We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for carnivores”
Review of The Lawns - MOVED

The Lawns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: !!! WE HAVE RECENTLY MOVED TO OUR NEW LOCATION!!! The Lawns blends the urban landscape & Golf course views with lush green tropical garden, offering with food selected all across continent and fused with local ingredients to create fusion delights. We want to make you feel warm and welcome while you enjoy our special preparations of wide varieties of meat options including wild game entrees. We invite you to relax, enjoy, and let our gardens, décor, food & wine take you to the country side! The restaurant can be accessed from two roads - Accacia Avenue and Lower Kololo terrace. On Accacia Avenue, when you are driving from town and get onto Accacia Avenue, and pass Golf Course, the first property on left hand is The Lawns Restaurant.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recommended for carnivores”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The lawns is a great place for dinner, best with friends and if you enjoy eating meat. The setting is one of the best in town, with large and peaceful courtyard. Indoor and outdoor seating both available. Cute little bar. The main dish here is meat, and they do beef well. Also, a variety of African game meats available for more adventurous eaters. Nice location in Kololo.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is very underrated. The food is excellent, the place very quite. You should surely use this to your advantage and go there.

Thank Reinier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the lawns is awesome”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The lawns offers fantastic food with a beautiful setting.

The staff is wonderful, they take reservations, and offer a variety of food including crocodile! It's a great dining experience, but you'll pay for it!

Visited January 2012
Thank leekoelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Food was satisfactory and ambience nice. Service was also good. Good wines. Fun trying an ostrich burger.

Visited September 2012
Thank RolfT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect...”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great find - lovely atmosphere with outside tables on the lawn with rabbits!!

Used to do excellent steaks however last visit we were a little disappointed - hopefully standards have now been raised to what they were before.

Visited April 2012
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lawns_Restaurant, Owner at The Lawns, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your review. We indeed had some issues with our Beef Fillet supplies earlier in the year, however it was immediately resolved by changing our supplier. We can assure you that our Steak are far better than what it used to be in early this year, because of better quality of meat and marination. Please do visit us again and try out Steak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lawns also viewed

Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region
Kampala, Central Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing