We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My coffee trip the Kampala!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Madagascar Hotel
Ranked #77 of 222 Kampala B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The New Madagascar is just like a home where there are few rooms in just a quite and pleasant place where you can easily see the lake Victoria!. the rooms are very natural with African touch! the little problem is the laundry services! the travelers are advised to take enough clothes with them otherwise...

Room Tip: The rooms on the new building where you can see the lake from balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Primus-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an acceptable home away from home with most of the luxuries of a home yet in a rustic affordable way. There is good food, hot strong shower, piano and a general sense of serenity.
Its adequate for a tourist who enjoys some good scenery and quiet. Is a bit far from town and jammed for one who might want to do business in the Kampala city.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give one a view of lake Victoria and of the cozy garden with fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyinamwiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the hotel as i was moving around in Kampala. the location of the hotel was very quiet and comforting despite that it was undergoing some renovation. The owners were a really helpful and kind couple who also helped me a great deal in arranging my trip to Jinja and elsewhere in Uganda. The staff is average though but the breakfast is better so is the dinner but i will request the hotel management to rellok the food there as one finds a serious lack of variety in food. Not good for business people as it is away from main city. A touch expensive it may seem but every penny is worth it if one manages the food from outside!

Room Tip: Go to the first floor if you don't mind climbing with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalAli79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Our worst hotel during our stay in Kampala. Poor beds, very slow service during breakfast time (and we were the only guests). Room was oke clean. Would not recommend as googling the place we found that hotal is build illegally and may need to be demolished.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed there for one night and let me say its like home away from home.The only disadvantage is that its soo far from Kamplala city and i missed all my business appointments. The staff have no uniform so it felt abit funny...I had fish and chips for dinner and it was wonderful.The breakfast was average but better.

Room Tip: Go there if you need a quiet environment..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggy_eustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As one of the other reviewers pointed out, service is definitely lacking here. However, the rooms are very nice. We went off-season, so it was very quiet. Food is nothing to write home about, but you are only 15-20 minutes away from downtown Kampala. The only issue is getting to and from this place. The hotel taxi driver was not very impressive, but you might be able to get other taxis. And if you don't care about boda-bodas, there are plenty around.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ki2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of the hotel is superb with the view second to none, the staff are nice and friendly, but the problems are, there seems to be a lack of training and organizing skills given to them, having breakfast turned out to be a long and frustrating experience with it taking up to 40 minutes for everything to arrive, and quantities varied every day, sometimes not enough jam for one person let alone three, then having to request more every time starts to wear thin, just a general lack of common sense, coffee not fresh instant, which I find strange in a coffee producing country, then all the extra little charges, which I don't mind if I am made aware first. one day the power went off early morning and was not restored till evening, they have a generator but did not use it, this meant all the food in your fridge was spoiled plus no INTERNET all day, and the woman in charge who I believe is from Switzerland, was very evasive and very rude with no customer skills.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rr1340hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 104 in Kampala
673 reviews
0 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 104 in Kampala
214 reviews
0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 104 in Kampala
342 reviews
0 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
0 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#16 of 222 in Kampala
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Madagascar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Madagascar Hotel

Address: No. 12 Kiruddu Buziga | Mutesa 1 Road, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Price Range: $44 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Madagascar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Madagascar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing