We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with nice ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MishMash - CLOSED

MishMash
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: African, American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: MishMash is a restaurant, bar, art gallery, event space, cinema in a beautiful mature garden in Kampala.A variety of events happen over the week.TUES - 2 for 1 main meals. Jazz, Rock & Blues night.WEDS - Moonlight movies under the starsTHURS - Live music & open mic nightFRI - Cocktail specials all day and nightSAT - Farmers Market and ElectromashSUN - Sundays in the Park with local drumming & dance troupes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place with nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Went for the reggae roar at MishMash and it was awesome. Great Dj and music. Really had a great time especially after haven looked for real reggae around Kampala unsuccessfully. Also liked the seating arrangements and the art gallery. Great place to hangout with friends

Helpful?
Thank Sleen_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I do love the warm welcome,passion you guys give
Am pleased with the service you guys give say the care u give to visitors customers the clients at large
I wish and its my prayer if every place of the kind would do how you do your thing,its awesome and amazing.
If there is place to go relax one's mind this is one of its kind,i appriciate you guys know how to handle people
Am pleased.
Merci

Helpful?
2 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miribel, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dispicable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

i have been there before but recently they went downhill i ordered nachos and they came burnt with butter flimsily melted over them the sauces were stale the tomatoes had clearly a couple of days i sent back my meal and did not get my meal replaced or even an apology the wine was off i ordered a fruit juice cocktail(mango,melon,orange)the was no mango in it apparently they were experiencing a power cut but half of the items we ordered for on the menu were unavailable .honestly i used to love the place but i would recommend you just have drinks(beers, vodka ,gin, soda etc)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 44AugusteGusteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to dine/chill/whatever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I went a couple of time to this art gallery/bar/restaurant situated in the upscale Kololo district.

Definitely not a local joint, MishMash could be in Williamsburg or in London. But i really loved this place, with all the different atmospheres and events.
The cocktails are good, the food is okay to good. You first go for the place rather than the food but still quite ok.
Def worth a visit while in Kampala !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank potosi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All in one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Although MishMash is listed as a restaurant, it's actually so much more than that. It's probably the only place that managed to successfully mix an art gallery with an open air cinema, a bar, a restaurant and club in the same place. This is one of my favorite places for relaxing during day. Sometimes it's easy to forget that you are in the heart of Kampala. During night, you meet a very wide range of people: artists, locals, expats... also, the music is quite different from what you normally find in other clubs. The food used to be the only weak point, but lately it's really good and service is much faster. I also love all the different parties that they throw. Makes it hard to get bored of this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MishMash also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing