We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranked number 1 in kampala? How?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Yujo Izakaya

Yujo Izakaya
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yujo Izakaya is a Modern Japanese restaurant and tavern, located in the heart of Nakasero. We specialize in Japanese RICE WINE and CRAFT BEERS, imported directly from Nara and Mito in Japan! So when you come to visit us, please come thirsty! Our restaurant features a hot kitchen and sushi bar, with fresh local ingredients, and many others sourced from all over the world! We also now have LITTLE KOBE JAPANESE GROCERY for all your take home needs,including miso pastes, wasabi, japanese chocolate, little gifts, and more!
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ranked number 1 in kampala? How?”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

ranked number 1 in Kampala?
Not sure how that came about on trip advisor.
Was there last week. The ambiance is good and relaxing. The food was average but fast. The waiter who served us could not explain anything on the Menu'. We ended up eating Sashimi which was ok even though I'm not a real fan of crude fish, far from what we actually wanted and wrongly explained by server. He was evidently new. NEEDS training.
The dessert was good, I ordered for babana with ice-cream. It is rather disappointing that such a place doesn't make it's own ice-cream. It was evidently Kooksy.
Overall, it is a nice place to have a good chat while dining, but there are some degree/margins of improvements.
certainly not the best restaurant in Kampala.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the ambiance at Yujo, but I'm quite embarrassed with our waiter who served you.

We have such a wide variety of items on our menu now, and you should not have been forced to have a dish you did not want, especially due to a lack of knowledge with one of our staff.

We are going through some training with new service staff, and they were supposed to shadow the experienced waiters while in training!

I'd like to apologize for this slip up, and hope you'll give us another chance. I'd like to prove ourselves. Please ask a staff member for me (Hanif) if you can come by again, and I'll see to it that you have an enjoyable dining experience.

Lastly, the ice cream we have been using since we opened in 2011 is Nestle, imported from South Africa. We are considering switching to a Belgian variety, maybe now is the time:)

H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    78
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dullstroom, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Sushi in Kampala”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

On a Sunday evening my wife and I were keen to have some Sushi and found Yujo Sushi bar and Izakaya. The Sushi was very good, service was slick but "not in your face". It has a lovely setting and we enjoyed ourselves in the cool open "Lapa".

But the prices were a bit on the steep side. Well, maybe to get Sushi in the middle of Africa, that is what you have to pay.

We'll definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Mills_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great food, reasonable prices and friendly staff. They have a number of good seating locations, with the best located behind the restaurant in a gazebo, where you sit, with your feet under the table. It makes you feel like you are in some other part of the world. If you get a sushi-boat, you literally get a boat (rather large) filled with sushi.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConradZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the best food in Kampala”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is so far one of the best Japanese foods I have ever had and place is so far the most comfy and classy one in town.Highly recommended Tempuras,Sushis(specially california rolls) and Gyozas ! have plenty of beers from Mexico to Japan.It is the place If you wanna treat yourself special in Kampala.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in Kampala”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Get over your skepticism about finding good sushi in Kampala and come down to Yujo for some great food and drinks. The sushi is FANTASTIC, and if I was giving this review for the sushi only, it would be 5 stars. Great location in Nakasero. The environment is relaxed and classy. Large, comfortable bar. Very nice beverage list, with sake, extensive international beers, wine and cocktails. The main dishes were very good but not on same level as the sushi and overall setting (teriyaki chicken was a little drowned in sauce and udon noodles were decent but not exactly as expected), which is the only reason I couldn't give the best rating possible. I will be back to this restaurant often, particularly for the world-class sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yujo Izakaya also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Yujo Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing