We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at its best in Africa! Blended with nature...so elegant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury at its best in Africa! Blended with nature...so elegant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Peaceful serene location with sumptuous dishes from continental to African to authentic Indian dishes...all are available in this place ...round the year.

Service quality is benchmark for other hotels to follow! !

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBmanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our array of cuisines & services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    71
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
138
81
23
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is set on the shores of lake victoria. It is a huge facility with a number of amenities. it should have been a great hotel when it was opened but it appears it could do with some touch up. The staff were quite friendly and the service was fair. On the whole the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
193 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a new hotel. It looks swish from outside. There are actually two separate hotels - Speke and Munyonyo Commonwealth. They share the same reception, restaurants, etc. Just the rooms are very different.

The hotel is full of staff from India. From security to front desk, maintenance, restaurants, etc. I found this to be odd considering how high unemployment is in Uganda.

Check in was a shamble. The staff were all over the place. Concierge service was uniformed staff standing around. I had to ask them several times to have my banners taken to the conference room. When they did "Sir the room is closed" So I went with them, and found out you had to push a closed door for it to open. The staff ride around in gold carts very fast.

The rooms are mediocre. This is a new hotel, so why do they have keys, and not key cards? The key rings are bits of wood with your room number written on them by hand. The bathroom is basic. The room is basic. The bed was awful with a blanket and really bad pillows. We were a group of over 35. At least 25 of us had issues with the in room safe not working.

The TV is very small. There is free plugged in Internet which was good. There is a mosquito net that divides the rooms. Got annoying trying to work your way through it all the time. The Air con was very noisy.

Food is vert basic. The staff are ill trained, and cannot understand basic requests - Hot Chocolate, Diet Coke, ice on the side, etc. Breakfast was very very basic. You could not see where egg orders were taken. The chefs were not proactive. Most of the food was local with very little International (apart from Indian) food on the buffet. The juices were all boxed or tinned, yet so much fresh fruit is available. Also you get given coupons to take to breakfast. How archaic. I forgot mine on both morning, and told them. They crossed my name off a list (like how most hotels do so around the world). Also you could not get a plate unless your name was on the list.

The grounds were nice. For US$115 per night BB, it was excellent value. I would have paid more to have a better room and experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at the Speke Resort and Conference Centre on a business trip. The rooms are nice but a bit bare and with a very odd layout including something which resembles a kitchen but is not. The only thing is that the room are not clean espcially the bathroom where the tiles looks like they have not been cleaned for a long time and had quite a few dead mosquitoes left smashed on them. One of the days my bathroom had not been cleaned but the house keeper denied this and said she had left the towels on the floor becasue she thought "this was the way I liked it" hmmmmmmm. There is a lot of staff at the hotels but most of them seem to have nothing or very little to do. The room next to mine was used by the housekeepers as their break room and they seem to spend most ot their time sitting on the terrace chatting. Same thing during breakfast where most waiters stood around idle and were reluctant to assist you not to mention a member of staff in the bar who sat down for a snack when it got really busy.

The grounds off the hotel are really nice as is the location and with few changes to staff and service could be a really nice hotel I would return too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder_Singh, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!!

We appreciate your effort to highlight our points where we do need to work on in order to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay.

In reference to your mentioned concern kindly be rest assured we will be looking into the said points in a most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to provide you with the level of service to which we pride ourselves upon, for which we certainly look forward to another opportunity to further our intent of giving you an astounding experience.

Please feel free to contact us for any further assistance

Warm Regards
Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Came for a conference. Great location on the lake, amazing birds and surroundings.
Lovely staff although the reception desk was a bit useless, but things always worked out in the end. The housekeeping staff were wonderful, i think there may have been more staff than residents. Did a fun run outside of the resort too, the views from the hills are great. I thought the food, though pretty standard, was good for African resort of this type.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor room near the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneandJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I accidentally booked the Speke Resort instead of the Speke Hotel. The resort was on lovely grounds and the rooms were nice. The pool and fitness center were fantastic. And I was surprised to get free meal tickets for the weekend (food was delicious). The downside was that this hotel was way outside of Kampala. The trips into town for my meetings took on average an hour but it was really hard to predict because of traffic. So this would be a great place for a family holiday or a conference, but if you have business in Kampala, it's a pain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0_Just_Laura_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a heart-warming compliment. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel grounds are expansive and beautiful. The gardens are lush and the views of Lake Victoria are wonderful. There is a lot of space to walk and explore the area. I was there for a conference, so most of the meals were buffet-style in the restaurant. The food was good and different everyday. I had a meal by the pool restaurant one day and the atmosphere was great. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

The rooms, while big, were mediocre. The rooms in the wing I was in (there are separate buildings for different rooms) were NOT at all like the rooms they show on their website online. The rooms from the pictures online are in the main building (where the reception lobby is) and I imagine a lot more expensive to stay in. I did check out a room and the are luxurious and comfy. I had a one bedroom suite (one room with a large bed, desk, and bathroom and the other room with a sitting area and a kitchenette). The rooms were bare-minimums and lacked any sort of style and the tv was very small. The bed was large, but the mattress was thin and not very comfortable and the mosquito net over the bed had holes and tears in it. The kitchenette had a fridge and stove, but no microwave. There was a nice round table for eating as well. The a corner in the bathroom flooded (from a backed-up drain) every time I used the shower/bath. Surprisingly, there also wasn't a clock in the room and one day when I called for a wake-up call, they never called and I slept late! (They did call the other days I was there though when I let them know of the incident.). The housekeeping staff was very friendly and did a good job. Room service was very quick.

As mentioned, the hotel is about an hour from the airport and is not close to central Kampala. There isn't too much in terms of restaurants around the hotel area, and traffic in that area is also terrible. Be sure to anticipate traffic jams in to your plans if you roam around outside the hotel grounds.

Because the conference I was attending was at the hotel, it was very convenient and if attending another conference in Kampala, I would recommend this place. It IS beautiful. If I had other business out and about in Kampala, I would not stay here, just because it is not conveniently located.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melssel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashvinder Singh S, Manager at Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, as well as our array of services. Also we assure that the said feedback will be taken in the most optimistic way and considering them as the moments of truth and a point of improvisation.

We look forward to the pleasure of serving you in your next visit.

Warm Regards

Ashvinder Singh Saini
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
6.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 95 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
7.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#8 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
6.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#11 of 95 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#12 of 95 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort

Property: Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort
Address: Wavamunno Road | P.O.Box 3673, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 90 acres in the Speke Resort complex and with a majestic view of Lake Victoria, Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is Uganda’s leading 5-star resort.Specifically constructed to host the 2007 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM), Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort has earned worldwide recognition as ‘the Presidents’ resort. It has hosted numerous high profile guests, from Heads of State and foreign dignitaries to international celebrities, who consider it a home away from home.Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort is dedicated to providing unrivalled comfort and unmatched services. The resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan and ultra modern furnishings that merge into the Pearl of Africa theme which is carried throughout the entire décor. The many room features and amenities ensure a seamless transition from pleasure to business and vice-versa.The meeting rooms, suitable for any occasion, are designed around your requirements and are all situated under one roof. We have comprehensive wellness and fitness facilities that assist body and mind to work in harmony. Munyonyo’s strategic location, close to business, shopping, and entertainment areas, make it the ideal choice for leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Munyonyo Commonwealth Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing