We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar, great music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MishMash - CLOSED

MishMash
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: African, American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: MishMash is a restaurant, bar, art gallery, event space, cinema in a beautiful mature garden in Kampala.A variety of events happen over the week.TUES - 2 for 1 main meals. Jazz, Rock & Blues night.WEDS - Moonlight movies under the starsTHURS - Live music & open mic nightFRI - Cocktail specials all day and nightSAT - Farmers Market and ElectromashSUN - Sundays in the Park with local drumming & dance troupes
Carcavelos, Portugal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great bar, great music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great bar by night; familiar gathering bar by day; 'suspicious rasta guys' wandering around. Stay away from them and you be far from substances that WILL make you laugh...a lot...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LFerreira1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newtownards
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and enjoy drinks and cocktails.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently visited mishmash as a guest of dwelling places charity. We had a great day with lots of fun events. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We stayed for evening drinks and cocktails and this seems to be mishmash at its best. The atmosphere is amazing and prices ok too! Lunch however was just ok and service was very slow however it was a busy day and we ad plenty of time. Would definitely revisit. Also artwork (which is for sae) is of a great standard so it's a good place to pick up some quality Ugandan art at ok prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maddy3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The tables were mostly open air with a nice relaxed atmosphere. The food wasn't great but it was good basic stuff that won't make you ill. Part of the area was completely open and there were a few sofas there where you could lie back and look at the stars. There was music, some nights background but others whith a DJ. I think they may have live music some nights but not one the nights we were there. There was nice subdued lighting although they seem to get a lot of power cuts which I guess is not their fault, so sometimes you eat your meal by candlelight which just adds to it. The waitresses were friendly and helpful, the service was slow but it was the sort of place we didn't really want to rush away from

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, beautiful Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I visited Mishmash as part of the family fun day with Dwelling places,
This is a cool little place! My day the gardens are beautiful with plenty of shade if you want to relax and dine outside. Inside has lots of private little nooks and cranys. The Art is REALLY good and I wished I could have been able to get some home. At night the atmosphere changes to different but equally cool vibe with live music. The only let down was slow and unreliable service but hopefully that will improve with time,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great space, food is solid but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've been there quite a few times and though I've tried many different menu items, none of them really bring me back. I do come back for the atmosphere, however, and the food is dependable if not great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank moxieglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MishMash also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing