We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets - around there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As good as it gets - around there...”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice location but not right up against the lake as some the photos suggests. Fair food selection trying to have a little on the menu for every corner of the world. Standard-sized rooms with tiles on the floor.

Wireless internet throughout at slow but steary speeds (I saw 150-200 kbps most of the time). Staff is friendly but a bit relaxed overall. I often saw trays with room service items on them sitting outside, which brings cockroaches (I had them in my room on both occasions). There are mini-bars in each room it seems containing only beverages.

I stayed room 144 and 142. Both of those - and many more - are facing a field just East of the property used for gatherings of the locals. At both my stays there were celebrations going on, and the music/singing was in both cases very(!) loud. On my last stay they music started at 4:00 p.m. and ended at 11:00 p.m. Not great if you're there for an early flight, a day room or to work.

I believe the Serena in Kampala itself is of higher quality (it's a member of LHW), but the drive there can be up to two hours from the airport until you arrive in the middle of the night.

All in all a nice hotel and probably the best there is in Entebbe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    97
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
45
16
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Don't mistaken me for a food lover but the meals are the best in Uganda and most places I have visited in the world. Great breakfast, variety at lunch and dinner. The rooms too are spacious and neat. Plumbing is occasionally disappointing - the reason I rate a 4

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RichoUg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went down to LVS, after a conference last week, for an overnight stay. This was my first visit.

I had a pleasant welcome, with cold drink, herbal flannel and was escorted to the room. I had work to do before relaxing, but had to leave the room as there was no wifi, so worked by the pool instead, which was tricky with the wind and brightness. The pool area is certainly very pleasant, but I didn't get chance to try it, as we were having a cocktail party early evening. The IT Tech came from the Business suite, in order to check it out, and claimed to have internet on his phone. It didn't work when I returned.

Friday night was pasta night - fresh pasta cooked to your choice with any ingredients; alongside, a variety of hot dishes in warmers, none of which looked appealing. I was generally disappointed in dinner! And we were chased off an unreserved outside table, having already been seated, and asked a chef it if was OK!

We both had a terrible night's sleep, due to the noisiest extractor fan going all night in the bathroom; the TV coming on twice automatically (switched it off at the plug after the second time); and hard mattress. Morning came, just managed to pick up wifi by standing near the room door.

My husband said the breakfast has improved, but I only wanted something light, so went for fruit salad and danish pastries. I had to ask for butter though! It was shut in a cupboard.

On the whole, the environment is very pleasant, and I can see the appeal of possibly breaking a journey to the airport or a weekend break - but the road is so appalling to get there, you have to be prepared for that. I wouldn't like to do it in the darkness.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I visited Serena Lake Victoria for the second time; this time for a 5-day workshop. The hotel offers good conference facilities and the rooms are very comfortable with all modern amenities including air-con, satellite TV, big comfortable bed and nice bathroom - and views of Lake Victoria.

Food is really good (I only tried the buffet, not the a la carte) and the staff very friendly and service minded - not least the chefs manning the buffet. The hotel has a very nice gym and spa - I really enjoyed both a pedicure and a facial in the spa - the prices are high compared to Kampala but the quality matches what you pay. There's also a large (and very clean) pool; perfect if you want to do laps. Only drawback was the room service - I ordered a tuna nicoise salad which was really tiny, nothing special and definitely not worth its extravagant prize!

If you are looking to pamper yourself, I would definitely recommend Serena Lake Victoria as a weekend get-away - or as a pleasant stop-over on your way to/from Entebbe Airport.

Room Tip: The rooms located to the right of the main building (facing the water) have much better lake views t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dane-in-Tanzania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is one of the best places i have been to in Uganda. I am Ugandan but truly appreciated this resort. situated on the Lake Vic, has a beautiful scenery with all rooms facing the lake. The food was great and the services were off the hook. the pool is lovely. may be need to be heated on cold days (but in Uganda these are not many so it can pass). The personnel were the best I have seen anywhere in Uganda. I guess well motivated staff (just a guess). they were spot on on everything you asked. Its far off Kampala and entebbe, the road can be better (not a problem of the hotel though to do the road).

Had a new golf course being built when i was there. so may be a much better resort next time. I was only not happy that the lake is being reclaimed that fast with lots of marrum going in for the golf course. SAD site this was..

The rooms are like private houses. only about 4 on each separate block. wat a place.

I enjoyed my one week here. one of the best places I have been to anywhere in the world. (and Yes i have been to many hotels around the world).

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake, so I guess you will like them all
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon29642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

A must visit. Great food and ambience. Distance between the concierge and some of the rooms is really far but good for privacy maybe they could get golf carts to shuttle pple around. Swimming pool, gym, and sauna are excellent.

Maybe an a/c remote control cud be put in the conference rppms so you dont have to wait long for someone at receptipn to adjust it.

But on whole impressive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TrekstarUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is about half an hours drive from the centre of Kampala and can be hard to find but is well worth a visit. We took some neighbours there to thank them for their help in dealing with some problems at our house. We had an excellent meal overlooking the swimming pool.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ibanda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 101 in Kampala
644 reviews
2.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#16 of 101 in Kampala
84 reviews
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#10 of 101 in Kampala
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 101 in Kampala
676 reviews
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 101 in Kampala
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing