We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawns - MOVED

The Lawns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: !!! WE HAVE RECENTLY MOVED TO OUR NEW LOCATION!!! The Lawns blends the urban landscape & Golf course views with lush green tropical garden, offering with food selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game entrees. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side! The restaurant can be accessed from two roads - Accacia Avenue and Lower Kololo terrace. On Accacia Avenue, when you are driving from town and get onto Accacia Avenue, and pass Golf Course, the first property on left hand is The Lawns Restaurant.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

In the noisy city of Kampala you can find this restaurant with a beautiful garden and a high wall to protect you so that you can relax. Staff is very helpful and friendly, my special thanks to the parking guards that try to find you a place and who are helpful to get one back on the road again. Even the lady from the security is doing her job with a smile.
Had Valentines dinner there and spent a beautiful evening in a nicely decorated garden.
Food is good but when you are a frequent guest you always find the same plates like in most restaurants in Kampala. Do these restaurants ever change their menu?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rainer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    112
    32
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing on the lawn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Scenic restaurant, open air covered terrace for seating at tables. More relaxed furniture on the lovely lawn. Great choice of food, including some game meat. Good place for relaxing late and long lunch with an old friend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited The Lawns whilst on a volunteering trip to Uganda. After the difficulties of village life, taking a couple of hours out in this tranquil restaurant/bar was just what I needed.

We had crocodile ribs, springbok tenders and a sample plate of steaks from kudu, impala, springbok and blesbok. While this was quite expensive by Ugandan standards, with the beers being twice what they cost in the village, if you're converting from sterling it still works out quite cheap. Well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food is mouth watering, Great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited the Lawns twice while staying in Kampala for our short trip. We really liked the food - not to mention the variety of wines and the exotic meat - Imagine crocodile as a main course

My wife is a vegetarian and she wasnt disappointed either. and although from india - she enjoyed the indian flavors in foreign land with veg kofta, paneer shaslic and stuffed naan

Food is mouth watering, Great ambience

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HareKrishnaHareRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Excellent Exotic Food for Everyone's Taste at The Lawns!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Last month, the family and I took an exotic vacation to Uganda. We heard about the restaurant, The Lawn from some of our friends who recently were in Uganda and shared their experiences with us. They highly recommended that we eat that The Lawn while in Uganda. The weather was perfect and we decided to dine outdoors so we were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery and garden. My husband and I chose to share The Game Platter as wit was highly recommended to us to try. We absolutely loved the springbok and impala. It melted in our mouths with so much flavor and tenderness. I really enjoyed the unique variety of scrumptious dips, as I love dips and sauces. My children got the ostrich burgers and were quite amazed at how delicious they were. They had them before but were willing to give them a try, and just couldn't stop saying how full of flavor and juicy the burgers were. Our next visit to Uganda, we plan on going back to The Lawns and try some of the other recommended dishes. We also highly recommended to our friends and family The Lawn, if they ever happen to vacation in Uganda.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StacyEtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
 
Kampala, Central Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing