We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Adequate and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Adequate and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for five nights in October, 2012. The Silver Springs Hotel is a long-standing hotel, which was once part of the Uganda Hotels Group, which was typified by run-down establishments which had been neglected by the state-owned company for years until it was broken up in the 1990s.

The Silver Springs has been renovated to an adequate standard, but rooms are fairly basic, with ageing furniture which probably escaped the re-vamp which seems to have concentrated more on the public areas. Having said that, the rooms are clean, have air conditioning and my bed was very comfortable.

The dining facilities are OK... an extensive (and a bit expensive) menu, and service is reasonable...

All in all, an OK place to stay, but do be aware of its location, about 5kms from the city centre in Bugolobi... Traffic congestion is an everyday part of Kampala now, so you need to allow much more time than you would expect to get anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
4
1
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Silver springs hotel creates a good first impression right from the gate as the folks here are quite friendly. The meals were great and the rates reasonable. The rooms were'nt as spacious as I expected but they're quite clean and cosy and the wifi was present though not necessarily continually reliable. I rate their breakfast buffet as 'King's class' and I looked forward to it every morning.

The downside though with the rooms is lack of safes- which I raised with management and ethically its demeaning for a manager/ owner to argue with a memeber of his team at the reception while a client is waiting. This is to the lady of Asian decent.

I recommend this lovely place to anyone visiting Kampala!

Room Tip: Any room here is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a conference in this hotel and managed to secure a good rate. The hotel was spacious with excellent facilities. The room was great with a large clean bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There is a nice coffee shop in the lobby and the restaurant and bar were perfect. There is great Indian food available and the portions are huge. The meeting room was perfect with all the necessary facilities and service. The swimming pool looked wonderful - but I was not able to use it. The hotel is a small distance out of town but this makes it a bit more peaceful than being right in the heart of town. Security there is very good. The staff were all very friendly but hotel guest relations manager was exceptionally helpful throughout our whole stay and made sure that everyone in our group was content and organised our airport transfers efficiently.

Room Tip: One of my colleagues mentioned that being in a room close to the road meant street noise was a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel offers value for money...comfortable.clean and close enough to town.food good with Indian touch .big portions ... breakfast good service good ,visa card payments do take a while to process ..a good place to overnight or safari tour base ..

Room Tip: away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AJLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We organised a company function at this place. We made reservations well in advance and even paid the required deposit. One week before our event they called us with apologies that the place was booked by another group! who does that! I cannot explain the inconvenience of having to look for another place for our out of town guests, last minute organisation, it was a total mess! These pple do not understand anything about professionalism therefore not worth your penny!!!

Room Tip: Just do not go there!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpatriateAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited Kampala and I only spent one night at this hotel because it was terrible, disorganised and not work rate charged. What you see on their website on the internet is not the same thing you will find. I had to check out immediately the next day for a much better hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is well set-up for visitors coming through. It is appropriately designed in that the pool is the focus with a bar and also a separate restaurant on two sides of it. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, and have relatively new fittings. The floors are tiled but everything else is of decent quality. The room was clean and there was a good range of cable channels. It seems many NGOs use this for conferences and the like.

Unfortunately I had a laptop case with a hard drive inside stolen from my room, and subsequent events led me to believe that it was housekeeping (why else would someone try and open the door at 8am the next morning without knocking, supposedly to check on housekeeping matters). Given I did not fully recognise this at the time there was not much that management could do but they were quite sympathetic and it is by no means their fault. It reinforces the fact it always pays to be cautious in Africa - lock your valuables in your bags if you are going out.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#19 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#45 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
3.2 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premiere Boutique Hotel
Premiere Boutique Hotel
#21 of 92 in Kampala
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#27 of 92 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Property: Silver Springs Hotel
Address: Port Bell Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing