We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveler rating
186
366
223
88
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
366
223
88
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungeequator baran upgradebit datedbusiness tripexecutive roomnice poolenjoyed my staygymsecurityafricatrainersweekends
Filter
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 915 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great staff, professional and friendly without being intrusive.
Fresh local food - good breakfast, average dinner.
Ambience - average, slightly faded decor, great gardens, good music, reasonable business facilities
Internet access pretty reliable, though a little slow,
Rooms clean, reasonably spacious, good shower, noisy aircon though no worse than other chain hotels, although poor temperature / speed controls.

Room Tip: Business levels 9 & 10 are pretty good, I hear from colleagues that 11th is better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Donal,

we appreciate your feedback and your positive comments about our professional staff, excellent local food, nice gardens, clean rooms and interesting entertainment.

Just to advise you that we just extended our dinner with a new wood fired pizza oven and a Tandoori section. Every Friday nights we do a Mediterranean Evening which is very popular.

Please visit any of these on your next trip.

Thanks,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A Kampala landmark, this venerable and convenient hotel is full of very warm, helpful, experienced staff. Service is however slow, and the old elevators are frequently breaking down. Rooms are well appointed, but cheap plastic toilet seats and sub-standard tiling and fixtures really detract from the bathrooms. Weekend nights can be VERY noisy if you have a room facing the city center (compensated a little by great views on that side of the hotel). Not as flash as some of its more glamorous, newer rivals, but it gets high marks for authenticity and staying power. Now - if only they'd repair the once beautiful garden fountains (instead of filling them with dirt), the place might approach its faded elegance again...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Chloe,

we appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel and staff. We have upgraded all our Classic Rooms in 2012 which included new carpets, ceilings, furniture etc.

In 2013, we will renovate the bathrooms in all these rooms, including new tiling and new fittings.

The fountain was brought back to life earlier this year and I promise it will work on your next visit; it truly is a landmark for our hotel and the whole of Kampala.

Thanks for your feedback,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Sheraton Kampala is one of the best hotels in East Africa, when you are in the hotel and you book the upper rooms you can see the whole of kampala, and they have a 24 hour open resturant and i disco , i reall loved the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oyugidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hello Oyugidor,

those comments are the comments that make us happy and motivate us to work even harder!

Thanks, also on behalf of all our associates.

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Sheraton Kampala is ideally situated near the centre, has very nice gardens and a very attentive and helpful staff. The restaurant is only reasonable.
Two points against it - if you are a smoker,you must take a room on the more expensive executive floor and every time you use the business centre you come away with viruses in your memory stick. Pity - other wise it is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyonette939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Lyonette,

Nice to hear that you enjoyed our helpful staff and gardens. We have just extended our Paradise Restaurant and now offer Italian Pizaa's from the wood fired oven and Tandoori.

We have informed our IT-department about the virus issue in the Business Center and they will update and scan all computers, to make sure they will be virus free on your next visit.

Thanks,
Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed this hotel twice now. The location of the Hotel is excellent, however, if you spend 245USD, sorry to say Sharaton Kampala is not worth for it. Regular rooms are poorly maintained and old everywhere, except beds! Beds were pretty comfortable and I had a good sleep! That was 4 star! Room service food was also good, 4 star! Swimming pool, water was very clean and big, but water was bit cold! 3 star! Maintenance of the room, 1 star. However, if you stay top three floor which you have to pay a bit more, about 280USD? that was very good! :) Staff at the reception (woman) was not friendly on that particular day when I arrived. Its a Sharaton, but I did not find the value there. It's a pity. Well, that will be your turn and would like to hear what you think.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAIROBIjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Good Evening,

thanks for your response. Good to hear that you liked our beds, room service and pool. We have just finished a full renovation on our 112 classic rooms and hence I am surprised to hear that your room was not up to our and your standards. We would love to know which room you were in and what the problems were.

Please contact us directly for your future bookings and we will make sure that your next experience is the best you ever had with Sheraton. (tom.vantuijl@sheraton.com)

Best regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews