to life earlier this year and I promise it will work on your next visit; it truly is a landmark for our hotel and the whole of Kampala.

Thanks for your feedback,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sheraton Kampala is one of the best hotels in East Africa, when you are in the hotel and you book the upper rooms you can see the whole of kampala, and they have a 24 hour open resturant and i disco , i reall loved the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oyugidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello Oyugidor,

those comments are the comments that make us happy and motivate us to work even harder!

Thanks, also on behalf of all our associates.

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sulpice, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Sheraton Kampala is ideally situated near the centre, has very nice gardens and a very attentive and helpful staff. The restaurant is only reasonable.
Two points against it - if you are a smoker,you must take a room on the more expensive executive floor and every time you use the business centre you come away with viruses in your memory stick. Pity - other wise it is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyonette939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Lyonette,

Nice to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff and gardens. We have just extended our Paradise Restaurant and now offer Italian Pizaa's from the wood fired oven and Tandoori.

We have informed our IT-department about the virus issue in the Business Center and they will update and scan all computers, to make sure they will be virus free on your next visit.

Thanks,
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed this hotel twice now. The location of the Hotel is excellent, however, if you spend 245USD, sorry to say Sharaton Kampala is not worth for it. Regular rooms are poorly maintained and old everywhere, except beds! Beds were pretty comfortable and I had a good sleep! That was 4 star! Room service food was also good, 4 star! Swimming pool, water was very clean and big, but water was bit cold! 3 star! Maintenance of the room, 1 star. However, if you stay top three floor which you have to pay a bit more, about 280USD? that was very good! :) Staff at the reception (woman) was not friendly on that particular day when I arrived. Its a Sharaton, but I did not find the value there. It's a pity. Well, that will be your turn and would like to hear what you think.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAIROBIjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Good Evening,

thanks for your response. Good to hear that you liked our beds, room service and pool. We have just finished a full renovation on our 112 classic rooms and hence I am surprised to hear that your room was not up to our and your standards. We would love to know which room you were in and what the problems were.

Please contact us directly for your future bookings and we will make sure that your next experience is the best you ever had with Sheraton. (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com)

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#15 of 101 in Kampala
250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing