We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this real life?”

African Adventure Travellers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: African Adventure Travellers is Specialized in Organizing memorable Wildlife and Gorilla Safaris with in Uganda and Rwanda.
Dongguan, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is this real life?”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

As we have grown up in America our whole lives, we have only been able to see these types of animals on TV or in the zoo. It was surreal to be able see them in their natural environment just roaming about. We had a great tour guide (Sula) and he was educated about the animals as well as all of the parks. We stayed in Uganda for ten days, and the safari was one of the major highlights.
I thought it was a perfect balance with the boat ride, Victoria Falls (short hike down the hill), and the actual drive. We couldn't believe we were able to get so close to some of the animals.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“African Adventure Travellers - Murchinson Falls Tour”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Had a fantastic 3 day tour with Sam our tour guide from African Adventure Travellers...
Can highly recommend their 3 day Murchinson Fall tour - Sam showed us so many animals including elephants, crocodiles, giraffes, baboons and hippos and many others all by the mightly Nile river and then boating down it to the falls.
This agency is highly dependable and reliable and I would not hestitate to book another tour with them - they even tailored our tour for us since we had time constraints.
If your looking for tour company in Uganda definately look up African Adventrure.. thanks to Sam and everyone else at the company who made our Uganda trip very memorable!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 perfect days on Safari”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose Africa Adventure Travelers based on a friend's recommendation and Robert and the safari exceeded all expectations.We booked a private (2 person) 4 day safari to Murchison Falls including Rhino and Chimp walks.

From the first moment we felt completely at ease with Robert, not only is he well informed but he is a gentleman and very courteous. He made sure we were always informed of the next days events and what to expect. He is so through that we had nothing to worry about just relax and enjoy. He adapted seamlessly to some of our requests during the trip and we never felt any pressure at all from him. As for the attractions and Murchison Falls Park - OUTSTANDING!!!

Email, discuss what you want with Robert and he will ensure you have an African Adventure!\

Morgan and Julie

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Courteous, kind, safe and reliable”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I reviewed 12 different companies trying to figure out who to trust from so far away (from Seattle) - the Trip Advisor reviews were good and the reviews for Robert were fantastic - Sande (at the other end of the tours@ email) was extremely responsive to each of my 25 emails clarifying and changing things as well (at all hours of the day - it was amazing). African Adventure Travellers is a true local company that does not have all of the overhead that some of the larger more generic tour companies have and they pass the savings along. I spent 5 days with Robert and he is not only a very good and very safe driver (not always the case in Africa) but he is genuinely a good person with a big heart and he is very trustworthy. I give African Adventure Travellers a big thumbs up! They are certified by Association of Uganda Travel Authority which is another official stamp of approval.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Flickerstickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“African Adventure Travellers”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We are a British couple in our early 60s and in February (2012) went on a six day safari with African Adventure Tours and thoroughly enjoyed every moment.

We wanted to use a truly Ugandan company, but of course it is hard to know who to trust. After quite a lot of research we chose African Adventure Travellers out of many because their procedures seemed very professional. They always replied quickly to our queries, and sent us a proper set of terms and conditions. The company is also a member of the Association of Uganda Tour Operators, which we felt was a good sign. In addition, some of the companies we approached ignored what we had asked for and just sent us the price for their standard safari, whereas (name of company) were willing to tailor their safari to our exact requirements. Their prices seemed in line with those of the many other Ugandan safari companies.

Our driver was Robert Mugabe, and he could not have been more helpful. He arrived at our door at exactly the agreed time on our first day, and continued to be conscientious and punctual throughout. His English is excellent, and we had many long conversations about all sorts of aspects of Uganda, quite apart from discussing the wildlife, about which he is well informed.
We spent three nights in Murchison Falls National Park and two nights (in a tree house!) at Chimps Nest. Both were unforgettable experiences and Robert knew just where and when to find the wildlife we wanted to see.
He also knows all the best places to stop for refreshments and lunch. These are still thin on the ground in a country where tourism is not as highly developed as in some other African countries. (This, by the way, is why we chose Uganda rather than, say, Kenya, as we didn’t want to be part of some mass tourism experience, and we weren’t disappointed).

By the way, don’t imagine they only cater for oldies, Robert’s next clients after us were a group of backpackers in their twenties.

In short, you can rely on African Adventure Tours to give you an unforgettable safari experience in Uganda.

(One final comment: Robert dropped us off at Ruhanga Community Development School where we did a month’s voluntary work, which was also a great experience. See www.lethemhelpthemselves.org for further information).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank oldienomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Adventure Travellers also viewed

 

Been to African Adventure Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing