We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed. We trusted the Serena name.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really lousy food by the pool. Slippery tiles around the pool so every so often a kid slips. Slow and disorganized service. Taps and dispensers in changing rooms do not function. Lousy value for money. The rooms ok. Does not feel like the traditionally high quality of service offered by Serena..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Firstly, may I register our appreciation for sharing your experience during your last stay, which I have disappointedly noted that was not enjoyable, and I do apologize for the shortfalls.

We have taken corrective measures to put right the water taps and soap dispensers with replacements. Improvements on food quality and service speed and hands-on drying of wet pool area floors to avoid slipping. We reassure you of service, first class quality and true value.
Lake Victoria Serena, at all times, seeks for and appreciates feedback from our most valued guests. We look at feedback sincerely and clearly. We endeavour to keep improving and always we will promptly attend to areas of improvement. We are certain that should we get another chance to serve you, we will straightforwardly deliver the service promise known of Serena Hotels.

Sincerely,
Wilfred Shirima

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 245 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I took our family for lunch at the Serena hotel. We were impressed by the property (lovely views of Lake Victoria, surrounding hills, and manicured gardens), so we decided to stay over for a holiday weekend -- just a quick get-a-away. After our lunch, we went to the reception desk to book a room. The agent at the desk confirmed there were rooms available on the dates we requested, BUT didn't want to book them because he might have a guest who "wants to stay longer and where would he put them."

He asked us to please call the reservations team on Monday because he didn't want to do the "wrong thing." My husband I looked at each other incredulously and said, "ok." We also left our details so that reservations could contact us directly. The following day we called back and the reservation agent on duty indicated that there were no rooms available.

I told my husband -- "that's strange -- there were plenty rooms yesterday. Just call back and speak with someone else." He called back and as I suspected, there were rooms available. Another agent then claimed they would email my husband reservation options. Nothing in the inbox. My husband called back twice because he hadn't received an email from the hotel.

I am a veteran travel and have lived throughout sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America for the past 15 years. This poor level of service at this type of establishment was really a low for us. Disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Block 4 rooms have good lake views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was a company retreat/workshop and we stayed a full week. Food is awesome, and it was important that we had a good food -- meetings were stressful and long, and no other restaurants close by -- so good food made our stay more enjoyable. Rooms are spacious as they should be in the resort. Pool and gym are new and clean. The ambiance and exterior decors are amazing. The lake view makes you stare non stop. Will look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a proper resort overlooking Lake Victoria, serene and calming. Rooms are decent size, clean and good quality.

Meals are excellent, breakfast being the highlight.

Staff is super nice and friendly, but a bit slow. We ordered fruit cuts, cake and Amarula in coffee shop, and as only guests waited for 45 minutes to be served. Can't be angry at them as there are so nice, just arm yourself with patience.

The only problem I had with hotel are communications: Internet was not working, neither in rooms or the main lobby area and payment by card was not possible at the time of checkout. For some reason you can't buy postcards there, probably they are out of fashion these days.

Recommendation: Great for holidays or short break when you're not time pressed.

Room Tip: Right side has better views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodEliminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerenaHotels, IT Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are very grateful for the review you submitted regarding your stay at Lake Victoria Serena Resort & Spa.

We would also like take this opportunity to assure that our services will continue to improve especially in the areas where we fell short of your expectations.

We have identified the reason as to why you were not able get wireless internet in the areas you mentioned and we have addressed this issue to a level that we believe you will find very satisfying.

We have both wireless and cabled internet in the rooms and both options are free of charge. We have installed more equipment to ensure that you get good wireless internet signals in the rooms and the public areas like Citadel Restaurant, Lobby, Bars and the Conference Halls.

Once again, we are grateful for your stay and feedback and we look forward to hosting you at Lake Victoria Serena Resort & Spa.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This resort is just ok. We lived next to Orlando, FL for years, and are very familiar with large Mediterranean- style resort complexes and the services they provide. Weird to run into one in Entebbe/Kampala! The property is fine, generally clean with a decent restaurant and a large staff. Disappointing not to be on the lake.
The rooms are seemingly well appointed, although as you settle in you will find that they are not sparkling clean. The service is remarkably slow, whether bringing bags to the room, responding to the need for a rollaway bed, taking a dinner order, or preparing dinner. But, the staff is very pleasant to work with, so it's just a matter of being patient. They were VERY careful not to enter our room unless one of us was present, apparently they have taken recent accusations of thievery very seriously.
I have to mention the mosquitoes, because they were SO thick. Even in the dining room, which is located off the lobby area, there were clouds of mosquitoes around the heads of some of my travel companions. One of our drivers shared his malaria-recovery story with us. This is definitely a place to consider DEET and/or malaria preventative.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schooly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed again at the Lake Victoria Serena hotel for 2 weeks in September. The downside to this hotel remains the bad road you must travel to get there. The upsides are many. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the views and ambiance are very pleasant, the staff is friendly and efficient. The food is good, although when they have a buffet it is a bit overpriced. The pool is beautiful with comfortable seating, a nice bar, food service poolside, etc. Wifi worked well and is provided at no extra cost. My only complaint is that the night before I left there was a party at the pool and the music was so loud that you could feel the vibration of it in the floor of my room. Half the volume would have been loud enough for the party to enjoy it and would not have been so disturbing to hotel guests. It went on til 11pm which was way too late for the comfort of hotel guests who had to get up early to go to work the next day.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upstairs room for security purposes. The ground floor rooms have a patio door t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, beautiful views, very modern hotel. Brilliant facilities. So impressed with this hotel that we have decided to have our wedding there next year. Only down side long 2km bumpy road leading to hotel, but thats Uganda.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 103 in Kampala
660 reviews
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 103 in Kampala
208 reviews
8.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#6 of 103 in Kampala
717 reviews
10.0 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#9 of 103 in Kampala
347 reviews
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 103 in Kampala
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Phone Number:
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#5 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range: $181 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing