We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and very good Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawns - MOVED

The Lawns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: !!! WE HAVE RECENTLY MOVED TO OUR NEW LOCATION!!! The Lawns blends the urban landscape & Golf course views with lush green tropical garden, offering with food selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game entrees. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side! The restaurant can be accessed from two roads - Accacia Avenue and Lower Kololo terrace. On Accacia Avenue, when you are driving from town and get onto Accacia Avenue, and pass Golf Course, the first property on left hand is The Lawns Restaurant.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and very good Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went for dinner to The Lawns for a steak and we were pleasant surprise. Quality of meat was very good!! Service was execellent

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HannesK1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    112
    32
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
295 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great restaurants with a very reasonable price. The food is nice especially if you like game meats. I highly recommend this place if you are in Kampala. Go to their site and check there menu if you are interested

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emirates_Arab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The building is very pleasant and the atmosphere was great but the live band, although excellent, were a little too loud. When you go out for dinner, you like to chat and I had problems hearing the people opposite on what was, a fairly round large table. There were 6 of us and we all found our meals disappointing. The food was very poor and quite expensive. I won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 94Gill94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Guest Relations Manager at The Lawns, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear 94Gill94,

Sorry you had a bad experience ... We would hope to change that. If you can PM us details about your last experience. We would like to hopefully change that by organising another evening, once we have worked out the details with you

Thanks
Lawns Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulu, Uganda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome game meat in KLA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Lawns was a pleasant surprise. The environment is nice and cozy. I went there for a romantic meal with my wife and we were not disappointed.
We had a naan as a starter, and to be honest that wasn't as good as it looked. There are better places in Kampala you can eat good naan.
My Wife ordered for the hunters platter, and I ordered for the mixed game meat platter. Exquisite.
The hunters plate was good, but we thought that the bacon covering the meat was a bit overwhelming and reducing the game meat flavors.
Service was overall very good, attentive and precise.
Toilets were clean and gardens are beautiful.
We shall certainly revisit the Lawns. A bit underrated, it beats by far many other places in Kampala.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I came alone last month and really enjoyed the ambience of the place.

Springbok tails were followed by a really tender steak. Service was quick and friendly. After eating, I sat at the bar and had a few drinks. The bill was 79,000, including drinks. Very reasonable.

If I ever go back to Kampala this will be my first stop!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tunners556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing