We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Nearby Hotels
$131
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Speke Hotel(Kampala)
$189
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$338
$317
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Lodge(Kampala)
$176
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$49
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
550
80
41
16
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
80
41
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridinglake victorialunch and dinnerboat ridelake terraceswimming poolbeautiful smileexecutive suitattended a conferencesteam saunaband nightdirect viewmouth wateringmind blowingfriday eveningtwo bedroom suitelive band
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
639 - 644 of 694 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Munyonyo for four days. it is an excellent hotel. the rooms are nice and beautiful. the staff was friendly. the food was mostly good (except for my last night when afew of us in the group got food poisoning).
Although i traveled there for business, i think it would be an ideal place for a holiday as most of the hotel is nice and quiet. However, i had afew incidences where hotel staff (who were not in uniform and therefore not cleaners but more "senior" staff) would stand/sit outside my door and chit chat loudly and i would have to ask them to keep it down cause i would be napping or working. That was the only unprofessional behavior i encountered.
My room didn't have a bathtub, which was a bit disappointing but over all the rooms, corridors, lobby, etc is well decorated, well lit and gives you the sense that you can relax.
An added perk is that they have security guards on different floors at all times day and night which gives a sense of the hotel being extremely secure which is more that i can say for some kampala hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doreenfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last time i stayed here in 2009 i was very unimpressed by the service levels provided in all of the departments. Nobody seemed like they wanted to be working there. However, i am happy to report a complete turnaround. Excellent, cheerful staff who actually assist you. Reception, restaurant and housekeeping have improved dramatically. The quality of the food is very good sometimes excellent in the restaurant and the bar staff are knowledgable, limited wine options but no complaints about what was there. Lovely outdoor terrace to have a meal at.The Resort and grounds have been beautifully maintained, everything worked in my room and the walk through the gardens to the main building is lovely. Hotel grounds are very dark at night but security is ALWAYS present. I wonder if all of these improvements are because of a change in management ? I am so pleased with the resort and hope it remains this way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giodxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an excellent hotel and resort in ALL respects. Except one. And that is the food. I have stayed and ate in the Serena, Sheraton and Protea hotels in Kampala and the buffets are EXCELLENT, Huge choice of foods, unlimited supply, mabye 30 dessert choices, etc etc etc. At the Commonwealth resort, which is better than all of the above, the food is buffet is WORSE than you could find at a three star hotel. Why? And it is the same price as the buffet's at the other hotels.

The buffet at the Commonwealth Resort has limited choice, and that is mostly local Ugandan dishes. Surely a SIMPLE MATTER to even just COPY the buffets at the other hotels. It is NOT rocket science, but the food provision really let;s down what would otherwise be a five star plus experience. Please get your act together on the food front.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan200210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went here for a spiritual retreat... the staff really took care of all our needs and accommodated us very well. we had a few members of staff just to take care of the group.when we wanted to have meetings at 10or 11pm at night they very nicely with a smile accommodated us and still served us beverages and iceream.
this resort is so huge it is easy to lose yourself. it has a number of pools and some overlook the lake. there is a marina where you can have some meals too. the meals here are yummy. the rooms are very spacious and clean. there are lots of activities to do as well as alot of relaxation if that is what you are looking for. ideal for business, couples, kids.
as we were a large group we got a very decent rate. however it is a little pricey but definitely your moneys worth. will most definitely go again.

Room Tip: choose a room that is either on the ground or 1st floor. as then it may get a little tedious to climb more stairs.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0nki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed for all most 20 days couple of times and found very satisfactory on account to safety, Location, staff behavioral and services.
This hotels belongs to an Indian and 30% staff is Indian.
it gives you feels like luxury style and calm stay.I enjoyed living here. food was awesome and sight seen was like you have came to some special place to enjoy picnic, it is located near Kampala and Africa's biggest lake Victoria. and every day i had been provided special boating ride of an hour.
many sports activity you can do here. weather is dashing and calm. Enough space to walk and exploring things , you can find places for fishing lave site views and you can also go to near by island of gorilla's by resort boat.
they have artificial garden, big waterfall, and some wild animals.
I always love to stay here.

Room Tip: you can stay in speke resorts its good and luxury
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravBaliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews