We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Effendy's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Effendy's
Ranked #199 of 296 Restaurants in Kampala
Cuisines: Turkish
Description: Centenary Park has 14 restaurants/bars all with the same address of the park. Please list all mentioned on the site.
Restaurant details
Description: Centenary Park has 14 restaurants/bars all with the same address of the park. Please list all mentioned on the site.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This has very good turkish food. I enjoy coming here for its enviornment and good food. I usually get the beef stew- its my favorite. The service isnt the greatest though. Our waitress had no idea what was on the menu or what we were asking for, and they dont have baklava either.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Food is pretty good but the atmosphere is loud with periodic comedy shows. Tables outside are in the sand which is a nuisance.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Safarib0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went here in middle of the day, so less atmosphere than I would have liked, but the food was really good. Meze plate and kebab fantastic. Also had shisha and they just keep giving you more until you've had enough - good times.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BettyJane32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“OK-ish”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Food was OK but unspectacular. Good parking. Ambience nothing to write home about.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor service, bad food when the main chef is off”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

If you go here on a Monday, the main chef is off and you'll get something that seems to have been based on the children's game of telephone (you know, the one where the message at the end is far different from the one at the beginning after it's been heard and re-told 20 times?). A friend was served the misto platter, which had 3 servings of hummus, as they ran out of at least two of the other dishes that were supposed to be served!

The service seems to be slow every day, and often gets orders wrong. But it is one of the few options for Mediterranean/Greek food and some of my friends seem to like the place, so I'll probably be back (if somewhat unwillingly).

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Effendy's also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Been to Effendy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing