We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great value - one glaring flaw”
Review of Aponye Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aponye Hotel
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice place, great value - one glaring flaw”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

In general, the Aponye is much better than one would expect given how inexpensive it is - rooms are clean, staff is helpful, rooms have satellite tv, there's free wireless Internet that is accessible just about everywhere. Sure, it doesn't include breakfast in the price of the room like a lot of Kampala hotels do - but even when you include an extra 5000 ush it's still a screaming deal, and the restaurant is much better than average (try the Jeera chicken).

This is my one complaint, and it's significant enough that I'd consider skipping this place in the future: ive stayed at the aponye on three separate occasions totaling five nights. I have had a hot shower one time. The rest of the times the water wasn't even lukewarm; it was freezing cold, and I could hardly stand it. I live in a rural area of Africa and bathe out of a basin most days, and the cold showers left me longing to get back to that.

If that doesn't bother you and you want to be in the heart of the city (you can walk just about everywhere), the Aponye is great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themeanteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
4
25
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Pretty nice hotel once you navigate one of the worst streets we've ever stayed on. The street is a downside but other than that the location is pretty central. Good internet connection and TV in the rooms. Good mid-range choice. Take a taxi at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I decided to stay at this hotel after reading good reviews, I arrived about 10pm the road was quite but there were piles of rubbish everywhere. The taxi driver was good to me as he helped me with my bag up the steps lots and lots and lots of steps, and that was only to the reception I still had another four flights to get to my room. The hotel was home for prostitutes and their pimps if you refuse a prostitute then be prepared for abuse from her pimp and he will get very nasty. This is not the place for single females or families to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cann186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

i staid here twice in Oct 2010. the first time i had a room with no fly screens on the windows and no mozzie net. i forgot to shut the windows on the first night and spent the next 2 nights with very little sleep as mozzies used my ears as a landing strip.
the second time i booked a room in advance, with a mozzie net. when i arrived they told me the people in my room decided they wanted to stay another night, so i could not have a double. can't see the point of booking! tried to explain this to the receptionist but was met with a blank stare like 'why are you telling me your problem!'.
on both occassions the lift did not work, no hot water because it was cloudy and they have a small solar hot water system. on occassion the electricity cut off around midnight and was not back on until 7am, so in a room where you can't have windows open cause there are no fly screens with no fan.
the location is central and easy to walk everywhere, but its a rough area where they don't have much respect for the westerners. if you get in their way while they are working, they will knock you around a bit and have a laugh about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pel579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Rooms were clean but sparse. Louvered upper windows can't be closed and are open to whatever noise is nearby. The room we had reserved was given to someone else with no attempt at making it right. Manager was unavailable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOMEAGAIN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I agree with the previous reviews of this place. It's all true. I just wanted to let people know that the high standard continues.

Rooms are still USD15 for a single, USD20 for a fan double and USD25 for an a/c double.

Tip: Check out Antonio’s restaurant just around the corner for breakfast and lunch - great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Aponye is in a crazily busy part of Nakasero. It's convenient (close to the bus park, taxi parks, and all the services/shops/banks of Kampala road) but it can also be intimidating. The hotel itself is clean and pleasant. Rooms are basic (mine was $19/night with no A/C, but with a good fan so didn't need it) but there's Wifi throughout the hotel, which was great. I've stayed at other places in Nakasero and not been able to sleep because of the street noise, which goes all night, but my room in Aponye had windows facing into the hotel, which has a big open atrium in the middle. I thought this was odd at first, but it turned out to be great. The restaurant staff are very nice and the food is good.

One thing -- the front desk staff are not the friendliest, but if you have questions, be sure to ask them, as a lot of the written information is incorrect. (For example, the website says they take credit cards; they don't. Signs in the room say checkout time is at noon; it is really at 10:30.)

As a woman traveling alone, I'm really concerned with safety, and Aponye felt very secure. There are guards at the entrances and stationed at each floor. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachftgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.5 mi away
Namayiba Park Hotel
Namayiba Park Hotel
#38 of 100 in Kampala
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel
#50 of 100 in Kampala
4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ravens Hotel Limited
Ravens Hotel Limited
#71 of 100 in Kampala
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#34 of 100 in Kampala
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#20 of 100 in Kampala
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 100 in Kampala
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aponye Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aponye Hotel

Property: Aponye Hotel
Address: Apollo House,Plot 17B William Street | Next to Equity bank & UBA Bank and Majestic Plaza, Kampala +256, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 52 elegant, self contained; air conditioned and well furnished executive rooms fitted with DSTV and Cable TV.It is within walking distance to and from the bus and taxi stations, shopping malls, African craft shops, cultural centres, major banks, universities, government offices and foreign missions.Aponye hotel is a favorite of foreign tourists and the business community because of its price friendly and affordable accomodation,utmost good care and hospitality extended to its guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aponye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing