We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Silver springs hotel creates a good first impression right from the gate as the folks here are quite friendly. The meals were great and the rates reasonable. The rooms were'nt as spacious as I expected but they're quite clean and cosy and the wifi was present though not necessarily continually reliable. I rate their breakfast buffet as 'King's class' and I looked forward to it every morning.

The downside though with the rooms is lack of safes- which I raised with management and ethically its demeaning for a manager/ owner to argue with a memeber of his team at the reception while a client is waiting. This is to the lady of Asian decent.

I recommend this lovely place to anyone visiting Kampala!

Room Tip: Any room here is a great room!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Silver Springs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a conference in this hotel and managed to secure a good rate. The hotel was spacious with excellent facilities. The room was great with a large clean bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There is a nice coffee shop in the lobby and the restaurant and bar were perfect. There is great Indian food available and the portions are huge. The meeting room was perfect with all the necessary facilities and service. The swimming pool looked wonderful - but I was not able to use it. The hotel is a small distance out of town but this makes it a bit more peaceful than being right in the heart of town. Security there is very good. The staff were all very friendly but hotel guest relations manager was exceptionally helpful throughout our whole stay and made sure that everyone in our group was content and organised our airport transfers efficiently.

Room Tip: One of my colleagues mentioned that being in a room close to the road meant street noise was a probl...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toffeeman1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel offers value for money...comfortable.clean and close enough to town.food good with Indian touch .big portions ... breakfast good service good ,visa card payments do take a while to process ..a good place to overnight or safari tour base ..

Room Tip: away from road
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AJLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We organised a company function at this place. We made reservations well in advance and even paid the required deposit. One week before our event they called us with apologies that the place was booked by another group! who does that! I cannot explain the inconvenience of having to look for another place for our out of town guests, last minute organisation, it was a total mess! These pple do not understand anything about professionalism therefore not worth your penny!!!

Room Tip: Just do not go there!
Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank ExpatriateAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited Kampala and I only spent one night at this hotel because it was terrible, disorganised and not work rate charged. What you see on their website on the internet is not the same thing you will find. I had to check out immediately the next day for a much better hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This hotel is well set-up for visitors coming through. It is appropriately designed in that the pool is the focus with a bar and also a separate restaurant on two sides of it. The rooms themselves are spacious and clean, and have relatively new fittings. The floors are tiled but everything else is of decent quality. The room was clean and there was a good range of cable channels. It seems many NGOs use this for conferences and the like.

Unfortunately I had a laptop case with a hard drive inside stolen from my room, and subsequent events led me to believe that it was housekeeping (why else would someone try and open the door at 8am the next morning without knocking, supposedly to check on housekeeping matters). Given I did not fully recognise this at the time there was not much that management could do but they were quite sympathetic and it is by no means their fault. It reinforces the fact it always pays to be cautious in Africa - lock your valuables in your bags if you are going out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank divvy_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

a fantastic place to stay with all amenities including beautiful aesthetics, great ambience, a large swimming pool, free wireless internet 24X7, good food including Indian menus ' by an Indian Chef', good room service all the time and above all personal touch by owners and management
i rate it at 4* hotel at kampala

Room Tip: go with advance booking and try indian food
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vpsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.9 mi away
Royal Suites
Royal Suites
#21 of 103 in Kampala
56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Suites
Dolphin Suites
#20 of 103 in Kampala
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#29 of 103 in Kampala
201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 103 in Kampala
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Port Bell Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range: $113 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Springs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing