We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Serena in the making”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Great Serena in the making”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is located on the shores of the Magnificent lake Victoria, it's so beautiful you wish the sun shouldn't set in the evening so that you enjoy every detail of nature that forms part of this hotel.
The rooms are clean (free WIFI Internet and spacious) and the staff are very friendly. you can do anything legal from this place from holding conferences, holding parties, weddings to just sitting and watching the Victoria Waters below. The only down side is the low lighting (at night)on the walkways and I bet this will be worked on soon.
I also enjoyed the near-Olympic size swimming pool and the fresh variety of food on offer. it's one of the places you need to stay before you .....

Room Tip: Always choose the Ground Floor rooms when it's a rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mubarak_Naso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
44
16
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Beautiful view and rooms. I stayed here while completing a construction contract in Uganda for 13 months. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and cater to your every need. I brought my wife and son here to visit for a few weeks and they were treated like royalty. As the golf course and other amenities are completed, this resort will offer you a great visit whether short or long term. Kudos to Wilfred, Gerald, Geoffrey, Eric, and the entire staff on showing wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: The suites are definately worth the difference in price if stayong more than a couple of days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morrisag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This resort was the perfect beginning to a great r&r in Uganda. Coming from work in rural South Sudan I always look for a relaxing place to begin my breaks. Serena was exactly what I was looking for. It sits just beside Lake Victoria offering a very nice view from the lounge area.
The pool is huge and relaxing and perfect for having a few drinks and reading a book.
The spa offers numerous services and also has a sauna and steam bath. My only complaint is that it is in the same building as the gym so at times you can hear the echoes of music and such coming from the gym area.
Breakfast is served until pretty late which is nice for late sleepers such as myself. The breakfast spread was fantastic with everything from grilled steak filets to bacon, cereals, and dessert breads. There were also many fresh juices offered including beet root and cucumber.
There is an Asian fusion restaurant on site which is tasty; however, you have to place our order earlier in the day which takes the fun out of sitting over drinks with your friends and picking your selections. The portions were also very small, but otherwise delicious.
The rooms are spacious, the balconies have a great view of the lake, and the free wireless worked well from the rooms.
All in all I thought the facilities and services were great and the price for such services unbeatable compared to other hotels visited in Uganda.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Unfortunately I was in on a very quick trip, so I didn't get to enjoy the full treatment of Lake Serena, but what I got was stellar.

The staff were friendly and very helpful. I can't believe I've forgotten the driver's name (Frank or Fred), but he was absolutely wonderful.

The room was lovely, the gym was great, and the buffet was delicious.

I will be back in Kampala later this year and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciae206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

In december my wife and myself stayed for one night on our way out of kampala. Plse note that this hotel is some 30min from entebbe airport (actually half way between entebbe and kampala). The road is not that great but once you arrive at the compound, you will see the difference. Great and warmth reception, ice cold drink and hot towel in a relaxing settings looking at the lake victoria

the rooms are not that great, but the bed and amenities are top class. The executive room we stayed had a separate living area and bed room,

overall it a good get away, there is a spa and also a swimming pool. I chose serena kampala to lake victoria. Most of the services in kampala are slow and this includes lake victoria serena.

we booked for lake view room and we got one looking at the construction site. not that romantic.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room otherwise you will end up looking at construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are very nicely designed and have the proper necessities. TV, internet.

The staff around in the hotel are very friendly which is rather unusual in most hotels around here. The Spa is much better quality than the Serena in town and less crowded. There is effectively only one restaurant which serves a relatively good buffet though it does not change enough to be interesting for more than 2-3 days. They do have al a carte menu also which is on the thinner side. The place gets crowded on weekends.
There is very nice pool- area with a poolbar where it is possible to order some lighter meals also.

Its 14 km outside town so it is a bit isolated especially if you have no transport. Ofcourse the hotel can arrange but it will become a bit expensive. Its on a very good location for those arriving during times when there might be traffic jam into town.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the west wing so you get lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's has beautiful sorrounding, they got a good massage parlour but need well trained staff. The staff at the parlour are good but need to improve. The restaurant is excellent what needs to be improved is their menu. It's simple and boring especially if you are i for a long period, try and have at least the menu changed daily. They should ask Serena Nairobi about that. The serene is excellent

Room Tip: The rooms on the east are good you enjoy the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 100 in Kampala
637 reviews
2.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#15 of 100 in Kampala
84 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
#10 of 100 in Kampala
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
323 reviews
8.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 100 in Kampala
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing