We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to escape Kampala!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We did one night,two days here,quite an oasis,so close to Kampala.....the restaurant,food & staff were excellent,as was the private pool with views across Lake Victoria. However,the room,166, was not so great....on the edge of the large complex,overlooking the boundary wall.....no lake views at all..the bathroom tiles were badly stained,as was the bath.......the manager has acknowledged this& apologised! It's very close to the centre,but a world apart,so if you want a quiet couple of days without too much travel,stay here....the massages were good too in the salon.

Room Tip: Request a room on upper level...not garden level.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words and comments, these are well received and appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 665 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you ever need a vacation at a resort in Uganda, this is it. This place is right on Lake Victoria, about 30 minute drive from city of Kampala. This resort has some beautiful horses for horseback riders. We spent a day there, had lunch, great food and service, the restaurant has a beautiful view of Lake Victoria. I didn't get a chance to stay there, but checked out the rooms and suites, they are beautiful. They also have an Olympic size swimming pool, gym and beautiful gardens. I have been to several resorts all over the world, but this one takes the trophy. After lunch, we headed for Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary by a private yatch, and crossed the Equator. It was amazing. Quite a ride. This island is home to orphaned chimps rescued from throughout Uganda. It was such a beautiful opportunity to observe and interact with these great apes in a unique setting. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I understand they have all inclusive packages. Next time for sure I would book a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monapatel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As seasoned Mugandans, we had stayed at a number of hotel/resorts over the last year and decided for a change to try the Speke Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort. :-(

On the website, and on our first impression, it all looks very good. However, we were sadly disappointed. We had booked a Deluxe room for two persons for two nights and on arrival, were politely escorted to a ground floor room that overlooked the (noisy) boat repair yard. The lock on the back door was sticky, not to be trusted and the sliding door jammed on opening. The room was spacious, though, that is because of the lack of furniture! One six foot square area of the room was empty!

There was the obligatory desk, although cluttered with tea making facilities (only one tea cup), a vase, a lamp and numerous documents scattered about with not enough room left on the desk to place a laptop on. There was a double bed (with a too soft mattress), one easy chair and a wobbly coffee table. No lounge and the room was infested with bugs and smelt badly. The bathroom was only supplied for one person - one towel, one hand towel and one soap.

Despite the website claiming that all rooms have wifi, it did not. The room had internet access via an ethernet cord which did allow for (spotty) in-room internet. We asked for a change of room and were then politely shown a twin of our previous room. :-(

On the flip side, the hotel grounds are well maintained and spacious and we had no issues obtaining a full refund. However, as said in the heading we were very disappointed. Now writing this review in the luxury of the price comparable Imperial Beach Resort Entebbe and Loving Life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, these will certainly be taken in a positive way to improve our guest services.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is over priced for nothing. From the outside in the lobby it looks good but it does not represent what you see in the hotel. Chinese made cheap furniture, the AC makes noise all night long, you can barely sleep, their breakfast, a collection of leftovers Indian food. A cheap flat TV with most of channels without sound.But the outdoor around the lake looks good if you want to relax. Do not get fooled by what you see online. It's not even close

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmanuel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

There are different suites to suit ones needs though on a higher side can be worth it if they face the lake too.
Good food and always buzzing with people.
Disappointment though was when at restaurant manager said one can use credit cards and after the meal, seems they were not willing to accept card and had to use cash, one then cannot just rely on the card even after being told they are accepted!

Room Tip: please always ask for the common wealth rooms facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyinamwiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greg-generalmanager, General Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

Regards

Greg Petzer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a excellent resort to stay in and relax, on the shores of Lake Victoria it has a Olympic size swimming pool , waterfalls , gardens, plenty of restaurants, excellent food, and the room are toooo.. good. with standard rooms as good as the delux and the presidential suites.Pamper your self to a great weekend..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Beautiful resort on the shores of Lake Victoria. Magnificent gardens with waterfalls. I stayed there for a conference and I liked it. I did not get one of the luxurious rooms in the main building but I got a clean, nice and large room in a second compound five minutes away, with internet connection most of the time. It was very comfortable.
The huge swimming pool is very nice and there is a bar and restaurant which is much cheaper that the one in the main building. It takes between 30 minutes to 1 hour to get to Kampala. Staff in the business center were very nice and helpful. I may not go back but it was a nice experience on my first trip to Uganda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilatesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkhileshMalik, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Akhilesh Malik
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
673 reviews
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 104 in Kampala
342 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#5 of 104 in Kampala
765 reviews
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $253 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing