We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love Yujo :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yujo Izakaya

Yujo Izakaya
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Yujo Izakaya is a Modern Japanese restaurant and tavern, located in the heart of Nakasero. We specialize in Japanese RICE WINE and CRAFT BEERS, imported directly from Nara and Mito in Japan! So when you come to visit us, please come thirsty! Our restaurant features a hot kitchen and sushi bar, with fresh local ingredients, and many others sourced from all over the world! We also now have LITTLE KOBE JAPANESE GROCERY for all your take home needs,including miso pastes, wasabi, japanese chocolate, little gifts, and more!
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love Yujo :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ok, we are in Uganda so inland rules apply, but I love this place and I use it frequently to feed my sushi addiction and have not had a bad experience yet!

The food is great, staff is friendly and competent, ambience is nice. I can't ask for anything more!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank leekoelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    78
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The food is amazing and surprisingly authentic considering it is in Africa where things tend to be adapted to the local palate. It's set in a very nice location and is without doubt one of the better restaurants in Kampala. Just watch out for the two guys who run the place though ;)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRamakrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We're waiting on you to come visit again!

The official opening of our teppanyaki is around the corner;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Japanese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

They have a great Variety to choose from, a very interesting & colourful printed menu at last! Always Awesome services as well :) saw a very beautiful bird on an avocado tree jus next to where we were seated :) we got really excited when we spotted the bird. Even 1 of the staff tried to help us take a pic of the bird before it flew off!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genevievedanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thanks Genevieve, we're so glad you enjoy the environment and food as much as we do!

I noticed you've given us a 3 out 5 rating. I was wondering, what is it we can do to improve your overall experience next time?

We always appreciate the feedback, and hope to see you again soon!

Hanif.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood despite no coastline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Yujo has fresh nice fish and seafood, in the form of delicious sushi and perfect tempura. If you are not a seafood eater, they also have great meat dishes, like gyoza, grill and other nudle dishes. If you are there for lunch, try the sushi bento box! Perfect mix of nice things. My favourite evening dish is the tuna tataki - lovely. The interior decor is very nice, and you can also sit in the japanese department where they have (comfortable) floor seating and low tables. The service is excellent. I would say this is Kampalas best restaurant! And as I live here, I visit it frequently.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Finally, a place with awesome sushi in Kampala. A bit pricey, but it's understandable since Uganda is a landlocked country. You will not regret eating there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanifRehemtulla, Owner at Yujo Izakaya, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
It's true that our geographical location does guide our prices in an unfavourable direction.

As our volumes increase, and the new locations for Yujo in the region are introduced, we hope to both decrease our prices, and increase our portion sizes.

Of course, this will also be dependant on international seafood prices which are constantly changing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yujo Izakaya also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Yujo Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing