We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what does a 5 star mean in uganda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Kampala
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“what does a 5 star mean in uganda”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

want to enter the international bubble of global living in uganda - this place claims to provide it but the outside just creeps in - i gave average since the staff helped and did do the numerous issues in my room - but 2.5 star, 3 max - nothing in mini-bar; light gone in entrance to room; switch on air con broken; forgot to clean the room; only movie channel provided off local network does not work; tissue box on bathroom wall falls off, shower head housed in broken attachment so u cant direct the water - I mean ok, this is uganda, etc. but mayber the competition will make them step up - as I said nice people but not sure I needed to manage all that in one room in 2 days!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We do appreciate. Nice to read that our staff was helpfull and worked hand in hand to solve the problems that occurred in your room. Please be advised that we will start refurbishing the hotel rooms in the hotel in the beginning of January 2012. This willinclude both bathrooms and bedrooms as well as soundproofing of all rooms.

We do hope to see you again in 2012.

Thank You
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    274
    195
    76
    37
See reviews for
18
35
43
548
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Sheraton Kampala has the advantage of 1. Being a Sheraton, and 2. being in a decent location if you want to shop without taking a cab (unlike the Protea, which is LOVELY, but too far to walk anywhere!) The hotel is nice and clean, although starting to show wear, especially in the rooms. The rooms are a decent size, however, the furnishing and accessories (TV, nighstands, desk, shower, etc.) are a wee bit too large for the rooms, and starts to feel a bit crowded, and bump into things non-stop. Despite its size, the bathroom is not really practical or functional as there's nowhere in the bathroom to put ANYTHING other than the trial size toiletries provided. Also, the room I was in had a lot of doors that didn't open (backside of the wardrobe in the next room?) or led to another door (adjoining rooms?). I loved the small balcony. It wasn't large enough to sit on, but it was nice to get a breath of fresh air. Breakfast was very nice - especially if you managed to get an outside, open air table. Staff was friendly, professional and helpful.
I was initially impressed with all the bars and restaurants -- until night fell. I was there on a weekend, and while I appreciate a hotel offering entertainment for its guests, this was more like a NIGHTCLUB! Well over 3/4s of the people were NOT hotel guests, and some were evidently Red Light Ladies, albeit a bit more upscale than your average Ugandan RLL. Also, the music went on and on and on!! And it was LOUD!!! I was on 7th floor, and I still felt like I was upstairs from the Hard Rock Cafe! Quiet dinner in the hotel was pretty much out of the question unless you wanted to eat at 5PM. Because I could get no sleep, I went to the bar myself. Actually, not bad. If I wasn't staying in the hotel, I would actually rate the entertainment a 4-star affair in terms of ambience and variety of people. However, I WAS staying at the hotel, and paying quite a hefty sum for that privilege, and it would've been nice to have a nice quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: There's no escaping the noise/entertainment on the restaurant side. I don't know what's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomvanTuijl, Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for taking some of your time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate your positive comments about our location, the balcony, our helpful staff and breakfast services.

We have noted your concerns about the noise being present in hotel at night times. We are happy to inform you that, early 2012, all rooms will be sound-proofed and over 50% of the rooms will be refurbished, including new bathrooms. We are confident that when this is done, all our guests will enjoy the lively atmosphere in the hotel and at the same time be able to rest in a quiet and comfortable room.

Best Regards,

Tom van Tuijl
Food & Beverage Manager
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The hotel is okay but the rooms are starting to get a bit tired and could do with a makeover. It is really quite expensive given where you are and what you get but probably typical for the area.
As other people have said, the main bother is the infernal noise from the main bar area every night. They put on some sort of entertainment most nights from an external stage area which is unnecessarily loud given the half dozen or so people who actually seem to watch it. Around the weekend it's club night so you can forget any thoughts of an early night. The rooms on the opposite side of the hotel are also noisy from the main car park and people leaving the bar.
The breakfast is very good though and the bountiful staff are lovely.

Room Tip: Probably opt for a room on the front of the hotel if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Nice staff. Breakfast is nice. Very Very noisy. A club downstairs that doesn't stop the music playing until 4am. Even on week nights!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the bar/club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Stayed here twice during the past month. First time, no problem, although it was clear the hotel had seen better days. But the second time we stayed (two nights), the hotel put us in a room on the fifth floor above the disco it runs (every night of the week until 3 a.m.). The noise was unbearable (even though some of the music was pretty good). We had arrived from the field late and were not about to consult management about moving us at 11 p.m. And the next day, my wife was ill and didn't want to move. What kind of management allows a disco to play ridiculously loud music until 3 a.m. each night outside the rooms of hotel guests? Maybe they're making more money there (certainly enough drinking was going on; catfights at 4:30 a.m. our last night). Do yourself a favor. Go to the Serena.

Room Tip: Demand a room away from the disco if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Average african hotel in it's class. Friendly and responsive staff. Most common places are kept in rather well condition (probably with an exception of pool and especially change room). However rooms are clean but noticeable old, cracked and shabby. Drain in my room's sink is almost completely stuck but in the corridor something is leaking from the ceiling with increasing rate (a day before yesterday they put a bucket under leakage, but yesterday it was replaced with big plastic container). Still had no chance to check hotel's restaurant but the welcome drink (juice) and drinks in the bar were good. Big nice garden is a pasture for Marabou, which nest in trees near the south entrance, and a few other cool birds. It is a pity that in the garden fountain is not working.

Room Tip: sk for a room on the opposite side from the bar. It is noisy until late night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in during my travels.
Not allowed into Executive lounge unless invited by the manager even though I am a platinum member (!!!!!!)
Go into the bar in the evening and you are surrounded by uninvited guests who want you company for a little while at extortionate prices - very blatant in what they are asking/looking for.
Food wise a little better, breakfast was best part of the day as spread was good and you were on the way out.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 102 in Kampala
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 102 in Kampala
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 102 in Kampala
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kampala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Property: Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book and Earn SPG Points! Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Starwood EMEA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing