We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap but too noisy”
Review of New City Annex

New City Annex
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New City Annex
Ranked #43 of 202 Kampala B&B and Inns
Jinja
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cheap but too noisy”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Since you pay 20,000 for the room my expectations wasn't very high. And when it comes to the room, the cleanliness and the service I have no complaints. Room was tiny with no window but clean, staff was friendly and helpful. But... the noise was very bad. I am a heavy sleeper but I did not sleep well that night. Throughout the night people were checking in and out and having chats, and maybe I was unlucky because I was quiet close to the reception, but through my thin walls I could hear peoples conversations word by word (not joking). If you want a good nights sleep, go somewhere else, if you are short on money and don't like sleeping, this place is great.

Room Tip: Try to stay as far away form the reception as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin_jinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
9
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The budger rooms are no frills, but have a fan and a window even if it looks out onto bricks of another building. The shared bathrooms doesn't have a fan so it gets a bit musty, but it's kept clean. The showers are nice with good water and pressure at the time of writing. Good Indian food close in either direction and right next to the National Theater, which has free jam sessions on Monday night between 8-11pm and worth a visit. Also has Internet nearby but overall lacking in cheap close food, but there are plenty of Indian supermarkets nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've stayed here around 20 times. Great location and value. They had an issue with theft around 5 months ago, but the management fixed it rather quickly.

The double and triple rooms are great for the price (40k and 60k). The single rooms are awful unless you get one with a window. The showers are great. Staff is slightly more helpful than your average Ugandan hotel of this caliber. The restaurant is horrible.

They keep the prostitution rooms to the single rooms in the front - avoid those. The wing of the annex that is not where reception area is the better bet and newer. Get a double or triple to avoid any worries, its worth paying more to lower your chances of getting the bad rooms.

Room Tip: Get a double or a triple to avoid the prison cell feel of the single rooms. Room 121 is the best dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCVKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Your own room for 20,000 UGX (less than 8$) a night, 5 minute walk from Garden City, right in the middle of Kampala. If, after reading that, you're asking "but do they have _____", then New City Annex is not the hotel for you.

Things I didn't like: Extremely thin walls mean you can hear everything, no wifi, and they don't seem terribly organized about their reservations.

Things you might not like: no windows, small room with no furniture, holey sheets and dingy-looking walls (though were clean), no private bathroom, etc. Though they have bigger rooms with private bathrooms.

At another price, I'd rate it "terrible", but if you don't mind doing without complimentary breakfasts and freshly fluffed pillows, you can save a boatload of money. I recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDanTreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here a few times while working in Uganda. Clean rooms, hot showers, safe, great location. Cheaper than Red Chili and in a much, much better location. Bring earplugs, but it was always quiet for me. I've heard the new wing (through the restaurant) is better than the original wing, but the original wing will serve your budget accommodation needs perfectly well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masaka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I wouldn't advice anybody to stay in New City Annex Hotel. I stayed there for 5 times in the past 3 years, just because the location is good and the prices low.
But after all the struggles I experienced every time I stayed there I now decided never to go back.
It starts by booking a room. The staff is never speaking clear on the phone and are not friendly.
For 3 times in a row I arrived at Annex and they told me they didn't receive my booking.

The hotel has a few nice rooms with enough space and a window. But there are many rooms without any window, even a fan is not available. One time I had a room above the kitchen it was very noisy, hot, and smelly so I didn't sleep at all.

The walls are so thin that you can hear every small sound your neighbor makes.

When there are any problems or miscommunications the staff is not friendly or helpful at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This seems the best budget option, location wise, in Kampala. The usual cheapies - Red Chilli and Kampala Backpackers - are a way from the centre. They're also not that cheap. NCA is bang in the centre, opposite the National Theatre and Parliament Building, and is very reasonably priced (rooms starting at 25,000 UGX). Food also good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 102 in Kampala
252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#11 of 102 in Kampala
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#8 of 102 in Kampala
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Acacia
Hotel Acacia
#14 of 202 in Kampala
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fat Cat Backpackers
Fat Cat Backpackers
#1 of 130 in Kampala
181 reviews
0.7 mi away
Speke Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New City Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New City Annex

Property: New City Annex
Address: Dewinton Street, Kampala, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Kampala
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
New City Annex Hotel Kampala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing