We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Ulyanovsk - Russia / East Grinstead, Sussex,England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I attended a conference over three days. The resort is a beautiful place with a high standard of service, clean rooms and good food. I would recommend anyone that visits Kampala to stay here. I have read some negative comments but personally didn't experience any negatives, quite the opposite in fact.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and compliments. We strive for service excellence and it is really encouraging to know that we have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    73
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
142
80
23
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent almost 2 weeks at this resort which lies on the shores of the infamous Lake Victoria. The Resort offers all modern facilities you would expect from a top resort and it does.The Olympic sized swimming pool is simply breath taking. The view of the Lake from our bedroom was simply fantastic,you could wake up to the marina which was focal point overlooking the lake.
Food generally was of high calibre at all the restaurants although I spoke to the chef for my special dishes wherever possible. Service was good generally however there is room for improvement. We found the venue to be family friendly as there are numerous areas we could congregate at in order to enjoy change of scenery. all in all, great venue which offers peace and tranquility,away from the hustle and bustle of noisy Kampala,will definitely return !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saveme8791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your compliments. We truly value your opinion and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to strive for service excellence and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Spent 10 days here, and couldn't fault it. Spacious, clean, excellent service from everyone from maids to general manager. Special mention to Akhilesh and Greg who made sure every need was met where possible, including retrieving a lost mobile, keeping me updated with cricket scores and providing special catering for my young toddler. Highly recommended...try the masala chips! JP and Bx

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JitBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort as we continue to strive for service excellence.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Don't be fooled by the hotel lobby or entrance. This was a terribly run hotel with very poor customer service.

The positives: very large pool, gym with lots of older machines; beautiful lobby; good indian food

The negatives (of which below is but a brief summary):
- the hotel has an inflexible policy where you pay for all your hotel nights in advance - before you've even seen your room
- check-in process was tortuous with multiple credit card slips and a very convoluted voucher system for breakfast
- I was booked in the older rooms (Speke Resort) vs. the newer section (Commonweath Resort). In Speke you don't have any wifi just fixed line internet (which admittedly was fast when it worked)
- the beds are hard and the linens are thin and of poor quality
- the bathroom shower partition is loose and swings open; after a shower, the entire bathroom floor is flooded turning the bathroom into a health hazard.
- there are mosquitos everywhere, and sometimes they forget to put down the net during turn-down service
- do bring slippers, because the floors are dirty and cold
- I had brown water from the shower on 2 of the 3 nights that I stayed at the hotel, which made it very difficult to shower; after I complained and they refused to allow me to check-out early, they allowed me to change rooms only to have the same brown water from the shower.
- I was here for a multi-day conference. they made us pay for the conference room and lunch buffet 100% upfront in the morning every day. they would call incessantly starting at 730am every though most of the conference participants were guests of the hotel. They would not allow us to bill the conference facilities to any rooms
- Every time i ordered a latte or something outside of the pre-arranged menu, they asked for my credit card to bill me. again, they refused to allow hotel guests to charge item to their rooms?!?

- what made the whole experience particularly bad (and why they have gotten 1 star) was the interaction between the Indian and local black african staff. The black staff seemed completely subjugated. Not one of them was in a management position or could assist me anything. everything had to be re-directed to an Indian boss. It's east africa, so i'm used to Indian management teams, but I have never seen anything so depressing and upsetting. The Taj, the Sankara are all run by Indian management teams, so this isn't a comment on all indian hotel management but rather on the attitude and orientation of the owners of this specific hotel.

Please stay anywhere else but here. . .the sheraton, the protea, the serena - there are very good hotels in Kampala. The munyonyo is on a beautiful property but until they learn how to treat their guests and their staff, they don't deserve my money and I will never stay there again.

Room Tip: get a room upstairs - not on ground floor. or else stay in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexicon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and valuable feedback.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Astt. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting. The gardens are well maintained yet the rooms are not up to the standard and contrary to what the website says: no hair dryer, no internet only on the lobby. Rooms facing the lakes are noisy at night with the loud music. Was disappointed with the food. The buffet for the lunch and dinner is so limited. Not worth the money paid. So disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Boujard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and valuable feedback, we will certainly ensure that your concerns are addressed with the departments concerned.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 1 week. The venue is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious.
The issues I had with the hotel were diverse however:
_There is some discrimination in the staffing since all low positions are occupied by black Africans and all the higher management are filled by Indians. There is some questionable recruiting going on there, this is still Africa after all.
_Mosquitoes and roaches were an issue in spite of spraying and mosquito nets. I guess the proximity with water and nature is the price to pay. Thankfully, I had some anti-mosquito patches during the whole stay. The hotel offered a fruit basket and a bottle of wine which is amenable but it wouldn't really matter if you got malaria.
_Safety: while there are security agents all over the place, there were still petty theft being reported in the hotel while I was there so beware.
_Internet: The internet rarely worked while there, wi-fi or cable, none of them responded so it is important to keep in mind to get some roaming on your phone for overseas travellers as you might miss entire days of work emails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabblingBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, these will certainly be taken in a positive way to improve our guest services.

Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

the place was generally wonderful. the environment is great and nice for an evening walk. the meals had a large variety to choose from the horses were particularly nice. however the room i stayed in had no lake view.

Room Tip: lake view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgtoursug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 97 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Property: Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing