We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kampala
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

In december my wife and myself stayed for one night on our way out of kampala. Plse note that this hotel is some 30min from entebbe airport (actually half way between entebbe and kampala). The road is not that great but once you arrive at the compound, you will see the difference. Great and warmth reception, ice cold drink and hot towel in a relaxing settings looking at the lake victoria

the rooms are not that great, but the bed and amenities are top class. The executive room we stayed had a separate living area and bed room,

overall it a good get away, there is a spa and also a swimming pool. I chose serena kampala to lake victoria. Most of the services in kampala are slow and this includes lake victoria serena.

we booked for lake view room and we got one looking at the construction site. not that romantic.

Room Tip: ask for lake view room otherwise you will end up looking at construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
30
32
16
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms are very nicely designed and have the proper necessities. TV, internet.

The staff around in the hotel are very friendly which is rather unusual in most hotels around here. The Spa is much better quality than the Serena in town and less crowded. There is effectively only one restaurant which serves a relatively good buffet though it does not change enough to be interesting for more than 2-3 days. They do have al a carte menu also which is on the thinner side. The place gets crowded on weekends.
There is very nice pool- area with a poolbar where it is possible to order some lighter meals also.

Its 14 km outside town so it is a bit isolated especially if you have no transport. Ofcourse the hotel can arrange but it will become a bit expensive. Its on a very good location for those arriving during times when there might be traffic jam into town.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the west wing so you get lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's has beautiful sorrounding, they got a good massage parlour but need well trained staff. The staff at the parlour are good but need to improve. The restaurant is excellent what needs to be improved is their menu. It's simple and boring especially if you are i for a long period, try and have at least the menu changed daily. They should ask Serena Nairobi about that. The serene is excellent

Room Tip: The rooms on the east are good you enjoy the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This new luxury hotel on the banks of Lake Victoria has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Of course it is not cheap - it's a Serena - but, as we all know, high prices do not necessarily always mean good service and first-class facilities. But at Lake Victoria Serena it was difficult to fault anything. I was taken with my luggage by golf buggy to my room after a tour of the hotel grounds. The room was well-equipped, the bathroom exquisite, the bed large and extremely comfortable (with a choice of pillows), and the view from the balcony quite outstanding. Tea/coffee-making facilities (not always a given in such luxury hotels), a well-stocked minbar and a TV with many international channels are all also provided. The hotel has a first-class gym, sauna and outdoor swimming pool which are free for residents, and there is a bar by the pool. The breakfast was by any standards excellent, the buffet dinner looked good also, and the hotel has an Asian fusion restaurant upstairs which does tasty and exotic dishes. As other reviews have noted, the hotel is at the end of a bumpy and dusty road, but that is surely one of its attractions, and it is convenient for both Kampala and Entebbe. I shall certainly come back.

Room Tip: Rooms are in separate buildings around the grounds. Some may prefer to ask for a room in a block not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinja
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I'm an expat living in Uganda, and I have the same routine every time I fly in and out of the country. Fly in: land at 10:30PM, get picked up by the Serena executive shuttle (a BMW SUV). Stay the night, have breakfast, and head east to home. On my way out, I'll come spend the afternoon at the spa, have dinner, and be taken to the airport by a friend to fly back to the US.

Every stay at the Serena has been fantastic. The road is terrible, but they can't do anything about that, and it makes arriving there that much better. Service is always good, and they put me in the same room every time. Top quality rooms, always clean, hot water with pressure (a luxury if you live in Uganda), and A/C. Spa staff are very friendly.

The only downside are the drink prices. A beer that is 2,000ugx elsewhere is 6,000 in the bar. Wine is the same way. But, if you aren't a heavy drinker, it's a small price to pay for the luxury. It's a great distance from the airport for trips in and out of Uganda.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor and if there is an event, away from the pool and courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UGJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
143 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I spent just one night here, and rather enjoyed it. The rooms are large, clean, and quiet. I found the staff helpful. The pool and outdoor bar area was enjoyable. The buffet dinner was average. It's a good location equidistant between Entebbe and Kampala. It's about 40min to Entebbe airport and about the same to the middle of Kampala. If you are taking a smaller airline or charter from Kajjansi airstrip, it's only 5min away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The location is great! Right in the middle of a rural setting. Decor very nice and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
However the staff in the ladies section of the gym/ sauna and steam were rude to the point of harassing clients.
Over the weekends the gym closes at 9pm so the staff had long faces when we checked in at 8:45pm and almost ran us out of there at 8:58pm!
For a hotel that has a lot of conferences they should appreciate the fact that guests need to unwind.
The hotel should also be sensitive to guests that do not eat pork which was not served separately like the vegetarian dishes and seemed to be the main grilled dish at all meals!
The staff in the dining hall were very good.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread over a wide acreage so you may want a room nearer to the spa and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
7.8 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
2.9 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#14 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
7.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#4 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 92 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
8.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala
10.0 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#8 of 92 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kampala
#4 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
#7 Business Hotel in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing